Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array NassayA PC Specs
    NassayA PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorInterl 6700k
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident RGB 4266MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus RoG STRIX RX480 OC (1370MHz)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 960 EVO Sata
    CPU CoolerEKWB Supremacy CSQ
    CaseCosrair Graphite 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000 v2
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Mamba TE
    Headset Razer Man-o-war
    Mouse Pad Ultra Pro 9 pocket Portfolio ^^
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterFritzBox
    Accessory #1 Xbox one s Controller
    Accessory #2 NZXT Hue with fans and ledstrip
    NassayA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Swift display with ATI card

    Good day fellow RoG enthusiasts it has been a while a long while that i posted here. But i just wated to know if someone could awnser my big question. The new Swift PG278Q realy appeals to me but G sync is a Nvidia thing does the monitor work with a ati card? I can understand that the Gsync itself doesn't work with it, but would the monitor work on it's own with a ati card. Or maybe just send out crappy image becourse the gsync and ati card just can't work together.

    Cheers,
    Nassaya.
    Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VIII Hero Alpha - CPU: Intel 6700K 4.6GHZ - GPU: ASUS ROG STRIX RX480 O8G - DDR4: Corsair Venagance RGB 16GB - PSU: Corsair HX 1000Watt - Windows 10 Enterprice 64Bit on Corsair GTS SSD 240GB - Corsair GTX 60GB - Samgung 2.5' 2TB HDD - All packaged in a Corsair Graphite 780T. H2o Cooled by EKWB. Full Hue+ Lights.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array abvolt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    41
    Posts
    1,131

    I am also waiting for this monitor and it should work fine with amd vga's.
    Current: MSI Xpower Gaming Titanium | 7700K | G Skill Ripjaws V 3000 16Gb | 960 EVO 500Gb | Intel 730 480Gb | Seasonic 1000 Platinum |
    NZXT X62 | Acer XB270HU | EVGA 1080 ti FTW3

    Secondary: R4BE | 4930K | G.SKILL 2400 16GB | Corsair AX 1500i
    Intel 730 240GB + 480GB | EVGA GTX780 ti sli kpe | Custom H20

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    It should work no problem with AMD.

  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    only those who test/tested it can say for shure :P

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    The G-SYNC monitor, if it works anything like the GSYNC VG248QE, works just fine as a normal monitor with GSYNC disabled. GSYNC in fact defaults to regular V-SYNC if you drop below 30 FPS, so it has to "function" like a normal monitor still. You can also turn G-SYNC off at any time and use it like a normal monitor.

    AMD cards will work fine on a GSYNC monitor, you just won't get to take advantage of GSYNC. It will function as a static 144 Hz monitor over DisplayPort, with no variable refresh rate. You should still be able to use the ULMB function (Ultra-Low Motion Blur, aka LightBoost switch) on the monitor with your AMD card, though, so that's a plus?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I am running the monitor on AMD 290x and selecting 144Hz makes the monitor flicker like hell. Also ULMB is not enabled in the menu when running 100 or 120hz. I simply cannot enable it.

    So far i have RMA'ed 2 of these and nr. 3 is on its way - since it flickers (turns on/off) every 5-10 seconds when running anything above 85Hz.

    I dont know if they have been rushed out or im just unlucky - but the retailer i spoke with said they have 1 RMA on every 20 sold. That sounds a bit high to me .....

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by ThomasBo View Post
    I am running the monitor on AMD 290x and selecting 144Hz makes the monitor flicker like hell. Also ULMB is not enabled in the menu when running 100 or 120hz. I simply cannot enable it.

    So far i have RMA'ed 2 of these and nr. 3 is on its way - since it flickers (turns on/off) every 5-10 seconds when running anything above 85Hz.

    I dont know if they have been rushed out or im just unlucky - but the retailer i spoke with said they have 1 RMA on every 20 sold. That sounds a bit high to me .....
    Please keep us updated buddy.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I tried connecting the monitor (still on no.3) to another 290x on another PC and there it works. Then moved that gfx card to this PC and still the flickering is gone. I am planning on a AMD 295x2 soon so i hope that one works with my monitor aswell. If not its another RMA.

    But not being able to run 144Hz, and the ULMB option being grayed out in monitor menu puzzles me still.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    So it worked with another 290x, strange. I heard something about ULMB working only with nvidia gpu.

  10. #10
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    you guys have to remember its mainly made for nvidia graphic cards hence the G-sync.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •