cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

which would be better

iamnoob
Level 7
first of all i'm a total noob (firstimer) on DIY computers. sorry for my noobness.

im planning to build a pc sometime this year. im not on a tight budget but i want to get the best out of my money.

so here it comes:

4770k + sabertooth z97 + asus 780ti dcII oc (i want the Gold stickers to match the color of the board)

or

4770k + maximus 7 hero z97 + matrix 780ti

and if i swapped hero with formula how much would it boost the system?

i want the nzxt phantom 530 (white preferably) for my case, 32gbs of ram and a water cooler for the cpu (kraken x60 maybe?).

any suggestions about PSU and the water cooler?

p.s. this will be a workstation/gaming computer. i dont know how to overclock yet but im planning to overclock it.

thanks in advance guys and gals.
9 REPLIES 9

Arne_Saknussemm
Level 40
Hi iamnoob 🙂

I think the Maximus vii Formula will pretty much be the top platform for gaming. The hero is good too but the Formula is positioned higher in the lineup and I presume has more features...though of course it has not been presented yet!

Also the next lot of CPUs from Intel is almost here so i would frankly wait a bit to see what haswell refresh offers at the high end....Devil's Canyon.

I think for a mix of gaming and OCing though it would be a very nice board...looking at current and past Formula models.

The PSU I would advise get the best you can...it is the heart of the system and an often overlooked part of the build....Seasonic make great PSUs or Corsair AX series...

RAM...whatever size kit you get make sure it is one single kit...don't mix kits even of "same" make and model. I put same in commas because they are not..one kit is binned to work as a kit not with other kits so to fill all slots get a 32 GB quad channel kit.

Arne Saknussemm wrote:
Hi iamnoob 🙂