Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Why in the left drive bay?

    Everywhere I look it says to place the boot drive in the left drive bay (from when you are looking at the back of it), why is that? Is that faster? According to windows, that is actually bay 1 while the empty slot is bay 0.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Kristian221 View Post
    Everywhere I look it says to place the boot drive in the left drive bay (from when you are looking at the back of it), why is that? Is that faster? According to windows, that is actually bay 1 while the empty slot is bay 0.
    Kristian221, nice sleuthing

    The misconception is that it matters which position you put the drive in. It is relative to how it was originally configured / shipped, and can be changed.

    When I describe how to swap the HD for an SSD, I say to pull out the HDD boot drive, and replace it with the new SSD. So depending on how Asus installed the original boot HD, it could be either Bay 0 or 1, Left/Middle Bay or Right/Edge Bay

    The main boot drive used to be put mostly in the Middle/Left Bay, or Bay 1, but Asus sometimes ships the G750 with the boot drive in the outside edge bay, or Edge/Right Bay 0.

    To confuse things, the JH/JZ/(JS) has a daughter card to hold the M.2 NGFF SATA SSD's for the RAID0 in the Middle/Left Bay, the port numbers are (as I recall) 2 and 4, while the "2nd Bay" or Edge/Right Bay is actually electrically Bay/Port 0.

    The BIOS will find the bootable drive whichever Bay it is in, but it is easiest to keep the established order in place by keeping the boot bay the same across HDD / SSD upgrades.

    What is important, is that in some of the (Best Buy?, Other??) models, only one of the Bay's is SATA III, while the other is SATA II - you can use a program like HWinfo64, AIDA Engineer, or others to determine the interface capability.

    Typically the SATA III bay is the Middle/Left bay as Bay 1, so if your boot drive is in the Edge/Right Bay 0, and you establish that Bay 1 in your particular model is SATA III, and Bay 0 is SATA II, you may get some performance improvement by migrating the drive from Bay 0 to Bay 1, from SATA II to SATA III, or the reverse - depending on your model specifics.

    You pull the 2nd non-boot drive and leave it out, move the boot drive into Bay 0 and boot on it. Then after the BIOS reconfigures and you test if there really is an improvement you can put the 2nd drive back in the G750.

    My JH has SATA III for both SSD ports and the 2nd Bay, Edge/Right Bay.

    I hope that cleared things up
    Last edited by hmscott; 09-04-2014 at 11:32 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Thank you very much sir! So I guess it does not matter which bay I place them in since I am doing a fresh install of Windows.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Kristian221 View Post
    Thank you very much sir! So I guess it does not matter which bay I place them in since I am doing a fresh install of Windows.
    Kristian221, right, in the end you really need to pull both drives anyway, as the Asus Backtracker recovery flash drive will blow away all the partitions of the internal drives it finds, so you can put the SSD in either Bay. As I said, it is good to know before hand which Bay(s) are SATA III / II so you can put the boot drive in a SATA III Bay.

    Please come back and let us know how your G750 is configured, and how it goes for the upgrade.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •