Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Semi New build, No post, FF Qcode and solid red DRAM led, flashing VGA Led on go

    Hey everyone looking for some advice, so earlier this week I was on my previous build messing around playing games and suddenly the screen went black and no response from anything. Fans still worked and LEDs were still on in the case. Since then i decided to upgrade to the Crosshair V formula Z MOBO. aswell as a new GPU. I figured it was either my Mobo or GPU that was causing the black screen. I replace those to find a still black screen, no post or any beeps. I have tried 2 different sets of ram with no luck and have tried flashing the bios with the USB drive with no luck still. Im running out of ideas of what else to try. The only thing that has not been replaced now is the CPU but I find it hard to believe my CPU would just die like that.
    specs:
    AMD FX-8150
    Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z
    Kingston HyperX ram and also GSkill ram (both tried separately and tried booting with single ram)
    Asus r9 280x video card
    have tried EVGA 850 PSU as well as my old Corsair 750
    enermax closed loop watercooling system (have tried with stock cooling)

    I have also tried booting out of the case (corsair 750d)

    at this point is it just time to RMA the board?
    Seems no matter what i do I just get a FF Qcode and the Solid DRAM led and when i press go the VGA led starts blinking

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Hi bveirs and welcome to ROG.

    As the system posts check the Qcodes prior to FF and report.
    Could well be the CPU. Only way to find out is swap. They do just die like that sometimes.

    Don't RMA the board just yet.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    I currently don't have an extra cpu to swap with. with the FF code that is all i seem to get. nothing more. There is no post.
    When i press start on the mobo it just turns all the fans and everything on and i do get power from the front usb port when it was in the case but the qcode always has a FF and the solid DRAM led comes on. no beeping or any audible sounds come from the board and i plugged a speaker in just to make sure. After I press the start with no luck and press the go button under it just makes the VGA led start blinking


    I can order another CPU or take it to a shop around here but at this point everything in the case is brand new. the only part that is not new now is the CPU.
    Thanks for the reply also.



    Also, does that sound like a possible cause for a my screen to randomly turn black? if the CPU died, I was on it and suddenly it just died. and then got no response and both of my monitors said they were receiving no signal from my computer
    Last edited by bveirs; 07-06-2014 at 03:28 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    The dreaded "FF" POST code, or no POST at all.

    This fix is best done outside a case to ensure the case isn't shorting the motherboard:

    Qcode: FF indicates Fault Found.

    1) If you know what burnt electronics smell like, then smell your motherboard. I'm not joking. Specifically around the VREG (left/above the socket), Southbridge (below the socket) and Chipset (right of the PCI slots) areas. If you smell burnt electronics, keep that in mind if you hit step (7b) below as that'll means its the motherboard 99.9% of the time.

    2) Test the PSU with a tester, if it's not beeping/blinking at you then it's ok. Unplug and re-plug the 24-pin connection several times. Keep an eye on the "PG" and see if it ever reports 0ms or 999ms as this means it's a bad PSU (since this is unloaded it won't fail the PSU tester every time even though it will fail the motherboard every time). If you don't have PSU tester, swap in your known-good PSU.

    3) With the PSU verified to be good, plug in ONLY the power to the motherboard (20+4-pin and 4/8-pin CPU power, but NOT the 4-pin molex connection if it has one). Disconnect EVERYTHING else from power (hard drives, DVD drives, etc).

    4) Remove all RAM. Remove all GPUs. Remove all other PCI/PCI-e cards. Unplug all the cables (including SATA, IDE, FDD, SAS, USB, Firewire, HD Audio, and all the switches but the power switch) from the motherboard. You should have just your MoBo, CPU, HSF, PSU and a power switch connected right now. Disconnect EVERYTHING from the front and back panels of the computer, including your mouse and keyboard.
    4a) if your computer does NOTHING when you hit the power button, plug the reset switch into the power switch pins on the motherboard and use the reset button in case the power button has gone bad - yes, it happens, no it won't damage anything.

    5) Remove the BIOS battery and leave it out until you're told to put it back in.

    6) Power on the computer. If it beeps or gives a POST code other than FF then go to (7a) below, if not check out (7b)

    7a) If it beeps at you, or gives any POST code other than FF then turn it back off. Leave the BIOS battery out. You will now add in 1 piece of hardware, power it on, check if it POSTs (and gives any error other than FF), if it does, turn it back off and add the next component. Start with RAM, one stick at a time, then GPUs, one at a time, then other expansion cards, finally HDDs/DVD drives - rebooting between each and every part.

    8a) If it starts giving an FF code or stops POSTing all together then the last component you added is bad.

    9a) If it doesn't give a FF error code and is still POSTing with all your hardware back in, shut it down again, put the BIOS battery back in and power back on one more time. If it gives an FF code now, replace your BIOS battery.

    10a) If it works with everything back in, then your motherboard lives to fight another day.

    7b) If it still POSTs as FF or not at all in this condition remove the CPU, make sure the pins are intact, reseat the CPU and HSF and try it again. If it still posts FF you either have a bad motherboard (about 95% of the time or about 100% if you smelled burnt electronics in step 1) or a bad CPU (about a 5% chance).

    8b) Swap in a known working motherboard if you have one to test the CPU is good, or bring in a spare CPU to test the motherboard with. Whichever part fails is the culprit, replace it and go again.

    As you see it can mean a number of things, so follow these steps and see how you go.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 07-07-2014 at 01:21 AM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    So im still getting a FF code after removing everything and also smelling the board I didn't notice any burning smell. I checked the CPU and it looked okay underneath it. Nothing bent.

    I did notice on the LEDS there are 4 LEDs. I think i have might been reading it wrong this whole time. directly underneath the DRAM if you are reading it is lit up. Does that signal the CPU_LED is actually on or is that the DRAM?

    CPU_LED
    ---------DRAM_LED VGA_LED BOOT_DEVICE_LED
    ------------X
    The 'X' is the LED that is lit up. Hopefully im making this clear. I'll be a little dissapointed in myself if i was reading this wrong the whole time. haha

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Ok I'm pretty sure its your CPU.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    damn. well the CPU is the only used part in the build. I had it in my previous rig. new CPU suggestions? ive had that 8150 for a few years now.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    In that case you have had a good run.

    Well the FX-9590 is top of the line and prices have dropped of late. Your MB can handle it, but your cooling needs to be up to scratch.

    The FX-8350 has a lesser tdp draw and runs cooler, but will also demand extra cooling if you intend OC.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    with the speed of the 9590 im not sure if i want to go with much of a OC as it is. I do have a closed loop system that was putting my 8150 at about at lowest idle at about 13-14c so I feel it should be able to handle the heat of the 9590. It is the enermax system. so far so good with it but that was with only a minor OC to the 8150 pushing that to just 4.0ghz flat.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,687

    Quote Originally Posted by bveirs View Post
    with the speed of the 9590 im not sure if i want to go with much of a OC as it is. I do have a closed loop system that was putting my 8150 at about at lowest idle at about 13-14c so I feel it should be able to handle the heat of the 9590. It is the enermax system. so far so good with it but that was with only a minor OC to the 8150 pushing that to just 4.0ghz flat.
    The ELC240 is min requirement and anything lower will not cope for FX-9590.

    Choose the FX-8350 if your cooling does not meet this requirement and if you don't want to upgrade cooler.

    13-14c at idle is not what counts, Its when under load, stress testing or playing high end games.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •