Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy Maximus VII Hero getting error code 55

    Hey,

    I have a problem when starting up my new computer.
    I get a Q-code saying 55 "Memory not installed"
    I'm using 2x Crucial DDR3 BallistiX Sport
    Sometimes it just restarts over and over and over...

    Read on the forum that my CPU fan could cause a problem, but I took this off, and remounted it.

    I put one RAM chip in the B2 slot and it works...

    The motherboard is brand new, so I'm basically asking to see if it's my fault or if it's Asus's fault.

    Anyone got any ideas?

    Regards
    Last edited by Mykli; 07-24-2014 at 08:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Hello Mykli, Welcome to the ROG forum.


    What is the speed of your RAM and how many GB? Have you tried the other stick in slot A2?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hey,

    The speed is 1600MHz at 8gb a piece, so 16gb total.
    I've tried them both, they both work in slot B2 and B1, but not in A1 and A2. Seems like that slot is dead.
    Last edited by Mykli; 07-25-2014 at 09:40 AM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Thank you,


    Try clearing the cmos, if that doesn't get it working it is possible you might have a couple of bent cpu socket pins. You could try removing your cpu cooler and cpu and inspect the cpu socket for any bent pins with a magnifying glass. Look carefully and make sure they are all evenly spaced as they should be.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Ok, I took a look earlier, and for my naked eye it looked like all the pins were laid flat, but it looked OK. Are they supposed to be flat or have I ruined something?

    Also I tried using both in B1 and B2 at the same time, and now it starts and I have 16gb of ram installed(says the BIOS)
    Last edited by Mykli; 07-25-2014 at 09:59 AM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    No they are not flat, I'm not sure of your board but the socket pins will look similar to this:

    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...cket_775_T.jpg

    click on the photo to make it larger.

    Look carefully at your cpu socket with a magnifying glass, you will be able to tell if there are any that are bent.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Yea, that's what I meant with flat, more like crooked or something. It looks ok and I will just ship it back, to get a new one.

    Thanks for the help Nate152

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    You're welcome,

    You can call asus tech support and tell them your problem and once they confirm it's your mother board, they will set you up an RMA.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Here I just have to send it back to the store and they have to fix everything. Gotta love Norwegian rules. Thanks again.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •