Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    216

    Stripping W7 install disc for benching

    I have found some guidelines for stripping W7 for benching, where one uses RT7Lite and Black Viper's guide.
    Has anyone tried it?What are your thoughts?

  2. #2
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    216

    Come on OC members, I need your input here. Apparently this is legal stripping of Windows 7. Do you need the links to verify?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Do you really think stripping down will give you better speed and are you that keen to do so.

    You can easily get rid of bloat, I use WiseDisk cleaner to get rid of unwanted stuff.

    There is a good batch file for shuting down services whilst running RealBench.

    Of course it may be legal to do so, but beware the dreaded reinstall of your OS.
    Last edited by MeanMachine; 08-04-2014 at 01:28 PM.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MatsGlobetrotter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    171

    What I have done so far is to simply install only the Win7 ultimate package I have and not allowing it to do any upgrades at all. Seeing some one with overall lower specs getting + 25% though on for example hwbot Prime I wonder what the issue is.
    This ofcourse also mean I must run my 3DMark in win 8.1 as it keeps complaining of SP1 and so forth
    In some cases I also see that Win 8 would run a particular benchmarker at double speed with the inclusion of XTU. My win 8.1 has every single update.

    I use the stopping batch that Arne posted a while back and keep turning of more services. Removing anything with the inclusion of Nvidia Bloatware is critical.... Why!!!! would it be mandatory to have a shadow software installed full time!!! I never use a video capture software like that but it sure add bloat. Thus everything out with the inclusion of 3d drivers.. no I dont run in 3d vision!!!

    I doubt there is one single version of Win7 setup though that is optimum.. I would assume that is based on the benchmark software run at the time. Some should have all the Windows features completely off and some must have them on. Thus probably need to clone the win7 install to the equal number of benchmarks to be able to get all optimised to the ultimate level.

    It would though be good to have like a wiki page for every benchmark with listings as to what to optimize at what time. possibly with all the needed batch files for a particular bencher downloadable on the same page.

    Found some tweaks to run SPI others Wprime faster but in German and some in Russian so does not give confidence to download and run. Thus so far I run the bencher with my clean install and leave it at that.
    It started with a VIC-20... and now it is. Maximus Formula VI Intel 4770K 4.6GHz ASUS GTX780Ti 3GB Corsair Platinum Dominator 16GB 2400MHz Raid Express 240GB Samsung EVO 512 GB SSD Corsair 900D EK watercooling Corsair RM1000 ASUS PB278Q



  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    I have used exactly what you are talking about mats, it works fine and I believe it is a good experience, doing so. I have also used nlite, Vlite, 7lite to add AHCI and Raid drivers to my OS disk to make for an easier installation disk without F6 driver installation. You have to strip a couple OS versions beyond usability just to find out, destroy OS installs over and over tweaking and benching, it is great here at ROG where everyone shares hints and tricks but nothing really sinks into the old head like personal experience.

  6. #6
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    216

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Do you really think stripping down will give you better speed and are you that keen to do so.

    You can easily get rid of bloat, I use WiseDisk cleaner to get rid of unwanted stuff.

    There is a good batch file for shuting down services whilst running RealBench.

    Of course it may be legal to do so, but beware the dreaded reinstall of your OS.
    Quote Originally Posted by MatsGlobetrotter View Post
    What I have done so far is to simply install only the Win7 ultimate package I have and not allowing it to do any upgrades at all. Seeing some one with overall lower specs getting + 25% though on for example hwbot Prime I wonder what the issue is.
    This ofcourse also mean I must run my 3DMark in win 8.1 as it keeps complaining of SP1 and so forth
    In some cases I also see that Win 8 would run a particular benchmarker at double speed with the inclusion of XTU. My win 8.1 has every single update.

    I use the stopping batch that Arne posted a while back and keep turning of more services. Removing anything with the inclusion of Nvidia Bloatware is critical.... Why!!!! would it be mandatory to have a shadow software installed full time!!! I never use a video capture software like that but it sure add bloat. Thus everything out with the inclusion of 3d drivers.. no I dont run in 3d vision!!!

    I doubt there is one single version of Win7 setup though that is optimum.. I would assume that is based on the benchmark software run at the time. Some should have all the Windows features completely off and some must have them on. Thus probably need to clone the win7 install to the equal number of benchmarks to be able to get all optimised to the ultimate level.

    It would though be good to have like a wiki page for every benchmark with listings as to what to optimize at what time. possibly with all the needed batch files for a particular bencher downloadable on the same page.

    Found some tweaks to run SPI others Wprime faster but in German and some in Russian so does not give confidence to download and run. Thus so far I run the bencher with my clean install and leave it at that.
    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I have used exactly what you are talking about mats, it works fine and I believe it is a good experience, doing so. I have also used nlite, Vlite, 7lite to add AHCI and Raid drivers to my OS disk to make for an easier installation disk without F6 driver installation. You have to strip a couple OS versions beyond usability just to find out, destroy OS installs over and over tweaking and benching, it is great here at ROG where everyone shares hints and tricks but nothing really sinks into the old head like personal experience.
    Here is what I'm talking about (apologies for including the links):
    http://www.overclock.net/t/804451/gu...c-for-benching

    http://www.blackviper.com/

    Have a look and let me know what you think.

  7. #7
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Stripping down any version of Windows is most definitely something a lot of benchers do to cut all the fat from each edition of Windows and most of the very serious benchers will tell you to either strip down an OS for yourself, or, you may be given a copy that you can't share with anyone else.

  8. #8
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    216

    Quote Originally Posted by Myk SilentShadow View Post
    Stripping down any version of Windows is most definitely something a lot of benchers do to cut all the fat from each edition of Windows and most of the very serious benchers will tell you to either strip down an OS for yourself, or, you may be given a copy that you can't share with anyone else.
    Any bencher out there prepared to share a copy? PM me please.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array twisted1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    72
    Posts
    815

    Pro benchers basically use a custom OS for every bench. Stipped and optimizied. I belive Hiviz has some uploaded and you can get a link. Haven't heard from him in a week or so though.

    I use a clean install, no updates and I disable everything I don't need. Then diagnostics mode.

    Then for different benchmarks different OS's are better, win7 works for most. Firestrike is Win8. Most 2D benching like spi works best with Win XP SP2 32bit. 3dMark05 = Win vista

  10. #10
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    216

    Quote Originally Posted by twisted1 View Post
    Pro benchers basically use a custom OS for every bench. Stipped and optimizied. I belive Hiviz has some uploaded and you can get a link. Haven't heard from him in a week or so though.

    I use a clean install, no updates and I disable everything I don't need. Then diagnostics mode.

    Then for different benchmarks different OS's are better, win7 works for most. Firestrike is Win8. Most 2D benching like spi works best with Win XP SP2 32bit. 3dMark05 = Win vista
    Thanks mate. Will wait for Hiviz to show up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •