Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Help SSD or motherboard problem

    So I've been using my new pc for 6 months now (first build) and everything was running smoothly. A month ago my system wouldn't boot. I tried disconnecting my SSD which contain windows 7 and reconnecting it for connection issue. No success. Since I was not able to enter the bios because i was stuck in microcode loading (Q-code 06), I tried diconnecting only the SSD and leaving my hard drive. I was then able to enter the bios and then I tried reconnecting the SSD (while in the Bios) without succes. After a lot of research on internet, I decided to test it on my friend's computer. The SSD worked perfectly (boot and usage). So it is not a dead SSD issue. So I thought the motherboard was the problem. So I RMA'd my motherboard back to Asus. 1 week later, I received a brand new motherboard. I then thought the problem was actually the motherboard since in the small letter it was saying problem ''solved:SYSTEM FREEZE''. I plugged it back together but the same problem was still there. So I thought to myself that the SSD was the actual problem so I asked my friend to bring her SSD (which is the exact same model as mine). With her SSD I was able to enter the Bios and The SSD was visible but I was not able to boot. It came with the error: ''Please select proper boot drive...'' So now I really don't know what to do. I suspect a compatibility problem but ther has been no update whatsoever since I've first boot it (and it also worked perfectly 6 month earlier). Research doesn't tell anything. Please help me out because I'm really out of Idea. Thx in advance for the help.

    Specs:
    -Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz LGA 2011 130W Desktop Processor

    -ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition LGA 2011 Intel X79

    -ASUS GTX780-DC2OC-3GD5 GeForce

    -CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133

    -SeaSonic Platinum SS-860XP2 860W ATX12V

    -Crucial M500 120GB SATA 2.5"

    -Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5"

    -CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array InToSSH PC Specs
    InToSSH PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED RED DDR4 4x8GB @ 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1070 Ti
    MonitorSamsung S24D390
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Caviar Red 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCoolerMaster Master Case 5 Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair CX750M
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Genius Gila
    Headset Genius HS-G500V
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterTP-Link TL-WR1043ND @ OpenWRT
    InToSSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Hi, well firstly I would start with updating your UEFI to latest version and also update your SSD firmware to latest, then see if there are some changes. But be aware that sometimes the SSD is erased during the fw update process so you can make an image of the drive.
    Maximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC) / Core i7-8700k / Asus Strix GTX1070 Ti / Corsair Vengeance LED RED DDR4 4x8GB @ 2666Mhz / SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB SSD / 4TB WD Red / CoolerMaster Master Case 5 Pro / Corsair H100i v2 / Corsair CX750M

  3. #3
    ROG AirWays Captain Array TenBlade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    815

    Hi L135. You can´t expect to boot from a harddrive from a different computer. How full is your SSD? Remember to keep approx. 20% of the memory capacity empty.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Tokens210 PC Specs
    Tokens210 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorI7-4770K
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-16GTX Gskill TridentX (8gbx2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 550TI 1gb
    Sound CardSupreme FX on board
    Storage #12x Samsung Evo 120gb
    Storage #2WD 1TB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech H320
    CaseCoolermaster HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850 80+ Platinum
    OS Windows 7 64-bit

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    517

    Yea as blade said if you plugged them into your friends PC and formatted them and installed windows I wouldn'teven try putting it back into ur machine till its wiped and ready

    Since the ssd seems to be running fine from your friends pc I'd say when you actually hook it back up ensure your using the Intel ports as per the manual

    The fact that you plugged the ssd into the system while it was powered (unless it was set to hotswap) may have corrupted the ssds data which could explain your system freeze code that didn't appear till after

    So you probly need to reinstall windows on the ssd



    You could try unhooking your hard drive, if your board has secure ssd erase ensure your drive is supported and wipe it, then do a fresh UEFI install on it

    If the ssd is in fact corrupted and that's why its not showing up on ur PC anymore you may need to try using ur friends PC to wipe the drive but only that then see if your PC picks it up again

    Not an expert, just guesses from different experiences
    CoolerMaster HAF 932 Advanced/ Maximus VI Formula/ I7-4770K/Swiftech H320/ Corsair HX850/ G.Skill Trident X (2x8) 16gb 2400MHz/ 2x 840 EVO 120gb(Raid 0)/ WD 1TB HDD (Backup/Storage)/ EVGA GTX 1gb 560 TI/ Asus 12x bluray combo

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I already tried reinstalling windows (completely) at my friend's house but it didn't change anything. I can also boot from my SSD at my friens's house so I guess it isn't corrupted. Also, It was on hotswap when i plugged it while it was powered. How can i do a update/install of my UEFI without entering Windows??

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array InToSSH PC Specs
    InToSSH PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED RED DDR4 4x8GB @ 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1070 Ti
    MonitorSamsung S24D390
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Caviar Red 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCoolerMaster Master Case 5 Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair CX750M
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Genius Gila
    Headset Genius HS-G500V
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterTP-Link TL-WR1043ND @ OpenWRT
    InToSSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Your motherboard has FlashBack, so you can download the UEFI image to thumb drive, rename it as your motherboard name (there are tutorials over this forum), it believe for your mobo it should be R4BE.cap.. then turn off your computer, just turn on the power supply, but not the PC itself, put the USB drive to USB port on the back which should be highlighted as FlashBack port and hold the flashback button on the back of your mobo for few seconds until it starts blinking.. then wait till it stops and your mobo should be updated.
    Maximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC) / Core i7-8700k / Asus Strix GTX1070 Ti / Corsair Vengeance LED RED DDR4 4x8GB @ 2666Mhz / SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB SSD / 4TB WD Red / CoolerMaster Master Case 5 Pro / Corsair H100i v2 / Corsair CX750M

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I tried looking for a flashback on my motherboard but I didn't find any. Although I found a usb flahback in the Bios should I try this?? Also there's no highlighted plugged for usb (I look it up before) the only two button available at the back are Clear Cmos and the ROG connect button.
    Last edited by Lacin135; 06-06-2014 at 04:57 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array InToSSH PC Specs
    InToSSH PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700k
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED RED DDR4 4x8GB @ 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1070 Ti
    MonitorSamsung S24D390
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Caviar Red 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCoolerMaster Master Case 5 Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair CX750M
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Genius Gila
    Headset Genius HS-G500V
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterTP-Link TL-WR1043ND @ OpenWRT
    InToSSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Look at the manual: http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...ck_Edition.pdf
    Page 2-13.

    To use USB BIOS Flashback:
    1.
    Download the latest BIOS file from the ASUS website
    2.
    Extract and rename the BIOS image file to
    R4BE.CAP
    .
    3.
    Copy
    R4BE.CAP
    to the root directory of the USB flash disk drive.
    4.
    Turn off the system and insert the USB storage device to the ROG Connect port.
    5.
    Press the ROG Connect button and release when a flashing light appears,
    which
    indicates that the BIOS Flashback function is enabled.
    6.
    Wait until the light goes out, indicating that the BIOS updating process is completed
    In the manual you can also find pictures, telling you which USB port to use.
    Maximus X Hero (Wi-Fi AC) / Core i7-8700k / Asus Strix GTX1070 Ti / Corsair Vengeance LED RED DDR4 4x8GB @ 2666Mhz / SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB SSD / 4TB WD Red / CoolerMaster Master Case 5 Pro / Corsair H100i v2 / Corsair CX750M

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Alright, so I've updated my Bios to the latest version but now i'm having problem updating the firmware of my SSD. My current SSD version is MU02 and the latest is MU05. Although when I try to update a message pops up telling me that there is no update required. IS that a bug or is there really no update required??

    I also contacted Crucial via emailed and they said that the problem could be resolve with a power cycle (letting the SSD idle without reading/writing for a while) could this really work or is it just a solution they toss to everybody??

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I am sure there is no need to update your SSD right now.


    Simply connect your SSD to the Intel 6G port and remove all other SATA connectors.

    Now in bios F5 to reset the bios to defaults.

    Reboot and install OS if needed.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •