Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Update: New 4930K Has arrived!!

    Hi guys.

    The RMA pocess took about 3 weeks, as the supplier had a major backlog of returns, but the new CPU arrived today!

    I installed it, went into BIOS, and hit the old F5 key. Then I went back into BIOS and set the memory to XMP -> F10 -> Boot.

    I let it sit on the Desktop for about 5 minutes, as the old CPU would BSOD almost instantly after booting when under XMP. This new one sat there quite happily, so I proceeded to run P95.
    All went well for about 10 minutes before one worker stopped, but at least it still didn't BSOD - I couldn't get this far on the old one at all.

    After the worker stopped, I halted the P95 operation, and went back into BIOS. I set a manual VCCSA voltage of 1.25v and tried again. It's now been running P95 for 25 minutes with no issues at all. Numbers below:

    CPU multiplier: Stock
    Memory: 64GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400C11R in XMP (2400MHz) - 2x 32GB kits.
    VCORE: AUTO - using between 1.248v and 1.264v under prime 95
    VCCSA: Manual - 1.25v
    PLL Overvoltage: enabled
    All other voltages/settings: AUTO.
    Highest core temp: 49° in P95

    It seems that I may not have a "Golden Chip" but it seems to be quite good. Wondering what sort of multiplier increase I can achieve if I set the VCORE to 1.25v before I have to boost it. I might have a go tonight, but I'm quite keen to just play games, so I might not.

    What do you think guys?

    Cheers.
    Last edited by InFAMAS-ONE; 09-01-2014 at 07:24 AM.

  2. #12
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    I think that is quite a feat to get 64GB of 2400MHz ram to run.

    Highest core temp 49c means you have alot of room for overclocking.

    If it is already using approximately 1.25v at stock multiplier, you're not going to get very far.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Ah, I left the VCORE alone, and just changed the VCCSA from AUTO to 1.25v. I ran P95 for 30 minutes without any problems before I decided to stop it.

    So... no more problems with it not running P95 Blend when I have 64GB of memory at 2400MHz, and I personally think the VCORE is quite reasonable when it's using between 1.248v and 1.264v under load, when set to AUTO. It gives me confidence that I might be able to get a multiplier boost with a fixed manual VCORE of 1.25v If not, then I should be able to achieve a nice overclock with a little boost to VCORE, and not have to get too close to the safe barrier.

    The old one was using 1.3v+ with NO overclock when running 64GB at 1333MHz, and it wasn't very happy about doing even that! As said previously, the old CPU would BSOD whilst just idling on desktop after a couple of minutes at most if I tried to run 64GB at any more than 1600MHz.

    It seems I was dead right about the IMC being crap, this new chip looks to be a lot better!

    With regards to the VCORE, I am using 64GB... and the voltage is set to AUTO. At idle, it drops to about 0.88v and 0.95v. All I can do is try it. If I run less memory, it'll probably drop the VCORE, but I should be able to get something out of it. I don't really care if I can't push it beyond 4.5-4.7GHz, that'll be enough for me. I'm not going for any records, this is just an OP system that I want to overclock, but not really push the limits.
    Last edited by InFAMAS-ONE; 09-01-2014 at 07:49 AM.

  4. #14
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    yeah man, you should be able to overclock it pretty far seeing your temps. Since it is new for you, you will just have to see what it can do and post us all your results.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    First OC results

    Ok peeps, I've had a bit of a play just now, and so far, things are looking good.

    I left everything alone with regards to the configurations for running the 64GB of memory in XMP, and simply set a manual VCORE of 1.25v, with a multiplier of 42.

    I've been running P95 Blend for 30 minutes now, and CPU-Z is reporting a VCORE voltage fluctuating between 1.264v, and 1.280v under full load. VTT is at 1.250v-1.262v, and VCCSA is at 1.193v to 1.209v

    I've left LLC for all voltages at AUTO, so i'm quite happy with the results so far. I was going to try setting a manual VCORE of 1.27v and pushing the multiplier to 45. I might have to go a bit higher on the voltage, but it's gone to 4.2GHz quite nicely when set to 1.25v, so you never know!

    Once I get it stable at the highest frquency I'm happy with, I was thinking about enabling inrush current enertia to slightly reduce the maximum load voltage, in an attempt to keep it closer to the voltage I set.

    Highest core temp so far is Core 4 @ 60°c
    Last edited by InFAMAS-ONE; 09-02-2014 at 09:22 AM.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Hi again.

    Prime95 Blend ran for 50 minutes with the above settings for 4.2GHz overclock before I stopped it to try and go higher. I'm now running it at 4.5GHz, and P95 has been going for about 15 minutes - so far, so good.

    I switched to on offset of +0.020v, and left everything else alone. With Speed step enabled, this means my CPU is using a very low voltage when it's doing nothing.

    Whilst it's running P95, the VCORE is at 1.328v, which I am VERY happy with, considering the ridiculous amount of RAM I have. I'm gonna let it be, and see if it can run for 1 hour. After that, it's time for games. I might try and go for 4.6-4.7GHz; I have the room to do it, as long as it's not at the point where it needs a big jump to go higher. I don't really care though, I'm happy it's gotten to 4.5GHz - as long as it's stable!

    I did have it running at 4.5 on a manual VCORE of 1.27v, which jumped up to 1.296 in P95, but I had 4 workers stop after about 15 minutes, so it obviously needed more. As I said though, it seems happy with this offset so far.

    What do you think, Nate?

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Ok guys, I think I'm finished

    4.5GHz!

    I've used an offset voltage of +0.030v, which takes the VCORE up to 1.344v when running Prime95 Blend. I ran the test for 40 minutes without any problem, but I'm going to restart it when I go to bed, and leave it running overnight just to be sure.

    I'm using Speed step, so my CPU downclocks when not under load, and the VCORE drops to 0.88v. The highest core temp was 64°c on core 5.

    If I wasn't using 64GB of RAM at such a high frequency, I could probably get a higher overclock with the same voltage, but I'm really happy with what I have achieved. This is basically what I wanted out of the system when I planned the build, so it's really good to see it happen. I wanted to run this amount of memeory at this speed because I should be able to with this hardware, and I've pulled it off.

    I am still undecided as to whether I will keep all 64GB in there (I really don't need it), or just put 32GB in, run it at the same 2400MHz in XMP, and go for a higher multiplier. I'm a bit anal about having empty RAM slots on my board though, I really want all 8 filled, but the amount of 32GB 8-DIMM kits out there seems to be quite limited. If I DO decide on 32GB, I might try buying 2x 16GB kits, and hope for the best. I know it's best to just buy 1 kit, but I made this work with 2 kits, and I can only purchase what's available. At least with the CPU running it's maximum capacity, with a high frequency, and SILL tolerating my throwing 2 kits at it, and then overclocking it as well; logic indicates that it shouldn't have any issues doing the same thing with half the amount of memory.

    Here's my system specs again:

    Case: Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper - Modified
    Motherboard: Rampage IV Black Edition
    CPU: i7 4930K
    Memory: 64GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400C11R (2x 32GB Kits)
    GPU: 2x ASUS ROG Poseidon Platinum GTX 780 (SLI)
    Operating Drive: ASUS ROG RAIDR Express PCI-E SSD
    Game Directory: 2x Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD (RAID0)
    Storage: 3TB Seagate Barracuda
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i
    Cooling: Custom Liquid cooling loop using Bitspower blocks, fittings, and ridged acrylic tubing. XSPC D5 PWM Pumps (X2), XSPC AX240 Radiator (Roof), XSPC AX360 Radiator (Front). Mayhems Pastel Red Coolant. Corsair SP120PWM Quiet edition fans.
    Components cooled by loop: CPU, Both memory Banks, Both GPU's, Storage HDD.

    I'd like to thank ASUS Republic of Gamers for making products with such a high level of quality. It really wasn't difficult to overclock with this board, and the GPU's perform very nicely too.

    I'd love to hear any comments anyone has about all of this, i's been a long process since I got my first CPU, which unfortunately, turned out to have a dud IMC. This is such a good result after having to RMA a CPU 2 days after I got it, and then wait 3 weeks for a replacement. I was really concerned that the replacement would be just as bad, but it looks like it's a winner this time!

    Game time!

  8. #18
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    Lots of testing going on I see and with good results.

    Once going ROG, there's no going back.

    Temps will always be high when running prime95. What you want to focus on is your gaming temps. 75c is the max you want to see for long term gaming so you might can do 4.6 - 4.7.

    Nice and chilly with everything under water.

    No need to run prime95 overnight, you're just stressing the cpu for nothing. If you're stable for an hour, you're stable overnight. I don't like running that program any longer than i have to.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    InFAMAS-ONE PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5960X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 64GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    Graphics Card #2ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-011G-GAMING
    MonitorASUS ROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseRaijintek NYX Pro
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    OS Win 10 Pro x64
    InFAMAS-ONE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    68

    Hey man.

    I had 2 workers stop after approx 90 mins, and games were crashing out on me. I don't think it likes the 2 kits AND an OC. It runs games fine with the 2 kits in XMP and NO OC though. I think it would be fine with a matched 64GB kit, but I don't really wanna shell out on it, just in case - I don't NEED 64 GB, so not worth it just on the off chance that id does work. Might as well just try for a higher multiplier, or nice and low voltage for lifespan.

    With this in mind, I'm having a crack with 4.5GHz and just a single 32GB kit in XMP atm. I'm currently running prime, and I have an offset of +0.005 rofl. so far, so good. VCORE is 1.312v - 1.328v. will keep you posted

  10. #20
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,433

    I agree on the single kit vs. two matched kits. For a single 64GB kit you will pay through the nose. Sometimes two matched kits don't play nice together even though they are the same specs.

    You had 64GB running so you may just need a bump in the vcore and/or vccsa. If 2 workers stopped in prime and games were crashing, this could point more to the vcore.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •