Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Rampage IV Extreme memory problem

    hello
    i have 4x2gb gskill 2400mhz cl9 1.65v ram , 4930k
    i know ivy bridge cpus 1.5v ram recommend
    i use my rams 1600mhz 1.5v 9-9-9-24-1 timings , i try vccs voltage 1.15-1.20 , dram current capability %120 change rams dimm no work no work

    my problem DIMM-B1 bios spd say "abnormal" others ok
    cpu-z say 8gb quad ram , windows 7 64bit say 6gb ram

    my old cpu 3930k dont this problem 1600mhz 1.5v 9-9-9-24-1 timings or 2400mhz 9-11-9-28-2 1.65v working
    Last edited by Concerve; 06-06-2014 at 02:45 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-12800cl9q-16gbxl
    this quad kit working nice?
    i wait messages and i buy ^^

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    For a RIVE, you should be looking at their RipjawsZ line. Those were designed for this platform.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Have you run memtest as per the guide in my sig. Make sure you identify where the problem actually is. It may be your memory or the memory controller of the CPU, or the board. At the minute you just do not know.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    i try http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-12800cl9q-16gbxl 4x4 kit
    problem continue ^^ , cpu-z report 16Gb QUAD , windows 7 64bit report 12Gb
    bios dram dimm 1 ok dimm 2 abnormal dimm 3 ok dimm 4 ok
    i try XMP or manual , vcssa 1.10-1.20 9-9-9-24-2 9-10-9-28-2 nothing
    i think go corsair vengeance pro ram or dominator ^^
    edit: i see ram serial numbers 107 dimm 1 , 108 dimm 2 , 109 dimm 3 , 110 dimm 4 ^^

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    If you run the memtest you will find out if it is motherboard memory slot for sure.

    if it is the memory slot please RMA your motherboard.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    i see dimm post screen all slots working , other bios post screen 3 slots OK only dimm 2 say Abnormal
    maybe this 4x4 ripjawsX support XMP 1.2 and problem?only need x.m.p 1.3 support ram?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	GPU-DIMM-post-3.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	186.9 KB 
ID:	37471

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Like I said please run Memtest86+ as per my guide to find out where or what the issue is.

    It is good to see that bios screenshot, very positive. Your memory should not be an issue as I have used the same kits on that motherboard many many times.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array rsbrownjr PC Specs
    rsbrownjr PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Black Edition
    ProcessorCore i7 3970X
    Memory (part number)Corsair 32 GB CMD32GX3M4A2666C12
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 Classified
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 980 Classified
    Graphics Card #3EVGA GTX 980 Classified
    Sound CardSupreme FX Black (onboard)
    MonitorSeiki 39" 4K
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Cougar 700K
    Mouse Cougar 700M
    Headset Logitech G930
    OS Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    Network RouterLinksys EA6400
    rsbrownjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    The problem I am having is that two of the DIMM slots (A1 and B1) are reporting that the DIMMs are abnormal where the other two are okay. I ran memtest86+ as you suggested and all four DIMMs test good. When all four DIMMs are installed the BIOS reports there is 16GB of RAM, when it should report 32GB of RAM. Looking at the Tool section of the BIOS, ASUS DRAM SPD Information, shows that slots A1 and B1 are abnormal, as indicated in the figure below. Memtest86+ won't even test memory in those slots. And, if you put DIMMs in one or both of those slots only (and not C1 or D1) the system will not even post, so you cannot get into the BIOS or run memtest86+ with only the A1 or B1 slots populated.

    I'm kinda stuck. I guess it's either the memory controller in the CPU or it is channels A and B on the motherboard.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	140629132621.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	112.9 KB 
ID:	38264

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	140629134614.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	168.8 KB 
ID:	38265

    The system I am building is composed partly of the following:

    ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
    Core i7 3970X
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2666C12)
    Corsair AX 1200i PSU
    Corsair Obsidian 900D Case
    Samsung 840 Evo (1TB) X2 in RAID0

    Of course, any help would be greatly appreciated. I have a sizeable chunk of cash invested in this rig, and it is most depressing that the machine is in the condition it is in.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The dimm slots are defective please RMA the board.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •