Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question Maximus VI Extreme + 2way SLI + Dedicated Physx + Expansion cards

    I’m planning on getting a Maximus VI Extreme for an upgrade and I’m a bit lost of what is the proper setup and placement of the following itens on the card:

    - 2x Titans Black in SLI
    - 1x Asus Xonar Essence STX Card (already have it from my old build)
    - 1x AVerMedia Live Gamer HD (already have it from my old build)
    - 1x GTX 770 for dedicated PhysX (already have it from my old build)

    I’ve seen the manual and I’m a bit confused of what I should do. I’m thinking on this:

    - Populating the 1st and 2nd red slots with the titans for SLI (aware that it will use the PLX and not the native 8x for PCIe)
    - Populating the 3rd red slot with the AVerMedia
    - Populating the 2nd black slot with the Xonar Essence STX
    - Populating the 4th red slot with the GTX 770

    Will this work out for this mobo? Is there any better placement for the cards (maybe to have a native 8x on the SLI)?

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by CrisInuyasha; 06-18-2014 at 09:22 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    There is zero need for an additional card for physics. Even when you are gaming on three or 6 monitors and your real estate is huge you will see that card two (Titan Black) does not work particularly hard. Simply push all Physics to the second card.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array darkage PC Specs
    darkage PC Specs
    MotherboardApex IX
    Processor???? K
    Memory (part number)TEAMGROUP-UD4-3200@4133C19
    Graphics Card #1STRIX R9 FURY
    MonitorMX279
    Storage #1960 EVO 250
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseDIMASTECH 2.5 Easy
    Power SupplyHCP 850W
    Mouse ROG GLADIUS
    Mouse Pad Glorious
    OS 10 64 PRO
    darkage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    302

    you should go for X79 with all those cards you need pcie lane powa :-)
    the 770 just sell it to me for cheap that i need a graphics card badly hehehehe
    just like hiviz said you will never need the 770 with titan black and you have two !
    back in the days i did this but those were other times, so enjoy your great system man !

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •