Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Parity Error

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Parity Error

    Greetings.
    about a year and couple of months I started a project to put together a one pc, buying pieces one by one until this year ends, after a few months using the pc, i get a blue screen saying that the system has hallted and etc. when the reboot tells me parity error, I'm actually a little desperate I have not been able to use the pc all, I tested the memory and Graffic Card on other machines and I have run programs to see if there is any error but not I say nothing, I updated the bios, I've tried moving the peripherals (hard disk, fan, etc.) and the problem persists, and really that is not what is bad.
    appreciate any help you can offer me or help me to determine which of the peripherals is that this bad.

    Spec:
    MotherBoard:
    Crosshair v formula
    Rev. 1
    Bios Rev 1703

    Graffic Card
    Sapphire Radeon HD6950
    100312-3L

    Prossesor:
    Amd FX-8150 8-core
    FD8150FRGUBOX

    Memory:
    G.Skill Sniper Series
    F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Parity checks are the simplest form of error detection code and are techniques that enable reliable delivery of digital data over unreliable communication channels.
    A Parity error can occur from many sources including faulty HDD,MB,GPU,Raid setup or Memory module.

    From what we know so far from your description your system has been running OK then suddenly you get a BSOD. Are you able to get into your OS via Safe Mode and are all your drivers up to date?

    What we need to do is establish exactly where and when the error is occurring and for that we need more information, so lets start.

    What HDD or SSD are you using?.
    What OS?
    Your PSU?
    Have you obtained any logs, mini dumps etc?.
    What cools your system CPU?
    Have you tested your DIMMs with Memtest86. ?

    Testing you DIMMs and GPU on another machine will not necessarily determine that a parity error should not occur on your machine and it could be related to a failing PSU, MB component or settings in your Bios, When did you last update or make changes in your Bios?

    Can't think of anything else at the moment but when you report back other ROGers will come on I'm sure, with more questions and suggestions to determine your exact problem.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Please include in your information requested the bios version you are using and if your bios settings are default or if you have made any changes to the bios what so ever.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Well Im using the overclocking default setting
    Bios rev is 1703
    My hdd is a san disk Solid stated 120 gb
    OS Windows 7 64bit
    Cpu cooling system is a h60 and the temp are between 15-45 Celsius
    I dont get what PSU means. And about the memory the pc dont get into the OS so i cant test from it

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    PSU is a corsair tx 850

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    look this is what came out when I pass the program, if anyone knows what that means numbers and I can do in this case would be great
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1904[1].jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	233.6 KB 
ID:	37696

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would suggest that you follow the guide in my sig and start with the first step. It may be a single stick of memory or a single slot. If you are willing to follow the entire guide you will have pinpointed exactly where the issue is located.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I'm running the program again but I put the 1.5 memory voltage in the bios because it was 1.39 and journey so far has not given me problems going to wait until the process ends

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    i did the test over and over no error in the memory but the parity error continue

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    quote : I did the test over and over no error in the memory but the parity error continue.

    [Sniper] F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR
    DDR3-1866 (PC3-14900)
    8GB (4GBx2)
    CL9-10-9-28
    1.5 Volts

    These are your Dimms and your pic indicates you are testing both Dimms with 2 slots occupied. Test one at a time.
    First set default values in the Bios. Manual settings to CL9-10-9-28
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •