View Poll Results: Are my modded bios files helpful

Voters
59. You may not vote on this poll
  • YES

    57 96.61%
  • NO

    2 3.39%
Page 52 of 65 FirstFirst ... 2 42 50 51 52 53 54 62 ... LastLast
Results 511 to 520 of 649
  1. #511
    New ROGer Array kings-meadow PC Specs
    kings-meadow PC Specs
    MotherboardP8Z77 WS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 3770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10
    Graphics Card #1ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    Monitor2 X ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    CaseSilverstone
    Power SupplySilverstone
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Insider

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by BOLTS4BREKFAST View Post
    Glad you got it sorted.
    I have another Asus M'board with a Samsung NVME 950 Pro, and I am so impressed with the performance I thought I would like to see if I can upgrade this legacy Asus P8Z77 WS . And here I find that it may be possible, Quite Exciting,,,

    Without going through all the pages on this thread I wonder if someone could point me to the installation instructions that I could follow, to accomplish this.


    Thx in advance,
    KM

  2. #512
    New ROGer Array kings-meadow PC Specs
    kings-meadow PC Specs
    MotherboardP8Z77 WS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 3770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10
    Graphics Card #1ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    Monitor2 X ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    CaseSilverstone
    Power SupplySilverstone
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Insider

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by BOLTS4BREKFAST View Post
    Glad you got it sorted.
    Got it sorted but when I flashed the bios , the system crashed after a restart with the message " Inaccessible Boot Device "

    Any ideas ?
    KM

  3. #513
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by kings-meadow View Post
    Got it sorted but when I flashed the bios , the system crashed after a restart with the message " Inaccessible Boot Device "

    Any ideas ?
    KM
    The P8Z77WS BIOS in the onedrive link DOES NOT have NVME support.. if it included NVME support, it would be located in the "NVME TESTING" folder.
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  4. #514
    New ROGer Array kings-meadow PC Specs
    kings-meadow PC Specs
    MotherboardP8Z77 WS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 3770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10
    Graphics Card #1ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    Monitor2 X ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    CaseSilverstone
    Power SupplySilverstone
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Insider

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I haven't got to that stage, but thx for that info...I only wanted to flash the bios to ensure it worked,,and I'm afraid it doesn't. I am certainly willing to try another version if you have any ideas why it showed the error it did,
    KM

  5. #515
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by kings-meadow View Post
    I haven't got to that stage, but thx for that info...I only wanted to flash the bios to ensure it worked,,and I'm afraid it doesn't. I am certainly willing to try another version if you have any ideas why it showed the error it did,
    KM
    What kind of hard drive are you booting from? Is it UEFI? GPT or MBR?

    Whenever you flash bios, bios settings are reset.. do you go back in to bios and change SATA configuration and boot settings? I need more info than you're giving me if you want help..
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  6. #516
    New ROGer Array kings-meadow PC Specs
    kings-meadow PC Specs
    MotherboardP8Z77 WS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 3770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10
    Graphics Card #1ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    Monitor2 X ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    CaseSilverstone
    Power SupplySilverstone
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Insider

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Yes I did go into the bios settings and I set them up as they were before the flashed bios. At least I thought I did, I could have made a mistake... I am booting from an SSD Sata drive and is the only one bootable. And I am using Windows 10 Insider.


    I am more than willing to provide any info required as I am an experimenter and I love challenges ! Been doing it for more than 40 years

  7. #517
    New ROGer Array kings-meadow PC Specs
    kings-meadow PC Specs
    MotherboardP8Z77 WS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 3770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10
    Graphics Card #1ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    Monitor2 X ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    CaseSilverstone
    Power SupplySilverstone
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Insider

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    forgot to add that it is an MBR drive

  8. #518
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array BOLTS4BREKFAST's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    100
    Posts
    560

    Quote Originally Posted by kings-meadow View Post
    forgot to add that it is an MBR drive
    is it plugged in to intel sata port or marvell sata port?
    NZXT Phantom 820
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    NZXT HALE90v2 1200w PSU
    Intel i7 3960X OC'd @ 4.7Ghz
    Corsair H100i (Push/Pull)
    MSI GAMING 4G GTX 980
    16GB Corsair Dominator GT 2133Mhz
    2 Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    2 Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD's (RAID-0)
    SoundBlaster Z PCIe Sound Card
    Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound
    Sennheiser PC360 Headset
    LG Blu-Ray Burner
    Windows 10 Professional 64-bit

  9. #519
    New ROGer Array kings-meadow PC Specs
    kings-meadow PC Specs
    MotherboardP8Z77 WS
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 3770K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMZ16GX3M2A1866C10
    Graphics Card #1ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    Monitor2 X ASUS VC239 on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
    CaseSilverstone
    Power SupplySilverstone
    Mouse Logitech
    OS Windows 10 Insider

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Intel sata port

  10. #520
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by BOLTS4BREKFAST View Post
    In my opinion, I would wait to flash bios until Intel gets their bugs sorted.. shortly after I modded all the files with the latest microcode, Intel pulled ALL the new microcode files. Sheesh.
    I really appreciate the update you provided for the Rampage IV BE motherboard. After Intel pulled the update, I ended up rolling back. I personally found that the performance hit after the January 8 microcode update was applied on an IvyBridge-E 4960X processor was significant. I previously identified that PCMark showed a 30% decrease in performance. 3DMark benchmarks changed minimally, so that was good. But VRMark benchmarks (I own an Oculus Rift) dropped by close to 40%. This took my PC from a "High End PC" to a PC that is barely "VR-Ready" based on VRMark classifications.

    Regardless of the benchmark results, system performance when multi-tasking after the update was noticeably sluggish. Before the update I could play a game or surf the web while reencoding recorded tv shows from 1080p to SD. After the update games that previously played without issue while a reencode was in process were unplayable due to stuttering and "hiccups" in framerate, and loading of websites took significantly longer. Very frustrating.

Page 52 of 65 FirstFirst ... 2 42 50 51 52 53 54 62 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •