Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    [RIVE] CPU does not go past 4.2Ghz for everything except stress test programs

    I am using the 4804 BIOS, and my CPU max boost ratio is set to 43 for 4300Mhz target. However, I have noticed lately that the CPU only runs at 4300 Mhz the first 30 seconds to a minute or so after booting into Windows, then as SpeedStep kicks in, the CPU clock starts to fluctuate anywhere between 1200 Mhz and 4200 Mhz, and it only ever goes back to 4300 Mhz if I throw a stress test program like Prime95, the Windows WEI test, etc, at it, and for everything else including games and even 3D Mark, it always stay at 4200 Mhz. I could force it to run at 4300 constantly by turning of SpeedStep or choosing High Performance in Power Options but I don't want to do that. Does anyone have any idea as to why the CPU behaves like this?
    Last edited by Darkzero; 06-17-2014 at 12:09 PM.
    ASUS RIVE, 3960X (@4.3GHz), Corsair CML16GX3M4A1866C9 4x4GB (@1866MHz 9-10-9-27), EVGA GTX Titan Black Hydro Copper Signature SLI, Plextor M5 Pro 512GB SSD, Corsair AX1200 PSU, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I can only imagine it is because of the way that Intel designed their CPUs, dynamic changing as the load requires. The CPU is meant to throttle back when not being used as a power saving mechanism.

    I would have to see all your bios and OS settings to actually know what has been set up... If it bothers you then performance mode is the answer I guess.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array darkage PC Specs
    darkage PC Specs
    MotherboardApex IX
    Processor???? K
    Memory (part number)TEAMGROUP-UD4-3200@4133C19
    Graphics Card #1STRIX R9 FURY
    MonitorMX279
    Storage #1960 EVO 250
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy
    CaseDIMASTECH 2.5 Easy
    Power SupplyHCP 850W
    Mouse ROG GLADIUS
    Mouse Pad Glorious
    OS 10 64 PRO
    darkage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    301

    if you don't want that to happen you have to disable all the power saving features in bios, but modern cpus are not that affected by these features being turned on to save power so its all normal as long as it doesn't bsod all day long :-)

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    96

    There is no benefit to constantly running it at a locked overclocked. The speedstep has no negative effect. Plus, you consume more energy and will wear the CPU out faster. I'm still going strong @ 4.7 daily with speedstep for two years now.
    Last edited by Terminal Meltdown; 06-19-2014 at 08:38 AM.

    Antec 2002 Chassis - AMG 1000 Modified
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme (bios 4201)
    Intel® Management Engine (firmware 8.1.10.1286)
    EVGA GTX 680 - PCI-E @ x16 3.0 (driver 332.21)
    Intel 3960x revision C2 @ 4.7ghz daily - rock solid
    G.Skill Ripsaw Z - 32 gig @ 2133mhz
    Corsair: 2x Force GT, AX1200, H80
    Windows 7 64bit

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Good advice here, OP did you resolve your issue?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Good advice here, OP did you resolve your issue?
    No. In fact, I think I first noticed this in BIOS 4310 (see my post in the last page of the blow thread). As I recall, I think the last working BIOS was 4206 or something like that. Anyway, I tried running at 4.5ghz , but the same thing happened - always stuck at 4.2. Now I just manually change to High Performance in Power Options when needed.
    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...310-Bios/page6
    ASUS RIVE, 3960X (@4.3GHz), Corsair CML16GX3M4A1866C9 4x4GB (@1866MHz 9-10-9-27), EVGA GTX Titan Black Hydro Copper Signature SLI, Plextor M5 Pro 512GB SSD, Corsair AX1200 PSU, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Could you tell me what software like AIsuite you have installed please?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Could you tell me what software like AIsuite you have installed please?
    I don't have any software like AIsuite installed, only stuff like CPU-Z, GPU-Z, MSI Afterburner, Core Temp, EVGA Precision, CPU Fan. I used to have ADA64, but I didn't renew the license.
    ASUS RIVE, 3960X (@4.3GHz), Corsair CML16GX3M4A1866C9 4x4GB (@1866MHz 9-10-9-27), EVGA GTX Titan Black Hydro Copper Signature SLI, Plextor M5 Pro 512GB SSD, Corsair AX1200 PSU, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    Since you have a SB-E cpu an older bios is probably a good idea.

    Do you have any active cooling for the VRM's on you motherboard? They get really hot and when they get to hot the cpu speed throttles.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    No active cooling for the VRM, the CPU is water cooled. I'm only using 1.275v vcore, so I don't think heat is the problem.
    ASUS RIVE, 3960X (@4.3GHz), Corsair CML16GX3M4A1866C9 4x4GB (@1866MHz 9-10-9-27), EVGA GTX Titan Black Hydro Copper Signature SLI, Plextor M5 Pro 512GB SSD, Corsair AX1200 PSU, Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •