Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Issues with idle clocks and temps when running ROG Swift at 144hz?

    Hello everyone.

    This is my first time posting so please let me know if something is off on the formatting.

    So i recently received the ROG Swift monitor after waiting what feels like forever for an official release date.

    I received it last Friday along with a second EVGA 780 FTW Edition card so that I can properly future proof the system for 1440p gaming at high frame rates.

    Now, one of the things that I noticed right away was that my idle temps were incredibly high. It wasn't until running open hardware monitor that I noticed that the idle clock speeds on my main video card was running at almost full settings when having the monitor set at 144hz. I went back and forth thinking that it was probably the video so I made the necessary changes to see if anything would change. I swapped video cards and the same issue persisted. I tested this out with both single and sli setups with both setups giving me the exact same problem when running this monitor at 144hz. I then started thinking that it could have power related, but it's not as the power supply I have supplied enough power to both cards during SLI gaming.

    Below are screenshots from what I was looking at.

    Again, this is all reflecting idle temps and clock speeds. Power settings have been set to adaptive for better power management. When the monitor is set to 120hz, the video card down clocks when nothing is happening, as it should, and blocks up when running a game. When the monitor is set to 144hz, the video card is clocked at almost high speed when nothing is happening, causing the temps to spike up roughly 10 - 20 degrees hotter just on idle.


    Has anyone else encountered this problem since the monitor released?


    First set of screenshots is when running the test on one video card.









    This second set is when running it on sli.






  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    After SLI stuttering with G-Sync, 4 light leaks from holes on the top of the plastic frame, YES again... I have this same issue too.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    At this point looking at several issues on the forum, is it unfair for me to consider returning this monitor?

    I haven't heard much as far as ASUS is concerned some of these problems. It very well could be that my monitor is defective. People on other spots note that their monitor's work perfectly. But alas, here I am dealing with these problems and not able to enjoy the monitor for what it was advertised for.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Mine does this also, mabey a driver problem?

  5. #5

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by ibbill View Post
    I'm gonna have to disagree on that one.

    I had previously owned a BenQ monitor that was also 144hz and never did i notice an increase in clock speed when running at that high of a resolution. so far from what i've seen, the only people that have had issues with this particular glitch seem to stem from ASUS branded monitors. There may be some other ones that I am not mentioning, and i'm not trying to single out ASUS, but this is the first time I have ever run into this issue.

    With my previous BenQ I never had this issue.


    I think at this stage, along with several other factors concerning the product, i don't really see myself needing to hit 1440p at this point in time with all the features advertised.


    It sucks because I had been waiting for this monitor for a long time, much like most of you guys out there.


    At this price point I was expecting more, and what I got was just more of the same and more money down the tube to be the first to try something new. At the end of the day, the price point doesn't really cut it for me, especially with this particular issue with not being able to run at 144hz. I can invest in a nice dual setup instead.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    this is a copy and paste from an online search so take it for what its worth
    sounds like this is a 144hz problem not so much just a swift issue
    so...they say
    "It's by design and it was NVidia's decision. I doubt that they will change it. It seems that 144Hz is too fast to hide the flicker caused by power state changes, and NVidia went with disabling power savings when in 144Hz."
    sounds like this was done a few driver updates ago so people running old drivers may not have seen this at the time
    not claiming to know this as a fact but many sites refer to this and 144hz

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    You may never have noticed it, but at least one other person using a BenQ monitor had the problem.

    http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...60hz-to-144hz/

    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1803942


    It could be some various combination of driver + software + monitor that triggers it. Who knows....

    I also get higher memory and GPU clock speeds when I'm running @144Hz idling on the desktop, but I just set it at 120Hz and I'm OK with it. This monitor is not without its faults, but to me that's a tradeoff I'm willing to make.

    Quote Originally Posted by FlameChucks76 View Post
    I'm gonna have to disagree on that one.

    I had previously owned a BenQ monitor that was also 144hz and never did i notice an increase in clock speed when running at that high of a resolution. so far from what i've seen, the only people that have had issues with this particular glitch seem to stem from ASUS branded monitors. There may be some other ones that I am not mentioning, and i'm not trying to single out ASUS, but this is the first time I have ever run into this issue.

    With my previous BenQ I never had this issue.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Getting the same weakness if I monitor my hwinfo while switching frequency

    Would explain why in just a few unoptimized games like DayZ I get screen flickerings if I set 144MHz, but all is perfect on 120MHz

    Well at least here I think with a 1x GPU GTX780 I will stick with 120MHz as a default, it is really smoother in DayZ after downgrading to 120

    At least thanks for the head up, it doesn't seems worth to switch to a permanent 144
    Last edited by class101; 09-17-2014 at 09:26 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    916

    Although I don't like this "side effect" of running 144mhz on the desktop, I also do not find it very concerning. It's much akin to those who overclock their CPU and turn off all of the power states in the BIOS and window to stabilize high clocks. I don't do that myself as I prefer to give up some CPU clock for the power and heat savings, but the example is along the same lines. Perhaps it is because I am water cooling, but the small bump in temp and power usage for 144mhz is worth it as 144mhz is easier on the eyes at the desktop. And if users are worried, the turbo button is there to easily adjust the monitor down to 120 at the desktop level if they want lower power desktop idle.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •