Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 166
  1. #51
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 X 8GB
    Graphics Card #2AMD Radeon WX 7100
    MonitorNEC PA271Q and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse G602
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    361

    Quote Originally Posted by Corsair Riker View Post
    So hang on ....does that potentially mean there would be motherboards sold with say ...a 0804 bios but an updated ME firmware?

    Because that would be the only thing to explain why it worked for the post I linked previously.
    As I posted at the beginning of this thread, I believe the M6H boards that shipped with BIOS version 1301 or later (equivalent BIOS for other boards) have the IME required for DC:

    BIOS 1203: IME 9.0.22.1467
    BIOS 1301,1402,1505: IME 9.0.30.1482

    Version 1208 and earlier - From Asus, no. But it is possible from a third party that they updated the IME firmware but not thee BIOS.
    Last edited by geneo; 07-14-2014 at 02:51 AM.

  2. #52
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Corsair Riker PC Specs
    Corsair Riker PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VI Formula (BIOS 0804)
    ProcessorIntel i5-4670k
    Memory (part number)16gb (2x8) G. Skill RipJawsX DDR3-2133
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GV-N770OC-4GD
    MonitorSamsung S24C300HL; BenQ E2200HD
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 250G 840BW EVO
    Storage #2Western Digital WD10EZEX 1TB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    CaseFractal Design Define R4
    Power SupplySeasonic X-Series 750W 80 Plus Gold
    Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
    Mouse Logitech MX 310
    Headset Sennheiser PC 151 Headset & Logitech Z150 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Pioneer BDR-209DBK
    Corsair Riker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    122

    Hey all - just in regards to using a non-Haswell Refresh CPU (so, including non-DC CPU) - on the wikipedia page here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haswell...top_processors

    Is it any processor released before May 2014?

    So - could I, for example, use a G1820 ( http://ark.intel.com/products/78955 ) in my Maximus VI Formula board?

    Pondering whether or not it is worth buying a cheap, non-Haswell Refresh CPU, to keep around "just in case" since they are likely to go out of stock (at some point ... the G1820 is still available at this online store in Australia - http://ijk.com.au/branch/ijk/product...ucts_id=147283 ).
    Last edited by Corsair Riker; 07-15-2014 at 01:16 PM.
    MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus VI Formula (BIOS 0804)
    CPU: Intel i5-4670k
    HDD 1: Samsung SSD 250G 840BW EVO
    HDD 2: Western Digital WD10EZEX 1TB Caviar Blue 7200rpm
    RAM: 16gb (2x8) G. Skill RipJawsX DDR3-2133
    PSU: Seasonic X-Series 750W 80 Plus Gold
    GPU: Gigabyte GV-N770OC-4GD
    CASE: Fractal Design Define R4
    OPTICAL DRIVE: Pioneer BDR-209DBK
    MONITOR: Samsung S24C300HL; BenQ E2200HD
    OS: Windows 10 Professional
    Other: MS Wired 600; Logitech MX 310; Sennheiser PC 151 & Logitech Z150

  3. #53
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by Corsair Riker View Post
    So - could I, for example, use a G1820 ( http://ark.intel.com/products/78955 ) in my Maximus VI Formula board?
    Hello

    The G1820 is supported from UEFI version 1102 and later. CPU support can be found at the board's product page at ASUS.com.

  4. #54
    ROG Member Array sweenytodd PC Specs
    sweenytodd PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i5 4670K @ 4.5GHz delidded
    Memory (part number)F3-2400C10D-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 780 Ti DirectCU II OC
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorQNIX QX2710LED
    Storage #1Crucial M500 240GB
    Storage #2Intel 730 480GB
    CPU CoolerPhanteks PH-TC14PE_RD
    CaseFractal Design Arc Midi R2
    Power SupplyXFX Pro 850W Black Edition
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
    Mouse Zowie FK1
    Headset Sennheiser G4ME Zero
    OS Windows 8.1 Standard
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC56U

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    As I posted at the beginning of this thread, I believe the M6H boards that shipped with BIOS version 1301 or later (equivalent BIOS for other boards) have the IME required for DC:

    BIOS 1203: IME 9.0.22.1467
    BIOS 1301,1402,1505: IME 9.0.30.1482

    Version 1208 and earlier - From Asus, no. But it is possible from a third party that they updated the IME firmware but not thee BIOS.
    Does this means if I have IME 9.0.30.1482 in my UEFI, I can use DC chips?

    I just updated to 1505 and installed IME 1730 in Windows. Now when I'm at UEFI, I saw IME 9.0.30.1482. Thinking I would future proof myself with DC chips.

  5. #55
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 X 8GB
    Graphics Card #2AMD Radeon WX 7100
    MonitorNEC PA271Q and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse G602
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    361

    A user reports he used flashback on 4770k to update to 1505 and the DC wouldn't boot. supposedly because the IME firmware was not up-to-date. He then used flashback to flash 1505 with the DC installed, and it worked and booted. Anybody try this can confirm it?

  6. #56
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 X 8GB
    Graphics Card #2AMD Radeon WX 7100
    MonitorNEC PA271Q and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse G602
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    361

    Quote Originally Posted by sweenytodd View Post
    Does this means if I have IME 9.0.30.1482 in my UEFI, I can use DC chips?

    I just updated to 1505 and installed IME 1730 in Windows. Now when I'm at UEFI, I saw IME 9.0.30.1482. Thinking I would future proof myself with DC chips.
    If your BIOS/UEFI screen shows 9.0.30.1482 or the MEinfo utility reports 9.0.30.1482 you should be good.

  7. #57
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Mike Kelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    438

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    You can get a 1505 bios chip from Asus for < $25 shipped.

    I don't suppose you know what Intel Management Engine firmware is on your board?

    -

    The new replacement VI formula will be here tomorrow, I have no idea what bios or IME firmware will be already installed. No PC fix it shops around seem to have any cpu;s that will work in my 1150 socket so I wont be able to do any type of bios change, other then the flashback on the back of the
    mb using a usb drive. I can order the bios chip, but from what Im reading, the utility has to be installed first and through windows itself ?

    Thank you so much for your help, I appreciate it very much. Ive been without my PC now for almost a week and a half and it really sucks.

  8. #58
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070 X 8GB
    Graphics Card #2AMD Radeon WX 7100
    MonitorNEC PA271Q and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse G602
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    361

    If you get the BIOS chip, you don't need to run any utility, just replace the chip. Keep your fingers crossed that Asus shipped it with new BIOS>

  9. #59
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Kelly View Post
    The new replacement VI formula will be here tomorrow, I have no idea what bios or IME firmware will be already installed. No PC fix it shops around seem to have any cpu;s that will work in my 1150 socket so I wont be able to do any type of bios change, other then the flashback on the back of the
    mb using a usb drive. I can order the bios chip, but from what Im reading, the utility has to be installed first and through windows itself ?

    Thank you so much for your help, I appreciate it very much. Ive been without my PC now for almost a week and a half and it really sucks.
    Please do the USB BIOS Flashback procedure without your Devil's Canyon CPU installed. Once the update is done, install the DC CPU and power up your motherboard. Leave the motherboard for 30 seconds so it can do an additional update. Once it auto-restarts, you should be good to go.

    Just in case you've never used the USB BIOS Flashback procedure before, here are a few tips.
    1. Make sure your USB pendrive is FAT32 formatted.
    2. The BIOS file should be the only file on the pendrive.
    3. Make sure the BIOS file is named properly.
    4. If possible, use pendrives with small capacities and that don't come with hidden partitions like those Sandisk ones.

  10. #60
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Updating the UEFI for Haswell Refresh/DC processors using USB BIOS Flashback:

    Using the following procedure the UEFI can be updated without the need of using the update utility from within Windows using a first generation Haswell processor.

    Download the latest UEFI version available for your motherboard. Rename it appropriately so it can be used with USB BIOS Flashback. This can be done manually after checking for the proper name in the motherboard's manual or using the BIOS Renamer utility which can be downloaded when you download the needed UEFI version. I downloaded Z87-DELUXE-ASUS-2004.CAP for the Z87 Deluxe and after unzipping it renamed it Z87D.CAP. Copy the renamed UEFI file to an empty FAT32 formatted USB stick.

    The motherboard should be powered down with no CPU installed. Connect the USB stick to the proper USB port for use with USB BIOS Flashback. Connect power to the power supply and press the USB BIOS Flashback button until the indicator starts blinking. The indicator will continue to blink until the UEFI flash is complete. This will take approximately 1 - 1 1/2 minutes. When the update is done shut down the system and remove power. Install the CPU and anything else that is needed for a successful boot. Connect power to the system and press the start button. The system will boot up and during POST a message will be displayed stating the BIOS is updating. When this update is finished the system will shut down. At this point all needed updates are complete and the system should be usable with the Haswell Refresh/DC processor.


    4770K/UEFI version 1007 before USB BIOS Flashback



    4790K/UEFI version 2004 after USB BIOS Flashback - UEFI, EC and ME versions updated
    Last edited by Praz; 07-17-2014 at 10:53 PM.

Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •