View Poll Results: Are my modded bios files helpful

Voters
58. You may not vote on this poll
  • YES

    56 96.55%
  • NO

    2 3.45%
Page 64 of 65 FirstFirst ... 14 54 62 63 64 65 LastLast
Results 631 to 640 of 648
  1. #631
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    Quote Originally Posted by francoistoen View Post
    Hi all
    I installed yesterday a samsung 970 evo nvme on my rampage 4 extreme. Everything is ok.
    I first download the nvme test bios for R4E and flashed it.
    Installed the hardware a PCIE to M2 card adaptator (KALEA INFORMATIQUE less than 20 euros) and the ssd itself.
    I started the computer and after 2 or 3 restart and setting inside the bios the new ssd was recognized.
    I used Acronis to backup my system drive and restore on that new SSD NVME.
    No problems. I can boot on that NVME SSD and my system is still ok.
    So i want to thank you very much for this nvme bios 4901 for R4E.
    Just one thing to remember when setting the bios SATA Should be set to IRST and not RSTe otherwise optimisation will not be available on sata SSD (when flashing new bios all is reset and the default goes to RSTe).

    Faithfully

    FrançoisAttachment 78578
    Could you kindly tell me the process so I could boot off an M2 hardrive. I also have the Rampage IV Formula. *All info is appreciated. *Thanks **

  2. #632
    ROG Member Array derek.barker PC Specs
    derek.barker PC Specs
    Motherboardrampage iv black edition
    Processor4960X at 4 ghZ
    Memory (part number)corsair 8X8 4 gb, onestick doa running 56gb oc 2133
    Graphics Card #1sapphire r9 295x2 x16
    Sound Cardfirewire 410
    Monitor3
    Storage #1ssd os sam evo sata6
    Storage #26 others
    CPU Coolerh100i
    Case900d
    Power Supplyax1500i
    Keyboard logi
    Mouse logi
    Headset/Speakers pro sound pa sysem 6500watts
    OS win 7 ult
    Accessory #1 firewire card

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by BOLTS4BREKFAST View Post
    1/23 - Rampage IV Black Edition BIOS 0801 in "NVME TESTING" folder now has patched microcode. Ready for you to test.
    here's older one i found in 2017 they seemed successful i wonder about the oc part of it?
    rampage iv black edition, corsair ax1500i, corei7 4960X 4.00ghz w/ h105, corsair dominator platinum 2133 xmp @ 2.133 ghz, sapphire r9 295x2, 900d flagship.

  3. #633
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    Quote Originally Posted by derek.barker604@gmail.com View Post
    here's older one i found in 2017 they seemed successful i wonder about the oc part of it?
    *do I have to use the NVMe test 1st, then install the new bios? Thanks, any advise is helpful. **
    Last edited by Alton Brown; 02-10-2019 at 03:07 PM.

  4. #634
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Alton Brown View Post
    Could you kindly tell me the process so I could boot off an M2 hardrive. I also have the Rampage IV Formula. *All info is appreciated. *Thanks **
    Hi
    I did it for rampage 4 EXTREME not FORMULA. I'm not able to say if it should work also with formula.

    Faithfully

    François TOEN

  5. #635
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    Quote Originally Posted by francoistoen View Post
    Hi
    I did it for rampage 4 EXTREME not FORMULA. I'm not able to say if it should work also with formula.

    Faithfully

    François TOEN
    *Understood, thank you for your response, *really appreciated . Is it possible to tell me the process and how you did it. Do I need NVME test folder or can I just flash it with the bios strictly for my board? ** is the NVME test folder the completed Bios we use for our MB?*
    Last edited by Alton Brown; 02-11-2019 at 12:11 AM.

  6. #636
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Alton Brown View Post
    *Understood, thank you for your response, *really appreciated . Is it possible to tell me the process and how you did it. Do I need NVME test folder or can I just flash it with the bios strictly for my board? ** is the NVME test folder the completed Bios we use for our MB?*
    Hi
    You NEED to flash the nvme tresting bios for your rampage 4 formula. Follow the link in the open post then go to nvme testing folder then rampage 4 formula folder then bios 5001 folder and then download R4F.CAP. FLash this bios.
    Then you need to acquire a PCIE3x16 to M2 adaptator (I used a KALEA INFORMATIQUE one). Acquire also a NVME SSD. Mount SSD on the card and then insert into a PCIE slot on the motherboard.
    Now if you restart your PC in the bios you should see the new drive.
    You need to know how to setup the bios to boot on this new drive (depend of the bios itself).
    Then I make à clone of my actual boot drive to the new nvme one. That's all. Select this nvme drive as boot drive in bios setup.
    If you are not familiar with flashing and playing with bios settings it is better to find someone to help you.

    Hope that will help you

    Faithfully
    François TOEN

  7. #637
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    Thanks so much for the info. That’s what I figured, the test *folder.*
    Vey familiar with flashing bios. *
    Thanks for the detailed info. Greatly appreciated!*

  8. #638
    ROG Junior Member Array darthsant PC Specs
    darthsant PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Gene IV
    ProcessorIntel core I7 4820k 3.7GHz
    Memory (part number)16 Gb G Skill RipjawsZ F3-2133
    Graphics Card #1Asus matrix gtx980
    MonitorPhilips 272G5DY G-SYNC
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO PLUS 500 nvme
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerHydro H80i High Performance Liquid
    Power Supply850w evga g2
    Keyboard razer blackwindow x
    Mouse razer deathadder elite
    Headset razer kraken 7.1
    OS windows 10 pro
    Network Routertplink ac3150
    Accessory #1 xbox one elite controller
    Accessory #2 xbox adapter wireless windows

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I set in boot the new nvme 970plus samsung with asus rampage gene iv, nvme pci express x16 adapter in slot 1 with result :

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nvme.png.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	54.7 KB 
ID:	79002

    Thank You
    Last edited by darthsant; 02-20-2019 at 11:56 AM.

  9. #639
    New ROGer Array gargamella PC Specs
    gargamella PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T430
    MotherboardRampage IV Extreme
    ProcessorIntel I7 4930k OC 4,5 Ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32gb DDR3 2133 Mhz CL9 8x4
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG GTX 780 Poseidon Platinum
    Sound CardM-AUDIO FireWire 410
    MonitorBENQ XL2410T
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 840 500 Gb
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 500 Gb
    CPU CoolerWatercool HEATKILLER® IV PRO
    CaseTest Bench HWR
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse R.A.T. 7
    Headset Sennheiser HD598
    Mouse Pad Razer Vespula
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser HD598 + Cable Mic
    OS Windows 10 PRO x64
    Network RouterAC1900 NightHawk R7000
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 XT
    Accessory #2 SANSO PDH-E 054 IT3 12V
    Accessory #3 Pci Express FireWire
    gargamella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by francoistoen View Post
    Hi
    You NEED to flash the nvme tresting bios for your rampage 4 formula. Follow the link in the open post then go to nvme testing folder then rampage 4 formula folder then bios 5001 folder and then download R4F.CAP. FLash this bios.
    Then you need to acquire a PCIE3x16 to M2 adaptator (I used a KALEA INFORMATIQUE one). Acquire also a NVME SSD. Mount SSD on the card and then insert into a PCIE slot on the motherboard.
    Now if you restart your PC in the bios you should see the new drive.
    You need to know how to setup the bios to boot on this new drive (depend of the bios itself).
    Then I make à clone of my actual boot drive to the new nvme one. That's all. Select this nvme drive as boot drive in bios setup.
    If you are not familiar with flashing and playing with bios settings it is better to find someone to help you.

    Hope that will help you

    Faithfully
    François TOEN
    Hello François, i got a Rampage 4 Extreme too. Can you tell me if with the modded bios is it possible to do Overclock with no problem?

    Thanks
    Fabio

  10. #640
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Overclock with nvme bios?

    Quote Originally Posted by gargamella View Post
    Hello François, i got a Rampage 4 Extreme too. Can you tell me if with the modded bios is it possible to do Overclock with no problem?

    Thanks
    Fabio
    Hello
    I do not overclock my motherboard and i cannot answer your question.

    What i can say is that all the overclock menus are still there...no more

    Faithfully

    François

Page 64 of 65 FirstFirst ... 14 54 62 63 64 65 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •