Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 74
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razor2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hey Nate, so how often do you change your coolant? It's funny there are so many people that are against using any kind of coolant, it's like one half coolant and the other half distilled.
    Case: CM Styker Mobo: Asus R4BE CPU: i7-4960x, Noctua DH-14 Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133 16GB CL 9 GPU: NVidia GTX 1080ti 11GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256 & 512GB HDD: WD Black 3TB, 500GB & Seagate GoFlex 3TB PSU: Corsair AX1000 KB: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Monitor: Alienware AW3418DW Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB Elite, MM800 Polaris RGB OS: WIN10 64

  2. #12
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    you can fit a 240/280 rad in top.
    but first of all, mesure down from roof of case to first obsticle, then you know how mutch room you can use for a rad, or if you are going push or pull or push/pull setup.
    ditch the large fan thats in there and get fans as large as the radiator is, 120 or 140 mm ones.
    get fans whit high mmh2o and not CFM.

    here is a couple of google pics i found.
    tube res: http://cdn.overclock.net/8/82/500x10...216.47.37.jpeg
    bay res: http://i731.photobucket.com/albums/w...asK/doomas.jpg
    i recommend getting a drain on it ( as low as possible ) to have a easy drain of the loop.

    to controll the fans, what are you thinking of there?
    controller on the case? mobo? fan controller?

    cheap fan controller whit LCD and temp probe option -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/96...?tl=g34c17s422
    expensive and software controlled -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/17...?tl=g34c17s422
    the aquacomputer can controll fans by temp of the water, but as stated its expensive. ( software = free ).

    you have the aquacomputer D5 pump witch have a onboard fan controller and software controlled pump/fan controll.
    like this one -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/17...l=g30c107s1802 witch is out of stock on this site.

    pump and res combo, tube version example -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/21...c107s152#blank

    i dont know where you are going to order from or what your price range is.
    if you build your loop by parts whit out getting a kit, you can expand it down the road.
    kits are mainly set up to be used whit that setup, whit moderated expansion.

  3. #13
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    I've had my cooler for 7 years and I changed the liquid one time. It wasn't cloudy or changing color or anything I just decided to change it. Heck you could probably go maybe 5 years without changing it. it's a good coolant, It doesn't stain tubing or the reservoir and you can even mix metals with it.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razor2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    you can fit a 240/280 rad in top.
    but first of all, mesure down from roof of case to first obsticle, then you know how mutch room you can use for a rad, or if you are going push or pull or push/pull setup.
    ditch the large fan thats in there and get fans as large as the radiator is, 120 or 140 mm ones.
    get fans whit high mmh2o and not CFM.

    here is a couple of google pics i found.
    tube res: http://cdn.overclock.net/8/82/500x10...216.47.37.jpeg
    bay res: http://i731.photobucket.com/albums/w...asK/doomas.jpg
    i recommend getting a drain on it ( as low as possible ) to have a easy drain of the loop.

    to controll the fans, what are you thinking of there?
    controller on the case? mobo? fan controller?

    cheap fan controller whit LCD and temp probe option -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/96...?tl=g34c17s422
    expensive and software controlled -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/17...?tl=g34c17s422
    the aquacomputer can controll fans by temp of the water, but as stated its expensive. ( software = free ).

    you have the aquacomputer D5 pump witch have a onboard fan controller and software controlled pump/fan controll.
    like this one -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/17...l=g30c107s1802 witch is out of stock on this site.

    pump and res combo, tube version example -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/21...c107s152#blank

    i dont know where you are going to order from or what your price range is.
    if you build your loop by parts whit out getting a kit, you can expand it down the road.
    kits are mainly set up to be used whit that setup, whit moderated expansion.
    Good info there kkn, I have seen some of those WC'd setups on the net, niiiiice. What are some really good fans, what do you recommend? As for fan control, the Aquacomputer Aquaero 6 is sweet and the Aquacomputer D5 would be a perfect match. I'll have to see if I can squeeze that into the budget. Is it a hassle to fill/bleed a bay res once it's installed? If so I might look at a tube.
    Case: CM Styker Mobo: Asus R4BE CPU: i7-4960x, Noctua DH-14 Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133 16GB CL 9 GPU: NVidia GTX 1080ti 11GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256 & 512GB HDD: WD Black 3TB, 500GB & Seagate GoFlex 3TB PSU: Corsair AX1000 KB: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Monitor: Alienware AW3418DW Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB Elite, MM800 Polaris RGB OS: WIN10 64

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razor2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I've had my cooler for 7 years and I changed the liquid one time. It wasn't cloudy or changing color or anything I just decided to change it. Heck you could probably go maybe 5 years without changing it. it's a good coolant, It doesn't stain tubing or the reservoir and you can even mix metals with it.
    That's great, I wonder why so many people hate coolant? Maybe just had a bad experience or something.
    Case: CM Styker Mobo: Asus R4BE CPU: i7-4960x, Noctua DH-14 Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133 16GB CL 9 GPU: NVidia GTX 1080ti 11GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256 & 512GB HDD: WD Black 3TB, 500GB & Seagate GoFlex 3TB PSU: Corsair AX1000 KB: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Monitor: Alienware AW3418DW Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB Elite, MM800 Polaris RGB OS: WIN10 64

  6. #16
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    Quote Originally Posted by Razor2014 View Post
    is it a hassle to fill/bleed a bay res once it's installed? If so I might look at a tube.
    i dont know since ive never used one.
    it can be i guess since you have limited whit space in the bay res. when you start tilting the case to get air out of the rad.
    personaly i use the eloop fans, and the aquacomputer can controll the fans whit PWM on it.
    witch cost a bit each.
    i have a LARGE pump on my settup, the aquastream XT USB.
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/15...tl=g30c107s153
    witch is bit large, compare to the D5 pump.
    i use a couple of these to monitor the temp of the water -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13...Pin_71170.html
    its a "extender" sorta if you want to call it that.

    just set your self up a max limit to spend on this, sit down draw up a few examples on how you want it.
    maby several options on tubing route, pump/res placing , how meny fittings you need, what kind of fittings do you need+++++
    add a drain port on the lowest part of it to get a easy and non spillage drainage of the fluid.

    heres the fans im using -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/16...l?tl=g36c15s60
    they can be controlled by voltage ( witch im doing ).
    fancontroller is on 4v on the fans, pump ramps up the fans connected to the pump to full speed when it goes abow a certain temp.

    for just 2 fans you can controll them whit just the pump.
    it connects to the motherboard by USB interace to be controlled by software.

    this is what you want to look at when you buy fans for to be used on radiators -> Static Pressure: 1.997 mmH2O , i would say minimum 1.xx and upwards.

    Voltage Range: 3.4 - 12.0 V DC <- start voltage and max voltage. just look in the specs and you will see :P

    http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l1/g30/Liquid_Cooling.html
    take a look tru this page and see what you would get and post it up and ill look over it tomorrow after work.
    just post the links on here so its easyer to go and look.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razor2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    i dont know since ive never used one.
    it can be i guess since you have limited whit space in the bay res. when you start tilting the case to get air out of the rad.
    personaly i use the eloop fans, and the aquacomputer can controll the fans whit PWM on it.
    witch cost a bit each.
    i have a LARGE pump on my settup, the aquastream XT USB.
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/15...tl=g30c107s153
    witch is bit large, compare to the D5 pump.
    i use a couple of these to monitor the temp of the water -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13...Pin_71170.html
    its a "extender" sorta if you want to call it that.

    just set your self up a max limit to spend on this, sit down draw up a few examples on how you want it.
    maby several options on tubing route, pump/res placing , how meny fittings you need, what kind of fittings do you need+++++
    add a drain port on the lowest part of it to get a easy and non spillage drainage of the fluid.

    heres the fans im using -> http://www.frozencpu.com/products/16...l?tl=g36c15s60
    they can be controlled by voltage ( witch im doing ).
    fancontroller is on 4v on the fans, pump ramps up the fans connected to the pump to full speed when it goes abow a certain temp.

    for just 2 fans you can controll them whit just the pump.
    it connects to the motherboard by USB interace to be controlled by software.

    this is what you want to look at when you buy fans for to be used on radiators -> Static Pressure: 1.997 mmH2O , i would say minimum 1.xx and upwards.

    Voltage Range: 3.4 - 12.0 V DC <- start voltage and max voltage. just look in the specs and you will see :P

    http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l1/g30/Liquid_Cooling.html
    take a look tru this page and see what you would get and post it up and ill look over it tomorrow after work.
    just post the links on here so its easyer to go and look.
    Will do, thanks kkn. Btw you have some nice equipment there, that pump could power my aquarium, lol.
    Case: CM Styker Mobo: Asus R4BE CPU: i7-4960x, Noctua DH-14 Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133 16GB CL 9 GPU: NVidia GTX 1080ti 11GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256 & 512GB HDD: WD Black 3TB, 500GB & Seagate GoFlex 3TB PSU: Corsair AX1000 KB: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Monitor: Alienware AW3418DW Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB Elite, MM800 Polaris RGB OS: WIN10 64

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razor2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l1/g30/Liquid_Cooling.html
    take a look tru this page and see what you would get and post it up and ill look over it tomorrow after work.
    just post the links on here so its easyer to go and look.
    I'm looking on FrozenCPU and PerformancePCs, if one doesn't have it usually the other does. Here's the kit I'm looking at ->http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...ducts_id=36039 These guys let you minus the copper CPU block, so that's a savings of $45. The 2-120mm fans are 1650rpm, SP is 1.8 (the 2000rpm fan is 3). I can get the PWM pumps for $18 more.
    Case: CM Styker Mobo: Asus R4BE CPU: i7-4960x, Noctua DH-14 Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133 16GB CL 9 GPU: NVidia GTX 1080ti 11GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256 & 512GB HDD: WD Black 3TB, 500GB & Seagate GoFlex 3TB PSU: Corsair AX1000 KB: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Monitor: Alienware AW3418DW Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB Elite, MM800 Polaris RGB OS: WIN10 64

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razor2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    This Monsoon res looks awesome:


    Case: CM Styker Mobo: Asus R4BE CPU: i7-4960x, Noctua DH-14 Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133 16GB CL 9 GPU: NVidia GTX 1080ti 11GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256 & 512GB HDD: WD Black 3TB, 500GB & Seagate GoFlex 3TB PSU: Corsair AX1000 KB: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Monitor: Alienware AW3418DW Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB Elite, MM800 Polaris RGB OS: WIN10 64

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array Razor2014's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    I'm wanting to add a RX360 rad in the bottom and also WC the GPU. It would be easier to do it now then later.
    Case: CM Styker Mobo: Asus R4BE CPU: i7-4960x, Noctua DH-14 Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133 16GB CL 9 GPU: NVidia GTX 1080ti 11GB
    SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256 & 512GB HDD: WD Black 3TB, 500GB & Seagate GoFlex 3TB PSU: Corsair AX1000 KB: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Monitor: Alienware AW3418DW Mouse: Corsair M65 RGB Elite, MM800 Polaris RGB OS: WIN10 64

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •