Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Cannot change brightness settings G750JM

    When I first got my notebook the brightness was working just fine. Throught the course of troubleshooting an issue with horizontal lines on the screen (which I was able to fix) I could not change the brightness at all on the notebook. This means the hotkeys don't work, windows can't change the brightness, and I have turned off all of the possible places that auto brightness could be active noted on this link: http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials...ndows-8-a.html

    I have tried installing the oldest drivers Asus recommends on the download page but I have not had success. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

    Does anyone know of a piece of software I may have uninstalled that could cause this to happen? I'd rather not reinstall the OS if I don't have to.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Prostar Computer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    462

    It's hard to offer input considering we don't know what "through the course of troubleshooting" encompasses.

    And when you say you tried installing the oldest drivers Asus recommends, which drivers are you referring to?

    I understand a recovery or format + reload of Windows isn't ideal, but it may very well save you time in troubleshooting.
    We customize Asus, MSI, and Clevo laptops!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,651

    Did you recently install a new NVIDIA driver..?

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Kelusion PC Specs
    Kelusion PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G750JZ
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JZA
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7 2.5GHZ - 3.5GHZ 4710HQ Processor
    Memory (part number)Samsung M471B1G73QH0-YK0 - 32GB DDR3L SDRAM
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX880M 4GB GDDR5 VRAM (Auto-Overclocked)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio
    MonitorSasmung 55' Smart U9000, Samsung Syncmaster S24B300
    Storage #1512GB SSD
    Storage #21.5 TB HDD 7200 RPM
    CPU CoolerStock
    CaseStock
    Power SupplyStock
    Keyboard Corsair RGB K70 (2014)
    Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core Gaming Mouse
    Headset Beats Studio Pro
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro - 64Bit
    Network RouterCisco
    Kelusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Quote Originally Posted by Mountian Man View Post
    When I first got my notebook the brightness was working just fine. Throught the course of troubleshooting an issue with horizontal lines on the screen (which I was able to fix) I could not change the brightness at all on the notebook. This means the hotkeys don't work, windows can't change the brightness, and I have turned off all of the possible places that auto brightness could be active noted on this link: http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials...ndows-8-a.html

    I have tried installing the oldest drivers Asus recommends on the download page but I have not had success. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

    Does anyone know of a piece of software I may have uninstalled that could cause this to happen? I'd rather not reinstall the OS if I don't have to.
    Well you might have uninstalled the Hotkey related software which came along withit, nonetheless it would have helped a lot more, if we knew what did you removed and what did you did in-order to fix the Horizontal Lines issue?

    You can go to the official Asus Driver Support webpage and install the following,

    1- ATKACPI driver and hotkey-related utilities (Expand ATK - Version V1.0.0033)
    2- Keyboard Device Filter Utility (Expand Utilities - Version V1.0.0.5)

    From here - http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...50JM&p=3&s=521

    Restart your system and check it out, let us know if this resolves it or not.
    Where to find latest Asus Rog G750/751 drivers?

    Please use search in the forums, there might be alot of threads which have similar answers to what you are looking for!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I finally figured out the problem and this appears to be a general windows 8.1 problem not specific to ASUS computers...

    Basically if Windows installs too many Monitor drivers in the device manager it somehow causes windows not to be able to adjust the brightness.

    Go to Device Manager, under View select "Show Hidden Devices", go to the "Display Adaptors" and disable all video card drivers, go to the section "Monitors" and delete all monitors listed (windows can reinstall them if needed). After you re-enable the video card drivers brightness began working again. I believe this is a problem with ACPI and device detection on windows...

    Hope this helps anyone else experiencing this sort of problem...I believe this caused "flashing" (the monitor turned on and off really fast after windows login) on a completely different laptop that had an Nvidia dedicated graphics card with the intel 4000 onboard...

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Mountian Man View Post
    I finally figured out the problem and this appears to be a general windows 8.1 problem not specific to ASUS computers...

    Basically if Windows installs too many Monitor drivers in the device manager it somehow causes windows not to be able to adjust the brightness.

    Go to Device Manager, under View select "Show Hidden Devices", go to the "Display Adaptors" and disable all video card drivers, go to the section "Monitors" and delete all monitors listed (windows can reinstall them if needed). After you re-enable the video card drivers brightness began working again. I believe this is a problem with ACPI and device detection on windows...

    Hope this helps anyone else experiencing this sort of problem...I believe this caused "flashing" (the monitor turned on and off really fast after windows login) on a completely different laptop that had an Nvidia dedicated graphics card with the intel 4000 onboard...
    Mountian Man, nice find/fix

    I checked and I have 1 hidden duplicate Generic PnP Monitor as well!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	device manager showing hidden monitor device.JPG 
Views:	86 
Size:	34.1 KB 
ID:	41874

    I don't have any display issues that I have noticed, and I can set brightness ok too.

    How many did you have showing as hidden before deleting them?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I had 9 showing up origionally. Everytime the laptop is connected to a screen it creates a new driver object. One of the drivers must have somehow become corrupt. I don't nessassarly think it was all of them that caused the problem, just one specific instance where the driver either did not install correctly, or was connected to the active monitor driver in a way it was not supposed to be.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Mountian Man View Post
    I had 9 showing up origionally. Everytime the laptop is connected to a screen it creates a new driver object. One of the drivers must have somehow become corrupt. I don't nessassarly think it was all of them that caused the problem, just one specific instance where the driver either did not install correctly, or was connected to the active monitor driver in a way it was not supposed to be.
    Mountian Man, sounds right. I only had 2, but oddly I haven't connected to an external monitor since rebuilding the RAID0 - I wonder how it got 2 builtin monitor entries? I deleted it and rebooted, it's still gone.

    Thanks for the heads up on the issue/fix

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Mountian Man, I thought "hey, maybe there are other hidden devices from other updates / installs", and then I looked...

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lots of hiidden devices....JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	164.2 KB 
ID:	41878

    I wonder if there is a quick way to clean these up... remove all hidden devices?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    It turns out there is a way to find and remove all the hidden devices, or Ghosts as this program Ghostbuster calls them.

    Remove/Uninstall Hidden(Ghosted) Devices
    http://www.addictivetips.com/windows...osted-devices/

    https://ghostbuster.codeplex.com/

    I had 179 Chosts! And, 129 actual devices:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ghostbuster G750JH 179 Ghosts found.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	272.3 KB 
ID:	41880

    I right clicked on each Ghost, Selected Add Device, and sometimes whole groups of Ghosts got added to be removed and sometimes it was 1 Device / Ghost at a time.

    I did it in several passes and made Restore Checkpoints, but nothing went wrong, and now I have a clean device list.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ghostbuster G750JH 179 Ghosts found and removed.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	277.3 KB 
ID:	41881

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Device manager - no hidden devices showing after using Ghostbuster.JPG 
Views:	72 
Size:	32.7 KB 
ID:	41882

    So far everything is still working
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-07-2014 at 12:35 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •