Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    x99 Deluxe and 3 way SLi

    Can someone explain to me the recommended slots to use for 3 way SLi under the new X99 Deluxe? I am reusing my 3xTitan from my Rampage Extreme Black to x99 Deluxe. I have EK waterblocks and Bridge installed, and they are evenly spaced, and were running at 16/16/8 on the Black Board.

    But some how, the new X99 board is telling me that to get to 16/16/8 speed, I need to use Slow 1, 3, and 5! And if you look at the board spacing 1, 3, and 5 will make a very strange spacing, the waterblock's bridge will not work, the nice EVGA 3 way SLI connector won't work. The spacking between 1 and 3 is HUGE (there is this 4x slot and a slot in between slot 1 and 3) So, I am stuck using 1, 2, and 4, and stuck under 8/8/8 speed. Whoever designing this needs to get a big smack on the head.

    So, please tell me that I can adjust the speed under the BIOS (which is not possible at this moment).

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array <!> PC Specs
    <!> PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Sabertooth X79
    Processor3930K @ 4.5GHZ
    Memory (part number)8x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600MHZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce GTX 680 2GB
    Graphics Card #3Geforce GTX 550 Ti 1GB (Physx)
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 512GB x 2 RAID0
    Storage #221TB NAS
    CPU CoolerCustom WC loop
    CaseAntec 1100 (modded)
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    OS Main PC: Windows 7 x64; NAS, router: FreeBSD
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    EVGA's Pro 3-way SLI bridge will work with 2 slot spacing videocards. You can either go with the ASUS's included SLI bridge, or install your cards in slots 1, 2, and 4, but you'll end up running your cards in 16x+8x+8x mode.

  3. #3
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    This is dependent on the CPU you have. With 40 PCIe lane slots 1, 3 and 5 can be used for x16, x16, x8 or slots 1, 2 and 4 for x8, x8, x8. With a 28 lane CPU slots 1, 2 and 4 only for x8, x8, x8.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Weird! Just been looking at that manual and the RVE manual...both have strange combinations listed...RVE has tri SLI as x16x8x8 whereas RIVBE was x16x8x16....deluxe seems to have same x16x8x8 if you go with PCIe slots 1,3,5

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    This is dependent on the CPU you have. With 40 PCIe lane slots 1, 3 and 5 can be used for x16, x16, x8 or slots 1, 2 and 4 for x8, x8, x8. With a 28 lane CPU slots 1, 2 and 4 only for x8, x8, x8.
    My issue is not what CPU. I have 5960x. The problem at hand is that the spacing of the recommended slots (1, 3, 5) are un-uniform. This resulting in having to use the "Flexible" 3 way SLi cable and throw away the nice clean EK waterblock bridge. Just a fair warning to all those users out there using 3 way SLi, you either use 8/8/8 or have the system under some weird spacing with some "hack" together links to the waterblocks. For the past 5+ years, this is the first motherboard I've used that the optimal 3 way SLi slots are under a 4 way SLi spacing.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array lordofwater PC Specs
    lordofwater PC Specs
    Motherboardam3890gxh
    Processoramd phenom 810
    Memory (part number)8bg 1666
    Graphics Card #1asus gtx 560
    MonitorSyncMaster s24b350
    Storage #12TB seagate
    Casesigmatek elysium
    Power SupplyOcz Stealth xtreem 600w
    Keyboard Logitech Elitè Keyboard
    Mouse Razer lachesis
    OS Windows 10 pro

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    82

    so you think that Asus X99 Deluxe and the Asus X99 Rampage V Extreme are considerated a hardcore gamers motherboards right?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array The Veterant PC Specs
    The Veterant PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS-X99-Deluxe,Bios-3101
    ProcessorIntel- i7 5960X, OC-4.5Ghz @1.280V, Xeon e5 2696 V4
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15Q2-128GRKD @15-15-15-35-2T
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 HC - BC@ 1550Mhz
    MonitorASUS ROG Swif - PG278Q
    Storage #1400GB Intel 750 NVMe PCI-e SSD
    Storage #2512GB Samsung XP941-M.2 Pci-e SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Elite Supremacy W/ AquaComputer AirPlex Rad.
    CaseOsidian 650D
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Gaming
    Mouse SENSEI - 62150
    Headset Logitech Sound System
    OS Windows 10 Pro in a UEFI setup
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U firw.84950
    The Veterant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    243

    Well I couldn't 4 the RVE, either the egg to slow making request for need it merchandize or ASUS to slow making them. But I went ahead and bought the X99 Deluxe with the King and not Lebron James, with the i7 5960X the PAPI of CPUs, along with that some Vengeance 16GB 2666Mhz 1.2 volt Mem so I got my purchase and I'm waiting to decide to buy a TITAN Black or wait for the GTX 980, but I need to put together this setup to test it and see if everything is working before the 30 days period cause that egg don't let PUERTO RICO people buy extended warranty that's sucks!. But anyways that's how American Companies treat American Soldier down here in PR after defended their democracy for them have a comfort live while sleep, that's sucks too. "Such is Live". ha ha ha LOL.
    "I'm not an OCer just looking a good MENTOR". UyqtCojoXecQlo.".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •