Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: M.2

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    M.2

    I've built a couple of pcs before but quite a while ago now I've just received my asus gene mother board and I'm wanting to get a m.2 ssd for the opperating system. I don't understand the sharing PCI bandwidth stuff and lanes so I was going to use the m.2 slot but I have a freesat dvr card I waned to use in the PCI 1 slot is this possible if it's sharing bandwidth with the m.2 if some one could please clarify I would be very greatfull

  2. #2
    ROG MarsII Owner Array ConkersGrillforce1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    231

    There will be no bandwith limitation, chipset and CPU deliver enough lanes. The M.2 slot with an M.2/NGFF SSD will operate at max speed of 10Gbps, the PCIe x4 on the bottom, will operate at x4 speed and the other two PCIe x16 slots will work with a speed of x16 or 8x/8x, when you're installing SLI or CrossFire.
    Desktop: Xigmatek Elysium | Rampage IV Extreme | i7-3960X | G.Skill 32Gb DDR3 2133Mhz|fastest Asus MarsII on the planet core 950Mhz| Kingston HyperX SSD 240Gb + 300Gb Intel 300series SSD + Velociraptor 600Gb + 3TB HDD | Enermax Maxrevo 1500W| 3xDell U2412m |
    Laptop: Samsung 940X3G | i7-4500U | 8Gb RAM | 256Gb SSD | 13.3" 3200x1800 |

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    So could i use the m2 socket and use the 1 slot it shares the banwith with for my freesat card and leave the 2 x16 slots spare

  4. #4
    ROG MarsII Owner Array ConkersGrillforce1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    231

    Oh , sorry didn't see this "If you install PCIe 2.0 x4 device, the system will automatically detect and disable mPCIe 2.0 x1 and M.2 slots" at the end of the specification list.
    This would mean you can't use the PCIe x4 slot and M.2 slot at the same time, but..."The default setting is in Auto mode that automatically optimizes the system bandwidth."...probably you can set this option to manually (or whatever) and use the PCIe x4 (at x1 or x2 speed) and the M.2 slot at the same time.
    Desktop: Xigmatek Elysium | Rampage IV Extreme | i7-3960X | G.Skill 32Gb DDR3 2133Mhz|fastest Asus MarsII on the planet core 950Mhz| Kingston HyperX SSD 240Gb + 300Gb Intel 300series SSD + Velociraptor 600Gb + 3TB HDD | Enermax Maxrevo 1500W| 3xDell U2412m |
    Laptop: Samsung 940X3G | i7-4500U | 8Gb RAM | 256Gb SSD | 13.3" 3200x1800 |

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Right think I'm getting it so would I be able to use the m.2 slot then put my sat card in the long x16 slot even though it designed for the small slot

  6. #6
    ROG MarsII Owner Array ConkersGrillforce1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    231

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruellie View Post
    Right think I'm getting it so would I be able to use the m.2 slot then put my sat card in the long x16 slot even though it designed for the small slot
    Finally found some time to look into the manual of the Maximus VII Gene.
    You can use your Freesat DVR PCIe card on the PCIe x4 slot and have a SSD installed in the M.2 slot both will have PCIe x2 bandwith with this configuration. The only thing you have to do, is to set the setting in the bios to M.2 mode.



    Desktop: Xigmatek Elysium | Rampage IV Extreme | i7-3960X | G.Skill 32Gb DDR3 2133Mhz|fastest Asus MarsII on the planet core 950Mhz| Kingston HyperX SSD 240Gb + 300Gb Intel 300series SSD + Velociraptor 600Gb + 3TB HDD | Enermax Maxrevo 1500W| 3xDell U2412m |
    Laptop: Samsung 940X3G | i7-4500U | 8Gb RAM | 256Gb SSD | 13.3" 3200x1800 |

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •