Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Pixellated and faint output

    This is going to sound silly but believe me, IT HAPPENS!

    I turned on my PC a few days ago and as usual started my Photoshop, etc. I noticed that my graphics were somewhat pixellated. I have been working with the same PS settings for years, nothing was changed, nothing was installed .. and I make textures for games, hence I need a super quality, definitely not something that is "pixellated". I also started to notice that my type in Skype was as if I was coming to the end of an old typewriter band, letters were faded, some strong. Looked liked black type with white dots in it, again "pixellated". small ads or picture edges are jagged and the entire thing has left me with major migraines.

    Anyway, I have tried more or less EVERYTHING POSSIBLE for the last 3 days and am at hope's end right now. I am hoping someone has the 9th world wonder for me here. I also changed to another screen, no change. Following, my PC details:

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-58A-UD3E v1
    GFX Card: ASUS GTX-660Ti DirectCU II TOP 2 GB
    OS: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core (TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM: 12 GB (6 x 2GB)
    RAM Model: Apacer DDR3 2 GB 1333 MHz CL9 78.AAGCb.9L1
    SSD: Crucial 256 GB Cricual M4 SATA 6 GBPS
    HD: WD Caviar Green (2 TB)
    Drive: Lightscribe DVD
    PSU: Superflower SF-550P14P (550 Watt)
    BIOS Version: F6 Award Modular

    Help really and truly appreciated
    Last edited by Burak1984; 05-06-2014 at 07:53 PM.

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,205

    You might want to take a picture of your screen and post it here to provide some visual clues.

    Saying you tried "everything" isn't really helpful. Everything would include bathing in the blood of virgins, and I doubt you did that. But seriously, a short list of what you have tried would be helpful. Otherwise we will have to start suggesting things you have already done to figure out what "everything" means to you, frustrating you and wasting your time answering. Here's a small sample:

    Did you...
    -verify resolution
    -verify color depth
    -verify refresh rate
    -verify the ClearType settings
    -verify custom text size settings
    -try removal and CLEAN installation of graphics drivers (not just re-install)
    -try system restore
    -re-install windows? (nobody wants to do that, I know, but it's worth asking)
    -bathe in the blood of virgins?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I have:

    reset screen to factory settings
    reset photoshop to default
    clear type test in windows
    changed to another screen
    wiped out PC and reinstalled windows and everything new
    checked my graphics with buyers (to see of they see same pixellated graphic .. and they do)
    checked all plugs and cables
    cleaned dust (seriously)

    -verify resolution - yes
    -verify color depth - yes
    -verify refresh rate - yes
    -verify the ClearType settings - yes (tried different ones)
    -verify custom text size settings - yes
    -try removal and CLEAN installation of graphics drivers (not just re-install) yes , also different versions
    -try system restore - Made backup of a perfectly working Acronis Image
    -re-install windows? (nobody wants to do that, I know, but it's worth asking) - YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS, pain in the A indeed
    -bathe in the blood of virgins? OMG, that must be it, NOOOOOOOOOO I didn't do that one!



    Screen is: HP 2711x 60 Hertz 32 bit colour

    Here comes the weird part .... I can't upload pics of the textures because I cant upload a PSD. The PSD is perfect but as soon as saved, its somewhat pixellated. Has nothing to do with the compression, been using those settings since forever and customers can see the quality loss but then why am I also seeing skype and internet and allsorts "differently" now?
    Last edited by Burak1984; 05-06-2014 at 09:16 PM.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,205

    If you did a fresh install of Windows and you're still seeing a problem then I'm thinking you are having a hardware problem. The easiest next step would be memtest86+. Bad memory modules can manifest in bizarre ways so it's worth a shot.

    Beyond that, if there's a way you can test another graphics card, that would be worth doing. The part I don't understand is I'm not sure how the GPU would be involved in saving a file unless some sort of GPU compression is being used.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Did the memtest, everything seems fine. I have now today set up from scratch again and installed nothing .... here is a picture of the desktop background, hopefully it can be seen here what I mean:



    This is also what I am seeing on my textures or wallpapers fron imternet, in correct resolution OFCOURSE

    I called the shop today and they told me to bring in the card tomorrow, it would take about 6 weeks and they could not give me a replacement in meantime. I will rather not express my feelings about this right now, maybe count to 10 first!
    Last edited by Burak1984; 05-07-2014 at 08:55 PM.

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,205

    The attached image doesn't look pixelated. There is a very slight (almost imperceptible) banding to the gradient on my display here at the office but that could very well be the display as it's a cheap model.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Changed my account

    Well I do realize that everyone has different screens and colour settings etc. but as a texture maker, there is no way I can sell textures with this "sudden" structure

  8. #8
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,205

    I wasn't saying you should sell sub-par work. I was trying to determine if the issue is manifesting in your display pipeline or if there really is some corruption in the bits of the image. I can't confirm if there's anything actually wrong with it because I know my display isn't that great.

    I know you asked a customer to verify for you but I take everything customers tell me with a grain of salt. Sometimes they won't notice or will ignore a problem until you ask so they might be noticing an existing problem with their display for the first time. I suppose the way to be certain would be if you have a PSD and an exported product from before all of this started. Exporting a new copy with the same compression and comparing side-by-side would confirm corruption.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Well I did that, the latter part of your post. Even textures I have made that are a year old are lossy. Yesterday I got a friends PC and another friends laptop and the bad or good news (depends on how you look at it) is that, on all 3 PC's/Laptops, the jpeg outputs are all bad. I made NEW PSD's and saved with same settings. I just can't fathom this out anymore. I can definitely rule out my graphic card at this stage, no? I did notice that the other 2 had a perfect desktop background with no shadows or lines whereas mine is lossy (see above picture posted). But how can it be a windows problem if I have tried resetting with different versions, different ways like with acronis image, then total fresh reinstall, etc. etc. I'm lost here, totally lost

  10. #10
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    360
    Posts
    8,205

    I've been thinking about this and perhaps I misunderstood what you meant. Are you saying that you saved/exported a new jpeg on a friend's laptop and the output from his machine looked like yours? Maybe you should be looking at the viewer. Perhaps the Windows renderer got an update and if you used a non-native jpeg renderer it might work better? At this point I really don't know because I'm not a graphics guy.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •