Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    should i update my BIOS from 1301 to 1505?

    okay bare with me cause im newbie about this stuff so anyway i have my newly rig with i7 4770 (without k) CPU and GPU Sapphire-TriX-R9-290, Maximus Hero Vi motherboard with 1301 BIOS version i havent encountered any technical problems so far in 2 months of using my computer although sometimes i rarely get some frame rate stuttering in some games i played i heard upgrading your BIOS should gives you some performance and bug fixes so should i upgrade/update my bios here or stick with 1301 version?
    Last edited by kenja444; 08-07-2014 at 01:32 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    anyone?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MatsGlobetrotter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    171

    Hi Kenja444,

    I would suggest you first read up what the real changes are in the new bios. Thus what codes the changelog say about it. On my formula I have had the 3 different bios versions and I have not been able to detect any difference. I simply had to upgrade due to putting in the 4790K instead of a 4770K

    Its not that latest is the fastest always as changes often relate to bugs that might not even show up on your setup ever.
    It started with a VIC-20... and now it is. Maximus Formula VI Intel 4770K 4.6GHz ASUS GTX780Ti 3GB Corsair Platinum Dominator 16GB 2400MHz Raid Express 240GB Samsung EVO 512 GB SSD Corsair 900D EK watercooling Corsair RM1000 ASUS PB278Q



  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    848

    Bios 1301 worked for me for a long time including overclocking and benching with the K model CPU. The only reason I upgraded to 1505 was for the 4790K Devil's Canyon CPU. If you're not going there, I'd suggest not risking the BIOS upgrade.

    Jeff

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    hey guys i just updated by BIOS and it seems my whole system are more stable my gpu and cpu fan are seems to be fine than before

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •