Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    94

    BIOS/CMOS reset on Asus G750 Series?

    How can I do a BIOS/CMOS reset on this laptop?
    I've removed the Battery and the power cable, removed the aluminium top with the keyboard, removed the small 3.3V battery inside, pressed the power button for 2 minute, nothing. The BIOS settings won't reset.
    Anyone knows how to reset the Asus G750 to default settings?

    Note: Accessing the BIOS is not possible, recovery flash with Ctrl+Home won't work either (it will attempt to read the USB drive, I see the lights blinking shortly, but will do nothing).
    Last edited by AAndrei; 06-27-2014 at 05:37 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    177

    Have you tried the "Restore Defaults" option on the "Save & Exit" screen in the BIOS?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    94

    That won't work if you can't get inside the BIOS. My case is when the laptop is not able to boot at all. Edited the original post to add this constraint.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    177

    You can't even bring up the Options menu by hitting the F2 key during POST?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    94

    No, laptop is not POST-ing, Esc key or F2 key is not working, the display stays black. I can recover it by reprogramming the BIOS chip, but I don't like this idea. I only want to clear the damn CMOS.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by AAndrei View Post
    How can I do a BIOS/CMOS reset on this laptop?
    I've removed the Battery and the power cable, removed the aluminium top with the keyboard, removed the small 3.3V battery inside, pressed the power button for 2 minute, nothing. The BIOS settings won't reset.
    Anyone knows how to reset the Asus G750 to default settings?

    Note: Accessing the BIOS is not possible, recovery flash with Ctrl+Home won't work either (it will attempt to read the USB drive, I see the lights blinking shortly, but will do nothing).
    Removing all the batteries should have worked, maybe you didn't leave it sit long enough? Try 24 hours.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,651

    It might have a save location somewhere to retain the data.. it wouldn't surprise me. :c

    ... or you bricked it. ;x

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    94

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    Removing all the batteries should have worked, maybe you didn't leave it sit long enough? Try 24 hours.
    Sorry, but life is too short and I don't have the patience to wait for a damn laptop bios to reset itself. It is way quicker to reprogram the bios chip.

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    It might have a save location somewhere to retain the data.. it wouldn't surprise me. :c

    ... or you bricked it. ;x
    The laptop is working back again after I reprogrammed the BIOS chip. So is not bricked. The whole point is to find an easier way to reset the CMOS/BIOS.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by AAndrei View Post
    Sorry, but life is too short and I don't have the patience to wait for a damn laptop bios to reset itself. It is way quicker to reprogram the bios chip.

    The laptop is working back again after I reprogrammed the BIOS chip. So is not bricked. The whole point is to find an easier way to reset the CMOS/BIOS.
    AAndrei, if you needed to reprogram the BIOS chip, you did brick it - you unbricked it by reprogramming the BIOS chip

    In that state, I don't think there was a quick way to reset the bios to defaults via removing the battery...

    What happened to cause the problem in the first place?
    Last edited by hmscott; 06-28-2014 at 10:10 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    94

    messing with bios settings.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •