Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Asus G750JM Miracast not working

    Hello,
    I have Asus G750JM with Broadcom AC adapter. I installed Win 8.1 Pro, with drivers from Asus website. I tried to add as a wireless display a LG Smart TV and a Netgear PTV3000. Both appear when searching for wireless displays but fail to connect after about 20 seconds.

    Both the LG TV and the PTV3000 work with an Intel WIDI laptop, and with Android devices with Miracast.

    Windows has the latest updates from Windows update.

    I am at a loss, i don't know what to try anymore.

    Thx in advance

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by buggyro View Post
    Hello,
    I have Asus G750JM with Broadcom AC adapter. I installed Win 8.1 Pro, with drivers from Asus website. I tried to add as a wireless display a LG Smart TV and a Netgear PTV3000. Both appear when searching for wireless displays but fail to connect after about 20 seconds.
    Both the LG TV and the PTV3000 work with an Intel WIDI laptop, and with Android devices with Miracast.
    Windows has the latest updates from Windows update.
    I am at a loss, i don't know what to try anymore.
    Thx in advance
    buggyro, I noticed the new Nvidia driver 340.43 BETA has a new install item, Miracast Virtual Audio, you might try this driver to see if it has better Miracast support.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	34043 Miracast Audio.JPG 
Views:	143 
Size:	50.4 KB 
ID:	38805

    With Optimus, you might need the Miracast support from the Intel driver instead:

    Intel Miracast* FAQ - How do I initially set up a wireless external screen in Windows 8.1?
    http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-034563.htm

    Intel® Wireless Display (Intel® WiDi)
    http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support...reless-display

    BETA Intel driver - Version: 15.36.0.3652
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...s%20%28Beta%29
    Last edited by hmscott; 07-12-2014 at 02:41 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    hmscott the intel widi tool says "WiDi is ready to use".
    However not even with the beta Nvidia and Intel Graphics drivers, the problem is the same.

    If anyone tries to install the beta drivers create a restore point before. I had a few blue screens after installing the Nvidia beta driver.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by buggyro View Post
    hmscott the intel widi tool says "WiDi is ready to use".
    However not even with the beta Nvidia and Intel Graphics drivers, the problem is the same.
    If anyone tries to install the beta drivers create a restore point before. I had a few blue screens after installing the Nvidia beta driver.
    buggyro, what were you doing when you got the Blue screens? So far no one has reported crashes with 340.43 except under gaming load. I am haven't had any Blue screens, but I don't currently have all the options installed, just these:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nvidia 340.43 drivers installed.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	24.1 KB 
ID:	38822

    Did you follow the directions in the FAQ?

    Did anything change in the behavior? Same as you reported in your first post?

    There could be incompatibilities. My TV isn't compatible.

    Did you see Asus has a Miracast dongle for sale?

    http://www.amazon.com/Asus-Miracast-.../dp/B00IBD0Q16

    http://www.asus.com/Tablet_Mobile_Ac...racast_Dongle/

    You might try again with another TV, perhaps a Brick and Mortar showroom where you can try a few different TV's.

    What instructions or documentation are you following to connect / test?

    http://blogs.windows.com/windows/b/w...-miracast.aspx

    Does the TV/remote device show anything going on? Is the G750 seen from that end trying to connect?
    Last edited by hmscott; 07-12-2014 at 07:53 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    The blue screen appeared at shutdown with a message regarding "power state" after installing the nvidia beta driver. That was all i could read before the auto restart.

    I followed a lot of FAQ's including the one you suggested.

    I don't think the problem is with the TV or PTV3000 as both work with other Miracast and WiDi devices. In fact the G750 is the only device that doesn't work. Thy both have latest firmwares installed. I think the problem is a driver (wireless adapter or graphics card) or win 8.1 itself.

    Both the TV and the device show Connecting to laptop, but after about 20 sec they say Connection Unsuccessful. This behavior happens with any combination of drivers. I've also tried to disable firewall, antivirus, without success.

    Does anybody know what Broadcom AC WiFi card the G750JM has? I've been trying to find other drivers for this card without any success.

    I was also wondering does Miracast work for others with 2014 G750's?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by buggyro View Post
    The blue screen appeared at shutdown with a message regarding "power state" after installing the nvidia beta driver. That was all i could read before the auto restart.

    I followed a lot of FAQ's including the one you suggested.

    I don't think the problem is with the TV or PTV3000 as both work with other Miracast and WiDi devices. In fact the G750 is the only device that doesn't work. Thy both have latest firmwares installed. I think the problem is a driver (wireless adapter or graphics card) or win 8.1 itself.

    Both the TV and the device show Connecting to laptop, but after about 20 sec they say Connection Unsuccessful. This behavior happens with any combination of drivers. I've also tried to disable firewall, antivirus, without success.

    Does anybody know what Broadcom AC WiFi card the G750JM has? I've been trying to find other drivers for this card without any success.

    I was also wondering does Miracast work for others with 2014 G750's?
    buggyro, are you connected to the internet through the G750 Wifi? How about the TV?

    WiDi and WiFi Simultaneously
    https://communities.intel.com/thread/38534

    "My problem is that when I have connected to my TV using WiDi it stops my WiFi connection making it impossible to stream from the Internet or Media Server. "

    Perhaps turn off the internet router, disabling that wifi connection, and then try to connect the G750 / TV / device with Miracast.

    If that works, try using Ethernet for the Internet connection, or if you need to use Wifi internet, use this example from the thread link above to get both wireless connections working properly.

    Problem:

    It seem Windows try to access Internet via TV WiDi Wireless connection and ignores the wireless router.

    Solution:

    You need to configure automatic metric System.

    1. In Network and sharing page - Click on Change Adapter Setting (Right Top)

    2. Right Click on wireless Network Connection 2 (Your Original Wireless Router) -> Properties

    3. Click Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)

    4. Select Properties

    5. In General tab -> Advanced

    6. Uncheck Automatic Metric and Give a Low number (say 5) and Click OK

    7. Now Click on wireless Network Connection 3 (Widi Wireless) -> Properties

    8. Click Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)

    9. Select Properties

    10. In General tab -> Advanced

    11. Uncheck Automatic Metric and Give a High number (say 50)

    Let us know if you get it working, and how you did it


    I haven't seen any reports of the G750 supporting Miracast, and the G750xx specifications only mention WiDi "Integrated 802.11ac or 802.11 a/b/g/n (WiDi)" under Specifications => Networking :
    http://www.asus.com/us/Notebooks_Ult...pecifications/
    http://www.asus.com/us/Notebooks_Ult...pecifications/
    http://www.asus.com/us/Notebooks_Ult...pecifications/

    And, Widi stuff doesn't mention Miracast...
    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/...s-display.html

    It looks like there are some compliant devices for both Widi and Miracast, but they explicitly mention it, and the G750 specs don't mention Miracast, only Widi

    Maybe that is why Asus came out with the Micracast Dongle?
    http://www.asus.com/Tablet_Mobile_Ac...racast_Dongle/

    Wireless Display Standards Explained: AirPlay, Miracast, WiDi, Chromecast, and DLNA
    http://www.howtogeek.com/177145/wire...cast-and-dlna/

    "Intel Wireless Display 3.5 makes WiDi Miracast-compatible, essentially turning WiDi into another branded Miracast-compatible standard. Intel has basically folded WiDi into Miracast."
    Last edited by hmscott; 07-12-2014 at 11:31 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    In Win 8.1 Intel's WiDi does not work anymore, because Miracast is built-in in Windows. Intel has disabled WIDI in win 8.1.
    Requirements for Miracast in Win 8.1 are:
    - wireless adapter with NDIS 6.3 driver (virtual WIFI and WIFI Direct needed). You can see that by running Get-NetAdapter | Select Name, NdisVersion in powershell. Broadcom AC is NDIS 6.40
    - graphics adapter wth WDDM 1.3 driver (win 8.1 only driver). Both Nvidia and Intel have WDDM 1.3 drivers, but i think Nvidia doesn't have yet full suport for Miracast.

    The "add a wireless display" options in the Project Charm should appear only when all the above conditions are met. On a older laptop with older NDIS version of the wifi card the option never shows up.

    I think the only solution for now is to wait.

    I am tempted to try to install win 7 on the system only to check if widi works

    PS: The dongle you mention is for the TV, in case your TV does not know Miracast or WIDI. Mine knows both, and i tested it with both with other devices and works well. The other device i have Netgear PTV3000 i use on a TV which does not have WIDI or Miracast and again works well with other devices.
    Last edited by buggyro; 07-13-2014 at 04:43 PM. Reason: forgot something

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by buggyro View Post
    In Win 8.1 Intel's WiDi does not work anymore, because Miracast is built-in in Windows. Intel has disabled WIDI in win 8.1.
    Requirements for Miracast in Win 8.1 are:
    - wireless adapter with NDIS 6.3 driver (virtual WIFI and WIFI Direct needed). You can see that by running Get-NetAdapter | Select Name, NdisVersion in powershell. Broadcom AC is NDIS 6.40
    - graphics adapter wth WDDM 1.3 driver (win 8.1 only driver). Both Nvidia and Intel have WDDM 1.3 drivers, but i think Nvidia doesn't have yet full suport for Miracast.

    The "add a wireless display" options in the Project Charm should appear only when all the above conditions are met. On a older laptop with older NDIS version of the wifi card the option never shows up.

    I think the only solution for now is to wait.

    I am tempted to try to install win 7 on the system only to check if widi works

    PS: The dongle you mention is for the TV, in case your TV does not know Miracast or WIDI. Mine knows both, and i tested it with both with other devices and works well. The other device i have Netgear PTV3000 i use on a TV which does not have WIDI or Miracast and again works well with other devices.
    buggyro, thanks for the clear description of the state of the problem... but it isn't clear why when all is in compliance that it still isn't working/connecting.

    Did you try disabling Wifi Internet and only use Wifi for the Widi/Miracast?

    Good news on the dongle, for me anyway, I can enable my TCL 50" TV

    The problem with Windows 7 might be finding a working Windows 7 driver for that wifi card in the G750... there are no Windows 7 drivers supporting G750's from Asus - maybe someone that has found a Windows 7 driver for that Broadcom card will respond here with a link.

    You might document this in a Technical Inquiry for Asus to respond to, and ask if / when Widi/MIcracast will work on G750 Windows 8.1.

    https://vip.asus.com

    And, it looks like responding into the forums.geforce.com site is another place to look for support:

    Missing wireless display option in Windows 8.1 / Missing WDDM 1.3 features
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...-1-3-features/

    site:forums.geforce.com 2014 nvidia windows 8.1 widi
    https://www.google.com/search?num=50...ndows+8.1+widi

    This guy got MIracast working on Intel/AMD, but not Nvidia on 340.43 Beta:
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...44460/#4244460

    Maybe if you switch to using the Intel GPU?
    Last edited by hmscott; 07-13-2014 at 05:33 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    What I tried and did not work:
    - disable the 860m in device manager, same behavior,
    - set in nvidia 3d settings to use integrated graphics, same behavior
    - disable intel integrated graphics, the "add a wireless display" option dissapears
    - tried connecting, while wifi was disconnected, or connected to 5ghz, or connected to 2.4 ghz, same behavior.
    - also tried beta nvidia drivers drivers, same behavior (in release notes says it enables miracast on x86, maybe that means that on x64 platforms is not working yet).
    - disabling antivirus and firewall, same behavior
    I guess i will wait for new nvidia drivers and then try again.

    I have an older Acer laptop with 640m, intel i5 3rd gen, intel 7260ac wifi card, win 7 x64 installed. Although it was a pain in the a** to setup, in the end widi works on that laptop (i had to try a lot of combinations of drivers and software before it worked).

    Scott thanks a lot for trying to help me.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    buggyro, found this monster thread on the Intel support forum, and this particular post that says he finally got an MSI GT70 to connect to a PVT-2000 using Windows 8.1, and he has detailed instructions / steps

    Post #151 of 229 posts!
    Widi & Windows 8.1 problems
    https://communities.intel.com/message/218381#218381

    Looks like an ongoing problem... with Intel support directly posting support into this thread - you could try posting there for help.

    Intel WiDi in Support Community forums:
    https://communities.intel.com/community/tech/intel_widi
    Last edited by hmscott; 07-15-2014 at 11:11 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •