cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The definitive answer on Warranty

simonpieman
Level 7
Hello Everyone...

I am new to the world of ASUS... Actually, I haven't bought one yet.

Having had a go on a colleague's G750 with all the bells and whistles recently, I am very impressed.

However, I do not have the funds to go the whole hog and wanted to go for a lower spec G750
and put my own SSD drive in.

Can anyone confirm whether I would void my warranty if I put an SSD in it ?

I posed the question to ASUS UK support yesterday and they said the warranty would be void.

Does anyone know if that is in fact true. If it is, then I will go elsewhere.

Many thanks.
9 REPLIES 9

Phantzm
Level 7
No, it will not void your warranty. There is a removable panel on the bottom that covers the 2 drive bays and the second set or RAM slots. You can remove the drive and swap it, add more RAM and change out the optical drive without voiding the warranty.
ASUS G750JM+
32GB RAM / SAMSUNG EVO 1TB SSD / 1TB HDD / BD-RW
ESO / RIFT / NeverWinter / GuildWars 2 / Thief / NWN & NWN2 /
TITANFALL / BF 2-4 / UT2004 / Q4 / Crysis 1~3 / Dead Space 1~3

simonpieman
Level 7
Well the technical support guy I spoke to seemed quite sure it would void the warranty.

Seems a bit stupid really.. If end users rely on people like that, Asus would surely lose business.

It's not like I wanted to dismantle the laptop... Just want to add a drive and save some money !

Scionyde
Level 7
I don't own a G750 yet, but I'd imagine there's a warranty sticker somewhere on there, mentioning that if it gets removed, the warranty is void? As long as that sticker doesn't get broken, you could always hold onto the old HDD in case you need to return it.

Well my friend's one did not have any sticker on the bottom... What I wanted to do, was to install the SSD and have the supplied hard drive as my secondary drive.