Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 47
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    ok, good point...although the 780t case has 40mm of space back there, probably better not to risk it

    well, i've re-thought my options on pump/res...and i think i can fit an aquero 6 xt into the lower of the two 5.25" bays: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13...86&mv_pc=59000

    to make the most of that, i'm also looking at adding the following:

    res: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/14...86&mv_pc=59001

    pump: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/15...86&mv_pc=58998

    flow meter: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/16...86&mv_pc=58999

    temp sensors x2 (at both rad outflows): http://www.frozencpu.com/products/21...86&mv_pc=58997

    pump would be aligned with its inflow pointing up at the bottom of the res (so the yellow part would be facing the bottom of the case) - don't really care for the looks of it, but it seems to be the best

    not sure where to mount the flow meter, or if i even need it with all the gizmos on the pump

    heh heh, aquacomputer sure is expensive!

    btw, turns out bitspower is a taiwanese company - lol
    (oh, and it gets down to about 10deg celcius here in the winter...in summer, my little office at home is air-conditioned to about 22deg)

  2. #22
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    pump, just forget it, you will not have space in the case.
    becouse, front = inlet and top = outlet.
    go for the pump/res combo.
    for using this pump you have to custom make a stand for it.
    take a look at the first build i had and you will see how big it realy is.

  3. #23
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Some Brilliant info.

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    pump, just forget it, you will not have space in the case.
    becouse, front = inlet and top = outlet.
    go for the pump/res combo.
    for using this pump you have to custom make a stand for it.
    take a look at the first build i had and you will see how big it realy is.
    ahh, ok... i'm kind of relieved actually - lol

    i thought it was overkill and didn't really like the yellow on the casing -- i know it's big, but i had checked the dimensions (LxHxW : 112 x 72 x 52mm) in this thread: http://www.specialtechforums.co.uk/s...12v-ULTRA-PUMP

    will switch back to the d5 pwm, and i guess i do have a use for that aquacomputer flow meter now =)

    one thing i'm wondering about the aquero 6 xt...i know that there are 4 pwm-capable fan headers on it, and that each of those 4 channels can support 30+ watts, so it can easily allow me to plug in all the fans i have planned...but what do you use to connect all the fans you want on one channel to that single header? or what do you recommend? i imagine it's a splitter of some kind, but i'm confused as to which...because the pwm-type splitters i've seen have their own power supply and are supposed to plug into the motherboard's cpu fan header

    i couldn't find anything about it here: http://www.specialtechforums.co.uk/s...aquaero-6-!!!!

    finally, depending on what i hear back from gghoost's install this weekend...i think i will have a problem with the space (5.25" bays) around the upper rad and fans -- some options might be to put a 360mm rad up there but with only five 120mm fans in push/pull (would leave the bottom fan nearest the bays off - what do you think? other options would be to mount three 280mm rads at top, front and bottom...but i'm not keen on this idea because of diminishing returns on so many rads, as well as losing performance with 140mm pwm fans (the more i look at the e-loops, the more i like them)

    once again...thank you, kkn

    gghoost, if you're still reading this...could you please let me know which 360mm rad you're planning on using at the top of your case? also, could you see how it lines up with the holes in the front panel, please? i know that any rad with a length of 400mm+ is too big to line up with the front holes (at the top), but i'm wondering if there's a way to mount a 360mm in the front with the ports at the bottom...or exactly how much clearance i'd need (399mm or less, etc) to mount a 360mm there with the ports at the top -- thanks a lot

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    oh, and of course you were right about the oc panel fan headers =)

    Raja@ASUS
    Yesterday at 6:23 am
    Hi,

    1) OC Panel headers are non-controllable and work at full speed only. They are really only for benchmarking guys that need a few extra headers available when they are running 4 GPUs on Ln2.

    2) The CPU_OPT is simply a mirror of the CPU Fan header. It will copy whatever curve the CPU FAN header is set to. It cannot be controlled independently.

    -Raja

  6. #26
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    each header on the fan controller can take 1amp from what i can say per now.
    and you can connect the fans together by Y-splitters.
    if you drop push/pull config, you can do thicker rads and bether cooling that way.
    top and front as intake and back and bottom as exhaust.

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/23..._PWM_10cm.html
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13...CBFA04-15.html
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/23...k_Sleeved.html
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13...CA-PWM-01.html

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Hey theMoP I found this video. From what i can see, the asus frontbay should not interfere with the rad
    Look at the pic with the red cirkel. You see how deep the front base goes into the case

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	186.6 KB 
ID:	41491

    Look at the 2nd video here about 0:43 http://www.overclock3d.net/articles/...oller_review/1

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    each header on the fan controller can take 1amp from what i can say per now.
    and you can connect the fans together by Y-splitters.
    if you drop push/pull config, you can do thicker rads and bether cooling that way.
    top and front as intake and back and bottom as exhaust.

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/23..._PWM_10cm.html
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13...CBFA04-15.html
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/23...k_Sleeved.html
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/13...CA-PWM-01.html
    ok, i think i understand...

    so just daisy-chain the y-splitters, thusly:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	y-split.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	13.5 KB 
ID:	41490

    should be ok...

    reviewer had this on the four channels:
    For the purpose of this review I have a EK DDC 3.2 PWM X-Top 18w (which incidentally is a great little pump) Pump connected to the Fan 1 slot & have 6 x ARTIC F12 PWM Fans on slot 2. All other fans connected are Conventional Voltage controlled (just to show the Aquaero 6 can do the both types at once)…..On the other Fan slots I had 6 x XSPC 2000rpm fans connected to slot 3 & 3 x Corsair (Standard Case fans) connected to slot 4. All these were undervolted for quietness (& to stress the VRM’s as they would’ve been on an AQ5 unit). So that makes 1 x PWM pump & 15 Fans in total (wanted to add more but waiting for another 12 XSPC fans to come back into stock here at ST Towers Shop).

    I did some OC’ing on my CPU & GPU as well as running the Review 900D for several hours on each, Ramping the fans up & down like a whores knickers, Used various speed settings on the PWM Pump and never had the New Aquaero 6XT New VRM’s getting above the 27°c (without the New Heatsink on) & Only 26°c with the New Heatsink on… This was while the room temp was 24°c…..So going by this & remembering that one slot was also running an 18w Pump, this is indeed a fantastic improvement from the temps I would have expected from using the AQ5 (even with water block cooling)…
    http://www.specialtechforums.co.uk/s...aquaero-6-!!!!

    e-loops are 6-12 v dc @ 0.16a each, so max 1.92w per fan (max 6.25 fans into 1 amp per channel - over 15 fans max @ 1.92w at 30w per channel)
    d5 pwm pump is 8-24 v dc @ 2a (up to 37w max)...but it also has its own power through a molex from the psu

    awesome!

    thank you for the links to the splitters! some are confusing though: gelid's description says max of five fans; darkside's description says 3-pin pwm; akasa's and ek's both say rpm-sensing will only work from one strand of the splitter through the motherboard - hmm

    this also makes me wonder what the motherboard will think if there's nothing plugged into the cpu fan header - will it even boot if it doesn't detect a cpu cooler attached to that header?

    the problem with a thicker rad on the top of the 780t is that only fans fit (~25-30mm) under the top cover, so any rad has to be mounted under that - a thicker rad there with either pull or push fans (exhaust or intake, respectively) under the top cover would just make the blockage of the bays worse, afaik -- i'll figure something out - lol

    thanks again for all your patience, kkn

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    nice find, gghoost!

    thanks for that...please keep me posted as to your 780t discoveries - you're my only pipeline to direct case/rad info! =)

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Of course I will. It might take some time, because I ordered the front base with the gtx 980 and rams so until I get them I can mount the front base. But the rads will be in the case Saturday... I hope :-P

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •