Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    New twist on double boot

    I understand the double boot is normal behavior after a cold boot or bios settings changes. My issue is windows starts to load on the first boot cycle, then the system reboots and on the second boot I get the windows failed to launch screen and it wants to do a system repair. How do I keep windows from loading that first boot so I don't get the error?

    Thanks.

    Maximus Hero vii v1104
    i7 4790k @ default
    16gb RAM @1333
    Windows 7 Pro SP1

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Did you update to the latest BIOS recently? If so, which method did you use?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    That is not the double boot in BIOS. Cold boot double boot happens immediately after switching power on..the board shuts down resets and powers up and boot continues as normal.You have some issue with OS/driver/storage...Try the system repair or do a clean install if it's easy enough...can you safe boot?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Did you update to the latest BIOS recently? If so, which method did you use?
    BIOS is 1104 via EZFlash2.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    That is not the double boot in BIOS. Cold boot double boot happens immediately after switching power on..the board shuts down resets and powers up and boot continues as normal.You have some issue with OS/driver/storage...Try the system repair or do a clean install if it's easy enough...can you safe boot?
    I should have stated in the original post, Windows is working fine once I'm booted up. The first time I got the system repair screen I did do a system repair which didn't seem to help. The machine boots into Windows fine if I leave the PSU on after shutdown or I haven't made any changes to BIOS settings.

    It seems to me that Windows is starting to load before that second boot from a cold boot. Which I don't think is supposed to happen. I'm getting the Windows splash screen before the machine resets.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by tpich; 08-30-2014 at 06:57 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    Hmm well if I were you I would flash the BIOS BIOS Flashback method. Download a fresh BIOS file and flash that.If that doesn't resolve the issue, if you can get to windows try safe boot and see if it still happens or try using restore point to a point in time when this wasn't happening...but if it coincides with BIOS flash I would try to make sure you have a clean BIOS flash first.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MatsGlobetrotter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    171

    I get some similar boot issues on my formula vi in certain scenarios. So far i have found that if my OS is on my pcie with UEFI and i reboot with a flashdiskor hd in the usb ports then it will double boot and try to either repair windows or go back in bios. This despite that i have not selected any usb as a boot disk. Only way for me to start the machine is then to disconnect all usb disks.
    It started with a VIC-20... and now it is. Maximus Formula VI Intel 4770K 4.6GHz ASUS GTX780Ti 3GB Corsair Platinum Dominator 16GB 2400MHz Raid Express 240GB Samsung EVO 512 GB SSD Corsair 900D EK watercooling Corsair RM1000 ASUS PB278Q



  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Hmm well if I were you I would flash the BIOS BIOS Flashback method. Download a fresh BIOS file and flash that.If that doesn't resolve the issue, if you can get to windows try safe boot and see if it still happens or try using restore point to a point in time when this wasn't happening...but if it coincides with BIOS flash I would try to make sure you have a clean BIOS flash first.
    Updating the BIOS via Flashback method seems to have fixed the issue for me. The first couple of restarts didn't go so well. System was hanging at the BIOS screen. After I went into the BIOS and loaded the optimized default settings, it seems to be booting properly now.

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,670

    OK, cool beans...good to hear...hope that has fixed it...keep an eye on it

    Have you set up XMP for your RAM? maybe take a look at chino's guide

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?39185-Memory-Setup-Guide-For-Maximus

    Motherboard defaults will run RAM at 1333...XMP will run it at rated speed and timings if different from 1333...
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 08-31-2014 at 07:52 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I spoke too soon. I'm still having the same issue. It did boot a couple of times from a cold state just fine. Not sure what happened as I never made any changes.

    I'm now doing a clean install of Windows to see if that will resolve this.

    I haven't tried any of the XMP settings yet as I'm just trying to get the machine to boot consistently for now.

    Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •