View Poll Results: Are my modded bios files helpful

Voters
58. You may not vote on this poll
  • YES

    56 96.55%
  • NO

    2 3.45%
Page 3 of 65 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 53 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 649
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    31

    Re: R4e bios 4804 modded

    Best BIOS\Mod so far..

    Thanks much!!!!!

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Choppy lan performance?

    Quote Originally Posted by BOLTS4BREKFAST View Post
    Also includes latest EFI LAN module, latest Sandy Bride-E and Ivy Bridge-E CPU codes.
    I have a RIVE board and flashed using your modded BIOS via flashback. I then proceeded to do a fresh install of Windows 8.1. I had the motherboard set to use RSTe and used the RSTe drivers using F6 method when installing. Everything worked really well once the system was up and running. I was even able to issue TRIM commands to my Revo drive which I wasn't able to do before. Having said this, I have been having issues with network connectivity now. I see you updated the EFI LAN module. Any idea as to what was changed within the update? My internet connection is essentially useless right now on that machine as I get what seems to be constant intermittent dropouts. What I mean by this is that while my computer always claims to have a network connection, the pages themselves are constantly interrupted and often times fail to load. This is the case regardless of browser used. I tried making changes within the network card drivers (interrupt modulation, send and receive buffers, etc) and while these did seem to help, the connection is still far from usable.

    Any chance I could have you build another BIOS but leave the old LAN module in tact so I can test that out? Thanks!

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by IM3CPO View Post
    I have a RIVE board and flashed using your modded BIOS via flashback. I then proceeded to do a fresh install of Windows 8.1. I had the motherboard set to use RSTe and used the RSTe drivers using F6 method when installing. Everything worked really well once the system was up and running. I was even able to issue TRIM commands to my Revo drive which I wasn't able to do before. Having said this, I have been having issues with network connectivity now. I see you updated the EFI LAN module. Any idea as to what was changed within the update? My internet connection is essentially useless right now on that machine as I get what seems to be constant intermittent dropouts. What I mean by this is that while my computer always claims to have a network connection, the pages themselves are constantly interrupted and often times fail to load. This is the case regardless of browser used. I tried making changes within the network card drivers (interrupt modulation, send and receive buffers, etc) and while these did seem to help, the connection is still far from usable.

    Any chance I could have you build another BIOS but leave the old LAN module in tact so I can test that out? Thanks!
    Interesting...

    I will PM you one without the updated LAN module.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by BOLTS4BREKFAST View Post
    Interesting...

    I will PM you one without the updated LAN module.
    It appears that you have PM's disabled... so I will post it here... However, to save others confusion.. please let me know when you have downloaded it so I can remove the link. Thank you.

    *LINK REMOVED*
    Last edited by BOLTS4BREKFAST; 06-10-2014 at 12:02 AM.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Got it.. Thanks! I will try it out when I get home tonight.

    Now, off to see how to turn PM's on...

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by IM3CPO View Post
    Got it.. Thanks! I will try it out when I get home tonight.

    Now, off to see how to turn PM's on...
    Let me know how it goes, thanks
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    I tried the BIOS with the old LAN EFI and while I was able to get it working correctly on my LAN (everything is smoking fast), there are still some things that aren't adding up in my head. There is an outside chance the changes in the EFI pointed out a symptom of a hardware issue with my LAN infrastructure. I have some more testing to do to make sure, and I will keep you posted if you are interested, but my issue is theoretically "fixed" with the old EFI. It still seems super odd the new LAN EFI should have made this kind of difference though, so I would not go on the record as officially saying the old EFI is an official fix for someone who experienced my issue. Again, I will keep you posted as to what I uncover, but my gut tells me I may have some sort of problem with my home networking infrastructure vs. the modded BIOS.

    Also- while I have this window still open, I have another question for you...

    What RSTe drivers do you recommend using with this BIOS? And do you install the windows management software at all? If so, which one do you recommend? Thanks again for making this BIOS available!

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    For what it's worth, I'm running the same modded BIOS with the updated LAN EFI... and haven't had any issues.



    Quote Originally Posted by IM3CPO View Post
    What RSTe drivers do you recommend using with this BIOS? And do you install the windows management software at all? If so, which one do you recommend? Thanks again for making this BIOS available!
    Intel RSTe 4.0.0.1040 WHQL are the latest drivers.. I don't use RSTe I use RST.. so I cant say that these perform any better than previous RSTe drivers.

    RSTe Drivers: http://station-drivers.com/download/...ivers.com).exe

    I'm a bit unclear on what "Windows Management Software" you're talking about..
    If you're asking about the Intel Management Engine Interface Driver.. here's the one I use:

    Intel MEI 10.0.1.1000 WHQL (Actual Driver is 10.0.0.1204)
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5A...it?usp=sharing


    Hope this helps.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Got it working

    Good news! I got your "original" modified BIOS to work correctly! No more networking issues. Long story short is my suspicion was correct that I had an issue with the rest of my network. I used a sniffer and some component replacements to figure out what was going on. Thanks again for taking the time to help!

    I also ended up switching over to IRST and used the drivers you linked to. Everything is working perfectly and still have TRIM on my Revodrive!

    Thanks again!

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array topnotch PC Specs
    topnotch PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600C17-8GTZ X 4
    Graphics Card #1GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD
    MonitorBL3201PH
    Storage #1SSD DC P3700
    Storage #2WD2000FYYZ-01UL1B2 X 2
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHCP-1000 Platinum
    Keyboard HP Wireless Elite Keyboard
    Mouse MX Master Wireless Mouse
    OS WIN8
    Network RouterFVS318N

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    How can you have trim on a Revodrive?

Page 3 of 65 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 53 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •