cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus VII Formula Sound Question

guicho
Level 7
Hi Everyone,
I have a question about the onboard sound for this MB. I have built PCs in the past and if any issues have come up, I have been able to solve them. This one though, it is a weird one. Any advise you can provide, I'd really appreciate it.
Here are my specs:
CPU - Intel Core i7 4790K
RAM - Total 16GB 2 * 8 Corsair Dual Channel DDR3 @ 666Mhz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard - ASUS maximus VII formula - Bios 0603 - 2014/07/14.
GPU - ATI AMD Radeon R9 270 Dual Series.
HD - SSD 840 EVO
Power Supply - Corsair 750W
OS - Windows 8.1 X64bit.

I am not an expert on the sounds field but I think i know the basics.
After I put everything together, I installed windows 8.1 x64. I went to the Asus website and downloaded the most recent drives/utilities for the MB. The Bios has been updated as well.
I have a home theater LG system 5.1, which I was using for my previous system (a Gigabyte one) and hooked it up to this one as well. Connection - optical SPDIF port. Once everything was installed, I noticed that playing music through windows media player, the sound is low and I only get sound from 2 speakers, the front ones. Any other sound in windows behaved the same way as well. I installed VLC and the same thing happened.
Surprisingly, when I launched Firefox and watched a video on youtube or listen to a radio station, all the speakers came alive. Anything on Firefox seemed to work properly.

I went into the Realtek HD manager program and looked at the settings. If my connection is optical SPIDF, it's able to recognize the LG as 5.1 surround sound but I am not able to configure any speakers at all. Within the program, only the DTS tab is enabled and the rest are disabled. I plugged in some headphones to test and the other tabs became available. So I thought, maybe the digital sound doesn't have that many options.