Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Post Need help with RAM instalation

    Hi!
    MaveR here.
    I have asus g73jh can I install 2gb+2gb+4gb+4gb of ram in it?
    Would be really appreciated for advise

    Peace

  2. #2
    ROG MarsII Owner Array ConkersGrillforce1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    231

    It is possible , but...
    - the RAM will operate at the speed of the slowest RAM module installed
    - it's possible that the system operates unstable with different RAM modules (there's a reason RAM packages with two or four modules are sold)
    - Dual-channel mode will work, but you need them to install in the correct RAM slots, otherwise it will operate in single-channel mode.
    Installation for G73Jh: 4Gb modules in slots 1 and 3, 2Gb modules in slots 2 and 4 Below you see, which slots has which number.

    Desktop: Xigmatek Elysium | Rampage IV Extreme | i7-3960X | G.Skill 32Gb DDR3 2133Mhz|fastest Asus MarsII on the planet core 950Mhz| Kingston HyperX SSD 240Gb + 300Gb Intel 300series SSD + Velociraptor 600Gb + 3TB HDD | Enermax Maxrevo 1500W| 3xDell U2412m |
    Laptop: Samsung 940X3G | i7-4500U | 8Gb RAM | 256Gb SSD | 13.3" 3200x1800 |

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Thanks a lot!!!
    Now I have al slots with 2gbs, and now I'll install 4gb in 1 and 3
    One more Q, will it imp

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Will this improve performance?
    What if I by SSD, will it improve performance?

  5. #5
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    ssd vs hdd = HUGE diffrence in boot time.
    but do remember to not over fill it.
    if it is os. the get 256gig since you always will instal things on there unless you know how to instal it on secont hdd/ssd whit larger space on.
    as for second storrage get 512+gig if its for games ++++++ witch will take up space.
    but it all depends on how mutch you will spend tho.

  6. #6
    ROG MarsII Owner Array ConkersGrillforce1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    231

    Quote Originally Posted by Misha View Post
    Thanks a lot!!!
    Now I have al slots with 2gbs, and now I'll install 4gb in 1 and 3
    One more Q, will it imp
    Quote Originally Posted by Misha View Post
    Will this improve performance?
    What if I by SSD, will it improve performance?
    What are the current specs of your G73Jh? CPU, GPU, RAM...? At best post a HWinfo summary screenshot. HWinfo.com
    Can you provide some information about the RAMs you're going to install additionally to the current ones?

    SSD definitely takes loading times to a new level, make sure you buy one with 240+Gb capacity, Crucial, Samsung and Kingston have some good models.
    I had an Intel 300Gb SSD and a 500Gb HDD in my G73Jw since then I always have an SSD for OS and often played games
    Desktop: Xigmatek Elysium | Rampage IV Extreme | i7-3960X | G.Skill 32Gb DDR3 2133Mhz|fastest Asus MarsII on the planet core 950Mhz| Kingston HyperX SSD 240Gb + 300Gb Intel 300series SSD + Velociraptor 600Gb + 3TB HDD | Enermax Maxrevo 1500W| 3xDell U2412m |
    Laptop: Samsung 940X3G | i7-4500U | 8Gb RAM | 256Gb SSD | 13.3" 3200x1800 |

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •