Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Maximus VII Hero BSOD only when using 32GB RAM / RipjawsZ / i7-4770K Quad-Core

    Hi Guys,

    If I use just 3 sticks (8gb each) so 24 I got no problem at all.

    If I use the fourth to hit 32gb BSOD.

    I've tried exchanging the 4 dims and all of them seems to be fine.
    Also, I've used the 4 memory slots.

    The issue happens only when trying to boot with 32GB

    [RipjawsZ] F3-14900CL10Q-32GBZL
    DDR3-1866 (PC3-14900)
    32GB (8GBx4)
    CL10-11-10-30
    1.5 Volt

    Intel Core i7-4770K Quad-Core Desktop Processor (3.5 GHz, 8 MB Cache, Intel HD graphics, BX80646I74770K)

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Welcome to the forum!

    Have you run memtest on each stick individually?
    You may need to up the CPU Vcore and/or memory voltage to accommodate 32GB with all dimms populated.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    93
    Posts
    579

    Hey Roger ans welcome also.

    If your dim is in the same slot everytime the problem happens and near a standoff screw

    it maybe a short between mobo and the case standoff.

    This problem does not often but it does. Use a piece of Electrical tape or anti static wrapper between mobo and standoff

    My brother in law had this problem and used a piece anti static bag (single layer,full length of mobo)

    and problem eliminated

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •