Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    installing ssd on G750JZ

    Hi, I am new here and I just bought a G750JZ yesterday.

    My model hard disk had only a 1TB hard disk and I wish to add in two 128GB SSD (Samsung 840 PRO) into my laptop.

    I had read some post and see some video tutorial but to be honest, I am not a pro in pc hardware and software.

    I need some advice on how to backup the OS and restore in my new SSD, and how do I install and configure my ssd setting to raid 0 ?

    thanks.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I end up buying a 256 samsung pro ssd at the end. Just wondering is it possible for me to slot in my ssd in the empty slot and start migrating the data using the software by samsung (instead doing the asus backtracker to a 16gb flash drive and transfer yo my ssd.) Any ideas ?

    I also saw a post that mention my ssd need to be boot and format before hand, would appreciate if anyone could explain further. Thanks !

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Wulff PC Specs
    Wulff PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170-A
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)4x4GB G.Skill TridentZ 3000MHZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Matrix GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi HD
    MonitorSamsung U28D590 UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS)
    Storage #22x256GB SanDisk SD6SP1M256G1102
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15s
    CaseSilent Base 800
    Power SupplyCorsair Rm850x
    Mouse Steelseries Kana
    Headset/Speakers KRK Rokit5
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link Dir-868L
    Accessory #2 WD Elements 5TB
    Accessory #3 Seagate Expansion Desk 4TB

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    190

    Whenever you buy a new hard drive it will come unformatted yes, but i think it should work if you clone your current windows partition to the new drive yes, although if it was my own laptop i would do a clean install myself instead of just copying everything to the new one, but thats me

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Wulff View Post
    Whenever you buy a new hard drive it will come unformatted yes, but i think it should work if you clone your current windows partition to the new drive yes, although if it was my own laptop i would do a clean install myself instead of just copying everything to the new one, but thats me
    Clean install means without asus bloatware? Is this possible without windows installation disc ?
    Thanks for replying btw !!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Wulff View Post
    although if it was my own laptop i would do a clean install myself instead of just copying everything to the new one, but thats me
    I would second this. I don't like cloning, I had troubles with it before.

    I would go for the clean install version by using ASUS Backtracker and a 16GB (or 32GB to be safe) flash drive. This will turn your flash drive into a bootable recovery drive that you can plug in to reinstall the windows 8 that comes with your laptop. This means that you will have the ROG Boot Logo and ASUS apps that came in with your laptop when you opened it for the first time after you install windows in your SSD through Backtracker.

    If you want to install a retail version of Windows - which would remove the ASUS boot logo, and other ASUS built-in software - then you can only do that if you have a copy of a retail version of Windows that you can buy in a computer store (which costs like $200 for Windows 8.1 Pro). Doing this method removes the ASUS factory version of Windows 8 and you may never get it back unless your laptop came with a recovery disc (which mine did not) OR have backed up the factory version in a flash drive using ASUS Backtracker. That way, if you ever choose to go back to the ASUS version, you can always reinstall it by booting your flashdrive.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Wulff PC Specs
    Wulff PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170-A
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)4x4GB G.Skill TridentZ 3000MHZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Matrix GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi HD
    MonitorSamsung U28D590 UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS)
    Storage #22x256GB SanDisk SD6SP1M256G1102
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15s
    CaseSilent Base 800
    Power SupplyCorsair Rm850x
    Mouse Steelseries Kana
    Headset/Speakers KRK Rokit5
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link Dir-868L
    Accessory #2 WD Elements 5TB
    Accessory #3 Seagate Expansion Desk 4TB

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    190

    The boot logo is part of the uefi bios and will not be removed if you do a clean install of win8, and all the asus software that came with the laptop is available for download if you need it, so i didnt need to backup my asus factory settings with the weird size formatted hdd's and all A installation disc for windows 8.1 is actually not that hard to find just make sure it is a reatail version instead of a volume license version (vl) if you download the retail version you can make a bootable usb with a program like rufus for example.

    have a look here if you need some more information about it: http://forum.maxgeeks.net/showthread.php?t=165

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    320

    @Wulff: +1, logo will always be there.

    for original windows install its better if you can get the 'SL' (single language) version windows to do a clean install.
    it will pick up the number from your bios as you install and automagically activate as soon as you are online.
    clean install is always better than installing the standard (old) drivers and updating them all.
    Asus G750JX-CV050H||GTX770M||24GB ram||120hz 3D screen||
    1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD||500GB Crucial M4 SSD in DVD Bay
    free bag and mouse
    win 8.1||win 7||win xp||server 2008||os x mavericks||linux mint 16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •