Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    RVE won't POST (Code 61)

    Hi guys,
    I can't get my RVE to POST properly... getting code 61 all the time.
    In my last rig (with RIVE) the GPUs and the PSU worked perfectly fine.

    Specs:
    • 5930K
    • Rampage V Extreme
    • 2x 16GB kit of Dominator Platinum 2800
      (CMD16GX4M4A2800C16)
    • 2x GTX Titans
    • Corsair AX860i


    Here is what I've tried so far:
    • tried every RAM stick on its own (in the leftmost red socket)
    • connected the 24pin and 4pin instead of 24pin and 8pin
    • flashed BIOS 1 to the latest 0603
    • switched to BIOS 2
    • tried every onboard button (clear CMOS, Mem OK, Reset, ...)
    • changed the battery
    • disconnected the PSU and removed the battery for 6 hours (when I came back the onboard lights where still alight??)
    • did a PSU self test
    • tried another PSU
    • tried another wall power outlet
    • disconnected everything from power except the 24 and 8pin plug
    • disabled PCI-E lanes in various combinations
    • connected the EZ Plug 1 >> board powers on and immediately off again (code 00 flashes for some milliseconds)


    What else could I try?

    Edit: Added RAM model no
    Last edited by Gishan; 09-20-2014 at 05:47 PM.
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Try replacing the CMOS battery with a new one.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Try replacing the CMOS battery with a new one.
    Allready tried that - still the same code 61.
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Perfect. Do the following.

    1. Disconnect all the power cables from your motherboard.
    2. Remove the CMOS battery.
    3. Push the Start button to discharge any remaining power from the motherboard.
    4. After waiting for 10 minutes, put the CMOS battery back into place.
    5. Connect the 24 pin, 8 pin and 4 pin power cables.
    6. Clear your CMOS.
    7. Reflash your BIOS with the USB BIOS Flashback procedure with the latest 0603 BIOS.
    8. Let it finish then power up your system.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    Did exactly what you've told me, but still code 61.

    Just to be save: is it enough to push the Clr CMOS button once or do I have to do something else so that it isn't alight?
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    I think I'll try everything you've said again.
    But this time I'll leave it powerless overnight. (it's 10pm where I am)

    I'll report on this tomorrow!
    Thanks for your help so far!
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    If the problem persists, try flashing to the 0005 beta BIOS for the meantime and see if that resolves your problem.
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0Bz2V...28yMk0/preview

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    So the whole system was powerless for 10 hours, flashed 0005 and still code 61.
    After that I've tried to flash 0603 and 0005 on BIOS chip 2, but still the same problem.

    Hope you got another idea I could try...
    I don't want to disassemble the whole build.

    Edit: Added a video of the codes when I press MEMOk - the codes flashing up (14, ...) do not matter or do they?
    http://gfycat.com/CompassionateFinishedJoey
    Last edited by Gishan; 09-21-2014 at 10:51 AM.
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    I see that you're using the custom colored cables for your PSU. Can you please verify your connections for me? Check to see if all cables are plugged in correctly and that you are using the correct ones. Also I would like you to disconnect the power cables to one of your GPUs. If it doesn't work then replug that one and unplug the other one.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    44

    The colored cables are the original ones from Corsair (AX860i) - nothing changed since my last build.
    During all the previous tests only the top GPU was plugged in. Even tried switching off the unused PCI-E lanes.

    Normally I have only the 24pin and 8pin connected (same as in my last build). But to be save I tried connecting the 4pin also - with no effect.
    I also tried the other GPU now - but still the same code 61.

    Is there any way to narrow it down which component is faulty? (RAM or board)
    Bought every component at a different retailer, so I'd like to know which component I would have to send back.

    This is only if you are out of ideas of course - would be glad if there is something else I could do.
    CPU: 5930K @ 4.5 GHz, GPUs: 2x GTX Titan, Mobo: Rampage V Extreme, Ram: 32GB Dominator 2800
    Sound: Essence STX & SP 2500, HDDs: 1x Samsung 830, 2x 840 Evo, PSU: Corsair AX860i, Case: 900D
    Cooling: Full custom w/c loop (CPU, both GPUs), Build Log: http://linustechtips.com/main/topic/...00d-titan-sli/

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •