View Poll Results: Are my modded bios files helpful

Voters
55. You may not vote on this poll
  • YES

    53 96.36%
  • NO

    2 3.64%
Page 2 of 65 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 52 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 648
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by topnotch View Post
    I am using RAID. Are there any other differences?
    Also includes latest EFI LAN module, latest Sandy Bride-E and Ivy Bridge-E CPU codes.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array topnotch PC Specs
    topnotch PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600C17-8GTZ X 4
    Graphics Card #1GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD
    MonitorBL3201PH
    Storage #1SSD DC P3700
    Storage #2WD2000FYYZ-01UL1B2 X 2
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHCP-1000 Platinum
    Keyboard HP Wireless Elite Keyboard
    Mouse MX Master Wireless Mouse
    OS WIN8
    Network RouterFVS318N

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    What are Ivy Bridge-E CPU codes for. I have a 4930K. Will the latest codes help with overclocking?

    Will I lose all of my overclock profiles when updating? Do you have a preference of 0602 or 0507? Which works better for overclocking? I can't seem to get my chip stable over 4.5GHz.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    RIVBE BIOS 0602
    For the bios linked its reporting "Get Blocks Error..."

    Might only be me but I redownloaded it a few times and attempted it again and same situation.

    Amazing work by the way. Any Performance gains are always great.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by DLoaderMega88 View Post
    RIVBE BIOS 0602
    For the bios linked its reporting "Get Blocks Error..."

    Might only be me but I redownloaded it a few times and attempted it again and same situation.

    Amazing work by the way. Any Performance gains are always great.

    Make sure you're flashing using the flashback method. Here's the info on how that's done:
    http://event.asus.com/2012/mb/usb_bios_flashback_guide/


    Make sure the thumb drive you're using is formatted FAT or FAT32 (not NTFS)
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array topnotch PC Specs
    topnotch PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600C17-8GTZ X 4
    Graphics Card #1GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD
    MonitorBL3201PH
    Storage #1SSD DC P3700
    Storage #2WD2000FYYZ-01UL1B2 X 2
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHCP-1000 Platinum
    Keyboard HP Wireless Elite Keyboard
    Mouse MX Master Wireless Mouse
    OS WIN8
    Network RouterFVS318N

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Again, what are Ivy Bridge-E CPU codes for. I have a 4930K. Will the latest codes help with overclocking?

    Will I lose all of my overclock profiles when updating? Do you have a preference of 0602 or 0507? Which works better for overclocking? I can't seem to get my chip stable over 4.5GHz.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by topnotch View Post
    Again, what are Ivy Bridge-E CPU codes for. I have a 4930K. Will the latest codes help with overclocking?

    Will I lose all of my overclock profiles when updating? Do you have a preference of 0602 or 0507? Which works better for overclocking? I can't seem to get my chip stable over 4.5GHz.
    Overclocking potential all depends on YOUR processor.. And of course your bios settings. If I had the same CPU, it may or may not overclock higher than yours... It's all about the silicone lottery lol

    Yes, flashing the bios will clear all overclocking profiles.
    What I do, is just take screenshots of all bios settings and use them to put in the settings after flashing.

    I don't have a black edition, so I can't say which bios, 0507 or 0602 is better.

    On the other hand, from what I've seen online, 4.5GHz is a common overclock for the 4930k..
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array topnotch PC Specs
    topnotch PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600C17-8GTZ X 4
    Graphics Card #1GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD
    MonitorBL3201PH
    Storage #1SSD DC P3700
    Storage #2WD2000FYYZ-01UL1B2 X 2
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHCP-1000 Platinum
    Keyboard HP Wireless Elite Keyboard
    Mouse MX Master Wireless Mouse
    OS WIN8
    Network RouterFVS318N

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Thank you for the detailed response.

    I was thinking of saving my profiles on a flash drive and reloading them after the bios update. That should work, right?

    What about the Ivy Bridge-E CPU codes? What does that help with?

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Saving your profiles and reloading them will only work if saving from and reloading to the SAME bios revision.

    Example: Can save profile from bios 0507 and reload to modified bios 0507
    CANNOT save profile from bios 0507 and reload to bios 0602

    Personally, I think it's best to just input the settings manually. period.

    The ivy bridge-e cpu code is mostly so that the board will recongnize the ivy bridge-e line of CPU's... Since, at the time of Rampage IV release, there was no Ivy-Bridge-E support or even processors.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array topnotch PC Specs
    topnotch PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600C17-8GTZ X 4
    Graphics Card #1GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD
    MonitorBL3201PH
    Storage #1SSD DC P3700
    Storage #2WD2000FYYZ-01UL1B2 X 2
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHCP-1000 Platinum
    Keyboard HP Wireless Elite Keyboard
    Mouse MX Master Wireless Mouse
    OS WIN8
    Network RouterFVS318N

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    I'm running 0602, which recognizes the 4930K. I'm using the on-board Intel RAID for my backup drives. Is there any reason to update with your modified BIOS, or should I wait for ASUS to post a new release?

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by topnotch View Post
    I'm running 0602, which recognizes the 4930K. I'm using the on-board Intel RAID for my backup drives. Is there any reason to update with your modified BIOS, or should I wait for ASUS to post a new release?
    It isn't REQUIRED by any means... some people (like myself) just like having the latest versions of everything in their BIOS... It may or may not give you a performance increase in your RAID read/write speeds. If you're not happy with it.. you can always reflash the stock BIOS.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

Page 2 of 65 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 52 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •