Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Maximus VI Formula Machine check error

    Hey Guys,

    I am getting a Machine check error bsod loop when trying to load into windows 8.1. I did not change anything the night before. I shutdown my pc and the next morning it started to do a auto repair loop with a bsod. I tried using my repair usb and same issue of bsod machine check error which means i cant reinstall windows 8. I hope it is not my processor gone bad. I tried using default bios settings. Could it be a bad psu? i have been having the pc have issues sometimes trying to power up and it acts like the power went out then works fine. could it be the psu cant handle the system? Gaming works fine. Ive had this new system for a little over 5-6months. Any help please!? I am lost on how to fix this.

    Specs:
    4770K overclocked to 4.5ghz
    1.4 v core
    16gb trident ram 1.65v
    sli gtx 570
    AX850 PSU

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    I see that your system is overclocked. Clear your CMOS and then proceed to load the optimized defaults in your BIOS to bring your system back to stock settings.

    Are you able to load Windows now?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    I see that your system is overclocked. Clear your CMOS and then proceed to load the optimized defaults in your BIOS to bring your system back to stock settings.

    Are you able to load Windows now?
    I cleared my CMOS still bsod even on loading of the usb install. I removed both rams sticks and only using one yet still same issue. Today after work I removed the CPU, delid it again and cleaned the inside, apply fresh CLP and paste on the waterblock. I checked for bend pins and reseated the CPU. Still no luck :/

    I tried using Ubuntu and it gave me a proper error of processor context corrupt so I set the cores down to just 3, disabled turbo, fast boot, secure boot, Hyper-threading, and enabled Intel virtualization and it booted just fine into Ubuntu. Same goes for Windows 8 usb. Wish i didn't format the SSD in my panic to fix my machine thinking my SSD just froze. At least my data is on a separate HDD.

    Sorry for these long post. I want to make sure i am detailed so the process is easy for both me and others in helping me solve this weird, annoying issue. I don't have the money atm to shell out for a new processor which im thinking is the issue. Never was a strong one to being with. Overclocking was horrible with this CPU.

    I will try slowly setting things back to default till find out if it was all of the settings that fixed it or just the fact that i disabled the one bad core on the CPU.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    So I got my system back up and running for now...Looks like the fourth core was the issue and disabling it my pc back up and running..for now. I guess this is my excuse to go buy a new 4790k when I have the funds. It baffles me that the core died. First time that happened to me. I wasn't running crazy overclock or anything 4.6ghz for a while then I bumped it down to 4.5 cause of stability and for the long run. I guess I just had a bad batch and the overclock killed the weak link.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    If it's a bad core, you might try a warranty RMA through Intel.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    If it's a bad core, you might try a warranty RMA through Intel.
    if only I had not delid my processor I would love too. Lol sucks for me but its working fine at the moment. Ive been gaming just fine and surfing which is all I need after a long day at work. When I have the funds I will fix it but for now meh. Not having a computer to help me unwind after work is not fun...
    Last edited by SRG_blackburn; 09-18-2014 at 02:11 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •