Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    a new computer build,need lots of advice

    hi there..firstly i don't know much about computer building and this is my second build(first got screwed up due to a shop vendor and msi...)
    what i have:
    graphic card:msi nvidia gtx 610 2gb
    hdd:1tb 5400 rpm wd
    dvd writer:lg(don't know the specs and i don't want an upgrade in this)
    monitor:aoc lm925 48cm(19”) TFT Color LCD Monitor
    keyboard and mouse:logitech wireless k220 combo

    what i am planning to buy
    psu:seasonic 750 km3
    case: phantom 530
    processor:intel 4790k(little confused between 4770k and 4790k for some inbuilt instructions in 4770k which are absent in 4770k)
    motherboard:asus maximus VII formula
    ram:g skill 8gbripjaws x 1600mhz ( 8x1gb )
    oc:yes i will do but after the warranty is over.need to use this for about 5 years i guess...

    also i have some doubts(pardon me if they are riduculous)
    1.dual channel won't work as i am using single ram
    2.i have seen the compatibilty memory list and psu list for the motheboard both are not mentioned in the list will they work properly.
    3.shall i wait for 5th generation haswell processor that would require ddr4 ram ...i guess then i need to wait a year..

    all replies are appreciated and thanks for reading the above...
    Last edited by Mr..X; 08-06-2014 at 03:46 PM. Reason: :phantom was looking like :p antom new edit:changed psu to seasonic 750km3

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    you can expect 1000$-1200$...but at my place things are costly and the exchange of goods is via another currency...

  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    you dont loose warranty by OC'ing mobos, exept if you melt them :P

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr..X View Post
    you can expect 1000$-1200$...but at my place things are costly and the exchange of goods is via another currency...
    Where do you live?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    you dont loose warranty by OC'ing mobos, exept if you melt them :P
    thanks buddy,for letting me know about this...i think i read on amd that you void your warranty when overclocking,i am mistaken...
    Last edited by Mr..X; 08-07-2014 at 12:53 AM. Reason: added quote

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Where do you live?
    india
    Last edited by Mr..X; 08-07-2014 at 12:53 AM. Reason: added quote

  8. #8
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    no you can not get to 2400 on 1600mhz ram.
    the motherboard will set memory default to 1600 and then you can set xmp profile witch witt set the value the ram is rated at.
    lets say you have a 2133mhz ram.
    go to bios. set xmp profile and voila you have it on 2133mhz.
    and you can oc it a lill higher if you know how to do it.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    no you can not get to 2400 on 1600mhz ram.
    the motherboard will set memory default to 1600 and then you can set xmp profile witch witt set the value the ram is rated at.
    lets say you have a 2133mhz ram.
    go to bios. set xmp profile and voila you have it on 2133mhz.
    and you can oc it a lill higher if you know how to do it.
    do you mean 1600mhz cannot be overclocked to get 2400mhz?
    if yes,then if i buy 2133 mhz ram and set xmp profile will i be able to run the memory at higher speed if i have not overclocked my cpu nd motherboard
    if no,then which memory should i buy to have a good overclockable ram,which gives good enough speed on overclocking ...
    thanks for the reply...
    Last edited by Mr..X; 08-07-2014 at 08:50 AM. Reason: typo error:gives:goes

  10. #10
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,128

    ram that is rated to 2400mhz can be used at 1600mhz.
    it is made to run at 2400mhz max at stated voltage.
    and yes you can oc 2400mhz ram higher but that will only make it hotter and it needs more voltage and you can end up damage the ram.
    cpu. if you are lucky to get a good quality one you can oc it past 5ghz whit no problem
    if you are unlucky it will not go past 4.2ghz.
    so all in all it depends on how lucky you get when buying a cpu if its good or not.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •