Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 41
  1. #31
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,443

    Hey, what good news inFAMOUS-ONE, Good to hear all is working as it should again.

    At 4.5GHz and 1.3xxv, Your temps don't look out of proportion to me when running prime95.

    if you are just using real temp and no other cpu temp monitoring programs, you are getting correct cpu core temp readings.

  2. #32
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    hmm... ok, fair enough. just seemed to be high to me, especially as I was only in the mid-60's before.

    Just out of curiosity, what vcore are you running to get 4.7, and what's your hottest core temp?

    I'm not sure if it's worth me going any higher. I have the voltage available to try, but I kinda wanted to keep it below 1.35v. It is only at 1.328v MAX when gaming, so that's sweet as. Mind you, it ran 4.4GHz earlier at 1.296v under laod, up from 1.275v under load from 4.2GHz. so the additional voltage required is:

    4.2GHz -> 4.4GHz = +0.019v

    4.4GHz -> 4.5GHz = +0.048v

    As you can see, going up an extra 100MHz from 4.4 to 4.5 was quite a big step compared to going from 4.2 to 4.4. I think I'm getting close to the wall, and 4.6 might see me over 1.4v. There's also the temps to worry about, if it's already at 82°c at 4.5, it might reach limit if I go any higher.

    Do you think BCLK would be a good idea on this board? If so, is it going to benefit me in terms of temp/maximum overclock/voltage required, or do you think this is pretty much the best I'll get out of it? I'm new to the platform, so not really sure. I know BCLK didn't work very well on my Maximus V GENE/3570K, and was best left at 100.0, with overclocking done purely on the CPU multiplier. It'll obviously mean dropping XMP, but voltage etc can be set manually on the memory. Should I give it a shot, or just leave it be?

    Cheers.
    Last edited by InFAMAS-ONE; 09-05-2014 at 04:16 PM.

  3. #33
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,443

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	904.9 KB 
ID:	40813

    Well this is my 2nd 3770k. My first 3770k needed 1.55v for 4.7GHz. and yes that is 1.55v. Here is what I have for the 2nd 3770k.

    Overclocking the BCLK does give you a little more performance. You can keep your same overclock, just drop the multiplier and raise it. You will have to set your ram speed back as close as you can to its rated speed as it raises this too.

    Sure give it a shot.

    Start with dropping the multi by 2, raise the bclk up to your overclock watching the cpu target speed, then set your ram and test. After that drop the multi by 1 and see how far you can go.

  4. #34
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    5GHz! Nice Nate!

    Yeah, I know what BCLK does, and how it works (basically), I just didn't know if it worked well on this platform. I'll give it a shot sometime soon, and let ya know how I got on

    It's 02:38am here, so as much as I'd love to try it now, I need to go to bed lol

    I'll probably have a go sometime over the weekend though.

  5. #35
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,443

    All right, yeah how far were you able to get?

    Haswell can overclock the BCLK alot further than ivy.

  6. #36
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Temps

    Hi Nate, I haven't tried BCLK yet, but have a look at this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Temps.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	289.3 KB 
ID:	40820

    I re-imaged my PC, re-ran RealBench, and got temps a lot closer to what I was getting before. By the end of the test, Core 5 had hit 71°c, but that's still 11°c+ cooler than what I was getting before. I didn't think 82°c+ seemed right.

  7. #37
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Hi Nate.

    I tried BCLK, but it didn't give the benefits I was after, so I'm just sticking with 100.0 base. It wanted more voltage to match 4.5GHz, and the memory was only at 2333MHz.

    It seems that 4.5GHz (100x45) is the wall for this CPU. I tried 4.6, but even with a fixed voltage of 1.4v (1.424 under load) it BSOD after about 6 minutes in RealBench. I'd even taken the memory out of XMP, and was just focusing on the multiplier. A bit of a shame considering it's happy with 1.328v at 4.5GHz - I had the voltage to do it, if it would do it, but it looks like it won't.

    well... it might do it with a little more, but I'm not willing to increase the voltage any further.

    Still... 1.328v is a good voltage, and 4.5GHz is a good OC; especially as the CPU will also let me run 32 or 64GB of RAM at 2400MHz. At least this voltage will mean my CPU isn't stressed too much, Temperatures are kept at a reasonable level, and I still have great performance.

  8. #38
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,443

    Yeah definitely chilly. Below50c, You do have some excellent cooling.

    When overclocking, I go by gaming temps and this says you have some room. I say this alot but 75c is the max temp i want to see when gaming.

    But unfortunately It does look like your cpu hit the wall. 1.32v for 4.5 and can't go at 1.40v at 4.6.

    You can try up up to 1.45v and see if she will stabilize, your cooling seems capable of handling it, you're not even hitting 70c on the stress test.

  9. #39
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Hey man.

    I MIGHT try it, but might not. I'm not really happy about running that voltage for everyday use, so there's not really any point in achieveing an overclock of 4.6GHz if it needs 1.45v+ to do it.

    I just tried again with it drawing 1.424v, and I'd even set LLC to extreme, and current capability to 140% - doesn't like it. I also tried setting switching to 1.3x for cleaner power, and it didn't help at all. I can't think of anything else to help the cores out, except getting silly with the voltage

    I went through changing one setting at a time to see if I could get it to play ball, and she's just not keen on the idea, sadly.

    Still... as I said before, at least 1.328v is nice and low, and I still have 4.5GHz out of it, with a nice heap of memory, at a fast frequency. Gotta be happy with that!

    In regards to the cooler, I'm in the process of modifying my Trooper to accomodate a Bitspower 250 Tube res, mounted on a Dual D5 pump top, with 2 XSPC D5 PWM Pumps. I'm going to be cooling both RAM banks with Bitspower Universal memory kit, and my storage HDD with a Bitspower Block. I'm going to be using 12/10mm ridged tubing (I know it's thin, but looks ok, and is easier to route with the limited room at the top of the Mobo in this case. I'll have an XSPC AX240mm in the roof, as I do now, but adding an XSPC AX360mm rad in the front. I'm also adding a case-top fill port to lead into the top of the Res. I have all the parts, just not started on it yet.

    The loop with run in this order:

    Res/pumps -> HDD -> GPU 2 Via flow indicator -> GPU 1 -> AX240 (Roof Rad) -> Left RAM bank -> CPU -> Right RAM Bank -> AX360 (Front Rad) -> top of tube res.

    At the moment, I'm using an XSPC Raystorm AX240 Kit, I've just replaced the Raystorm Block with the Bitspower Summit EF (Ice Black). The raystorm block performs very well indeed though - I didn't need to replace it, and found very little improvement. I've also replaced the fittings with Bitspower ones, and am linking the 2 GPU's with ridged acrylic tube. well... I was, before one of them died, I just have 1 in there atm.

    The Raystorm kit is AMAZING though! It cost me about AU$230 - very cheap! and performs soooo well! The Bayres has a 750L/H pump. I've added an AX120 radiator to the loop, but that's all. Currently, the loop runs like this:

    X20 750 Bayres -> AX120 Rad (Rad in bottom of case) -> GPU 2 (Not present atm) -> GPU 1 -> AX240 (Roof Rad) -> CPU -> Bayres.
    Last edited by InFAMAS-ONE; 09-07-2014 at 06:02 AM.

  10. #40
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    4.6GHz results

    Hey Nate.

    I decided to see if it could do it, and what voltage it needed - just for the sake of it.

    I set the multi to 46, and simply put vcore back on Auto. The result was 1.488v under load in RealBench. So basically, It needs at least 1.45v to do it, as we thought, so totes not worth it - just for a 100MHz boost... Maximum temp was 85°c on core 4.

    Going to try and stop myself from playing around with it now, and just enjoy it. It's clear I'm not getting anything else out of it, but it's been fun seeing what it can do

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •