Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array mindsignals PC Specs
    mindsignals PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.5GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 Series 2666MHz (4X8G GSKILL F4-2666C15Q-32GRR)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti icx SC2 11G-P4-6593-KR
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080ti icx SC2 11G-P4-6593-KR
    Sound Cardbuilt-in for optical, FiiO E17 USB DAC for headphones
    Monitor3 x ASUS ROG Swift PG278Q 144hz 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Main: Samsung 850 Pro-Series 2.5" 512GB SATA III (Gaming: Samsung 840 Evo 2.5" 1TB SATA III)
    Storage #2Other: Crucial M500 (Media: Seagate SV35 3TB 7200RPM SATA 6-Gb/s NCQ 64MB Cache 3.5")
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 6 heatpipe with Dual NF-A15 140mm/120mm fans
    CaseSilverstone Extended-ATX Tek Aluminum Full Tower, Silver FT04S-W
    Power SupplyEVGA 120-G2-1600-X1 1600W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI 80 PLUS GOLD
    Keyboard MaxKeyboard Nighthawk X9 (Cherry MX Red switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Wired
    Headset Sennheiser G4MEZERO Black 150-Ohm Closed
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha RX-V475 to Klipsch/Pioneer 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard
    Accessory #2 PS4 Controller with DS4Windows 360 emulation
    Accessory #3 Saitek X52 (Standard)

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Mixed Nvidia cards for 3 x PG278Q ok or not?

    I have my PG278Q on order and am considering two more for surround. However, in the interests of conserving money would it work if I ran the two surround panels each on a 3GB 780ti and the main on a 6GB Titan? Obviously, since these must run off the displayport, none of the cards would be SLI. However, I don't know if the drivers would prevent it from operating in this manner (at least with G-Sync).

    Alternatively, can the surround panels be 120 hz 2560 x 1440 panels? Or would the peripheral panels being different from the main be too large of a drawback? If I wanted to use 3D surround, would it work in that scenario (if all 3 are 120+ hz capable) since the cards would not be in SLI?

    I have not used SLI before, so I'm not sure of all the restrictions although I have read through the information I've been able to find.

    Also, where are the driver patches posted that would enable nvidia surround on 3 x PG278Q?

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hello mindsignals

    Yes you can mix nvidia graphics cards for multiple monitor displays but you can't SLI them. If all three monitors are 120hz, I wouldn't see why you couldn't do that.

    I don't think there are any patches for 3d surround, It's already with the nvidia driver, you just set it up in the nvidia control panel.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array mindsignals PC Specs
    mindsignals PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.5GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 Series 2666MHz (4X8G GSKILL F4-2666C15Q-32GRR)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti icx SC2 11G-P4-6593-KR
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080ti icx SC2 11G-P4-6593-KR
    Sound Cardbuilt-in for optical, FiiO E17 USB DAC for headphones
    Monitor3 x ASUS ROG Swift PG278Q 144hz 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Main: Samsung 850 Pro-Series 2.5" 512GB SATA III (Gaming: Samsung 840 Evo 2.5" 1TB SATA III)
    Storage #2Other: Crucial M500 (Media: Seagate SV35 3TB 7200RPM SATA 6-Gb/s NCQ 64MB Cache 3.5")
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 6 heatpipe with Dual NF-A15 140mm/120mm fans
    CaseSilverstone Extended-ATX Tek Aluminum Full Tower, Silver FT04S-W
    Power SupplyEVGA 120-G2-1600-X1 1600W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI 80 PLUS GOLD
    Keyboard MaxKeyboard Nighthawk X9 (Cherry MX Red switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Wired
    Headset Sennheiser G4MEZERO Black 150-Ohm Closed
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha RX-V475 to Klipsch/Pioneer 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard
    Accessory #2 PS4 Controller with DS4Windows 360 emulation
    Accessory #3 Saitek X52 (Standard)

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Thanks, Nate.
    I appreciate it!

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hello mindsignals

    Yes you can mix nvidia graphics cards for multiple monitor displays but you can't SLI them. If all three monitors are 120hz, I wouldn't see why you couldn't do that.

    I don't think there are any patches for 3d surround, It's already with the nvidia driver. You just set it up in the nvidia control panel.

  4. #4
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    for sli you have to run the same cards as in slot 1 to work.
    as of now its drivers they have to fix to get things stable and working i surround.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    for sli you have to run the same cards as in slot 1 to work.
    as of now its drivers they have to fix to get things stable and working i surround.
    Using the PG278Q is a hit or miss in SLI at the moment?

  6. #6
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    im not shure, but its the drivers.
    i havent seen enny one on here that i know of that runs surround whit em so far, exept the video posted in another link in this section.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    im not shure, but its the drivers.
    i havent seen enny one on here that i know of that runs surround whit em so far, exept the video posted in another link in this section.
    OK thanks... I will keep searching or will answer this when mine shows up at my doorstep

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    You cannot run them in SLI with Surround, because you can't use DP from each video card to power them *and* SLI. This is a driver limitation that NVIDIA is looking at fixing, since the narrow bezels make them great to advertise for Surround, and you'd need 3 cards to power a game at that resolution in surround, and definitely need that power for 3D Surround, since these monitors are capable of 1440p 3D, not just 1080p 3D.I'm not sure if they will work with Surround in your suggested configuration (1x Titan and 2x 780 Tis) to be honest. I'm not quite sure I've ever seen/heard of someone trying that..Not just any 120 Hz 1440P panel can be used for 3D Surround either. It has to be a supported 3D Vision monitor, to my knowledge, but I could be wrong.

  9. #9
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    on SLI you need 3 cards of the same, like 3x 780ti or 3x titan black's.
    mix 1 titan black and 2x 780 ti's will not work in sli.
    they MAY work in non sli but no guarantee at all from my side.
    if you look at the vid posted in a link "surround live demo" they have a 1+ hour talk about the swift and g-sync and another thing.

    only GPU's that can be mixed by generation is AMD, nvidia does not work like that.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array mindsignals PC Specs
    mindsignals PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme (BIOS 3504)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.5GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 Series 2666MHz (4X8G GSKILL F4-2666C15Q-32GRR)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti icx SC2 11G-P4-6593-KR
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080ti icx SC2 11G-P4-6593-KR
    Sound Cardbuilt-in for optical, FiiO E17 USB DAC for headphones
    Monitor3 x ASUS ROG Swift PG278Q 144hz 1440p G-Sync
    Storage #1Main: Samsung 850 Pro-Series 2.5" 512GB SATA III (Gaming: Samsung 840 Evo 2.5" 1TB SATA III)
    Storage #2Other: Crucial M500 (Media: Seagate SV35 3TB 7200RPM SATA 6-Gb/s NCQ 64MB Cache 3.5")
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 6 heatpipe with Dual NF-A15 140mm/120mm fans
    CaseSilverstone Extended-ATX Tek Aluminum Full Tower, Silver FT04S-W
    Power SupplyEVGA 120-G2-1600-X1 1600W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI 80 PLUS GOLD
    Keyboard MaxKeyboard Nighthawk X9 (Cherry MX Red switches)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Wired
    Headset Sennheiser G4MEZERO Black 150-Ohm Closed
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha RX-V475 to Klipsch/Pioneer 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard
    Accessory #2 PS4 Controller with DS4Windows 360 emulation
    Accessory #3 Saitek X52 (Standard)

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    It would be the same generation, but I'm thinking about 3 x PG278Q with 1 Titan and 2 x 780ti driving the surrounds (none of the three would be in SLI). However, if it seems iffy w/r to whether or not it would work with the sides being driven by a 3 GB card (each), it may make more sense to hold off.

    I don't know if I'll like the 3D effect or not, so the main driving factors for me are 1440p, G-Sync, Surround, and then 3D in that order of precedence.

    I did watch that video referenced above in the thread (provided as a response to my first posted question on the forums) in its entirety and it was very clear that the cards can't be run in SLI for surround (unless you have 4 cards...maybe) as 3 cards must each be dedicated individually for the display ports as noted in a prior reply due to that being the only port (that can drive the PG278Q's resolution and maximum frequency).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •