Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Will the G750 run 1866 or 2133 ram at full speed?

    I've just purchased a G750 and it's only coming with 8gb ram, so i'm planning on upgrading the ram to 32gb.
    Now, I was looking at the G.Skill 2133 ram, but I wasn't sure if it would run at full speed. I've tried searching, but the only thing I was able to find was someone saying the HM87 chipset will only run ram at 1600 max. Now, Crucial says that their 1866 ram is compatible, but I just want to be sure before I go and buy any ram.
    Any insight on this would be great, thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,129

    Try posting in the G750 forum http://rog.asus.com/forum/forumdispl...ming-Notebooks

    Installing 32 GB of ram will require disassembly of your notebook voiding your warranty
    Use something like Hwinfo64 to see what the current voltages and timings are these timmming are know to work. Also there should be a list of compatible tested Ram in the support Download page

    Other than that you can check with the people in the G750 forum to see what they have successfully used, I wouldn't blindly just buy RAM know what your are going to buy will work. Dissemble is not that easy and doing twice or 3 times gives you that many times to screw up something seriousy
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Ah, I couldn't find that forum last night, sorry, it was late :P

    It's not a new laptop, so i'm not concerned about the warranty. Plus I fix computers and phones as a living, so i'm not concerned about damaging it either.

    My old G75 runs 1600 ram fine, I never bother to upgrade to a higher speed. But now I need more than 8gb ram and it has to be DDR3L, so I might as well get the max.

    I know how to check the speed and timing but I wanted to order the ram now, before I get the laptop.

    Thanks for the input though!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,129

    Well I'm sure someone in the G750 forum will help you out. I could give you mine but I have a G75 I'm sure there not going to be the same. I think I would stick to what Asus has tested to work or from someone that has a system like yours and works for sure.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    64

    I have a g75vw and i have 1866 ram amd it runs at full speed but if you want to use 1866 you can only run 16g two 8g sticks anything more than that will ony run at the original speed and at the time they only sold 8g sticks at that speed. When i bought.my g75 i wanted the fastest ram it could handle as well. My specs below are what i have had fornover a year now and it still runs like the day i go it. The reason with the two 8g sticks is because there are four slots and each slot has its own power which it puts out. I dnt remember the whole story behind it but it has something to do with just using two slots which uses all four slots power to run the higher speed thats why you can only have 16g of 1866 i cant remember wbere i found the story but it's the reason why i only have 16g of 1866. Socif it works on the g75 model it should work on the 750
    Asus G75VW-DS71
    i7-3740qm
    Nvidia GTX 660m
    16gb ddr3 1866mhz Corsair Vengeance
    x2 128gb SSD Vertex 4 Raid 0
    Windows 7 Ultimate

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,129

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status= This is the RAM upgrading Sticky Thread in the G750 Forum
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Higher ram speed really doesn't make much of a difference in gaming.
    Check out this YouTube video below that will explain, and show test results.


    High speed ram, Is it worth it?
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •