Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array cdcbr3 PC Specs
    cdcbr3 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Extreme / Maximus X Formula
    Processori7-4770K / i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Team Extreme DDR3-2666 / Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080ti OC Gaming 11GB
    MonitorSeiko SE42GT (4K)
    Storage #1Sansung evo 860 / Samsung NVME 870evo
    CPU CoolerSedan 240M / Corsair H150i / Fractal Design S36
    CaseVarious / NZXT 700i
    Power Supply850w / Enermax Revo Max 1500
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDell 2126 Managed / Netgear Nighthawk X6 AC3000

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Please can we have a 100% definitive answer to the 8Pin / 4 Pin CPU header question

    I have been reading numerous forums and there seems to be a lot of confusion on when to use 4 pin, 4+4 (8pin) or 8+4

    I am planning on over clocking at about 4.5GHz on a Maximus VI Extreme with a 4770K.
    I had been having a lot of BSOD just running at 4GHz recently and suspect my 8 year old PSU has finally decided to give up.
    So, with that I bought a new Haswell Certified, Corsair HX850 and am in the process or running the cables in the case.
    The old PSU had a single 4+4 for the CPU header, but the new one has 4+4 and a second Modular connection for another 4+4.

    As I plan to run normally around 4GHz daily, am I correct in assuming the 8Pin is enough to supply the CPU?
    If I want to try running 4.5GHz, should I add the extra 4 pin supply?

    Can it cause issues if both are used together?
    Is it recommended?

    If like the CPU fan header, these are wired parallel, then it should help spread the load right?

    Thanks for any clarification you can provide

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Normally using only the 8 pin power cable is sufficient. But if you have the extra 4 pin power cable, it is recommended that you connect that as well.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    I always run with both 4 and the 8 pin power connector if provided. It will not hurt anything and buy using both you will never over heat the 4 pin connector

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array cdcbr3 PC Specs
    cdcbr3 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Extreme / Maximus X Formula
    Processori7-4770K / i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Team Extreme DDR3-2666 / Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080ti OC Gaming 11GB
    MonitorSeiko SE42GT (4K)
    Storage #1Sansung evo 860 / Samsung NVME 870evo
    CPU CoolerSedan 240M / Corsair H150i / Fractal Design S36
    CaseVarious / NZXT 700i
    Power Supply850w / Enermax Revo Max 1500
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDell 2126 Managed / Netgear Nighthawk X6 AC3000

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Well,
    I connected the 4Pin and 8Pin from my Corsair hx850 and the system would not Post.
    The Board lit up but was totally unresponsive. I removed the 4pin and all was well again.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    217
    Posts
    6,208

    install the 4 pin in the right direction..

    you dont need the 4 pin on that board, for normal use

    If you plan to use LN2 you can connect the 4 pin..
    Last edited by Rockford; 05-16-2014 at 06:08 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Yes, make sure you are installing correctly. 8pin must be connected and will run stock and OC. But for smoother power delivery plug in 4pin (correct half of 4+4) too for higher OCs and stable power...


  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array cdcbr3 PC Specs
    cdcbr3 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Extreme / Maximus X Formula
    Processori7-4770K / i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Team Extreme DDR3-2666 / Corsair Vengeance RGB 3466
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080ti OC Gaming 11GB
    MonitorSeiko SE42GT (4K)
    Storage #1Sansung evo 860 / Samsung NVME 870evo
    CPU CoolerSedan 240M / Corsair H150i / Fractal Design S36
    CaseVarious / NZXT 700i
    Power Supply850w / Enermax Revo Max 1500
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterDell 2126 Managed / Netgear Nighthawk X6 AC3000

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    I plugged it in the correct way round (yes i checked before i pushed it in.
    Still wouldn't power up with 8+4
    went back to 8 only

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    140

    if I'm not mistaking you only need the 4pin if you're running a high over clock (5GHz) or muilt GPU's (3 or 4) and stander OC 4GHz to 4.5Ghz an 8 pin should be all you need.
    Corsair 200R
    Intel i5 4670k
    Corsair H75
    Maximus Hero
    8GB G.Skill RipJaws (1600Mhz)
    EVGA GTX 760 SC
    Seagate 240GB SSD
    WD 750GB Storage Drive
    EVGA NEX 750 Gold PSU
    Windows 7 64bit

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Dave6479's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    89

    I've always had the 8 Pin and 4 Pin connected, also went as far as connecting both the EZPlug 1 and EZPlug 2 to the PSU.
    I7 4770K @ 4.6GHz, Custom Water Loop
    Asus Maximus VI Extreme-Z87, BIOS 1603
    EVGA GTX 780ti SLI x3, Vulkan 356.43 Skyn3t VBIOS
    Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 1866MHz, 16GB
    Samsung 850 250GB SSD (OS)
    Samsung 840 120GB SSD
    Corsair GT 120 SSD
    Corsair Performance Pro 128 SSD
    OCZ Vertex4 120 SSD
    PSU EVGA SuperNova 1300W
    ASUS Swift PG278Q 144Hz G-Sync
    Oculus Rift DK2 + Leap Motion
    Windows 10 64-Bit Insider Build 14271

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    217
    Posts
    6,208

    Quote Originally Posted by cdcbr3 View Post
    I plugged it in the correct way round (yes i checked before i pushed it in.
    Still wouldn't power up with 8+4
    went back to 8 only
    see Arnes post.. and listen please when we tell you..

    You must plug it in correctly.. they fits in more ways than only 1/ its a split 8 pin EPS connector

    you dont need the 4 pin.. thats the 100% answer
    Last edited by Rockford; 05-18-2014 at 08:15 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •