Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array sebbie PC Specs
    sebbie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS VII Impact
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX 16GB, 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Ares III
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerCustom cooling loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860I

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Maximus VII Impact, CPU red led lights on power up

    Hello All

    System:
    CPU: Intel I7-4770K
    MB: Asus Maximus VII Impact
    VGA: Asus Ares III
    RAM: Kingston HyperX 2400Mhz 2x8GB
    SSD: 1 x Samsung 840 pro 128GB & 1 x Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    PSU: Corsair AXi860w

    WC parts:
    CPU/MB blok: EK - ASUS M6I
    RAM blok EK - Monarch x 2 m. Ram modul og dertilhørende ny Clean CSQ Acetal top.
    Res + Pump: EK - Xres 100 m. Laing DDC 3.2 pumpe.
    Radiator 1 x Aphacool 240 30mm rad & 1x Alphacool 140 Monsta rad.
    Fittings: 13/10mm Bitspower black compression fittings
    Tubing: 13/10mm Primochill LRT flex tubing.


    I have recently done my WC build and i tried to power on the system.
    Everything start spinning except i dont get any display on my monitor only a black screen.

    I open up the MB and see that the CPU Red led is on.
    I searched forum etc. and contactet Asus on mail (havent got a respone yet)
    I just want to check if i can do some more things to see if it can be fixed now.


    I have done following things:
    Checked both 8 pin and 24 pin thats it were securely tighten in the connectors.
    Checked that the 8 pin were a CPU on not a PCIE one.
    I have tried unplugging cables one by one until i only had 24 pin and 8 pin and it still lid.
    Tried switching PSU and attach 24 pin/8 pin.
    I have pressed the CMOS reset button at the IO.
    The CPU should work since i had it from a previous build.


    I havent removed the block for looking if there is bend pin, i looked at it before i placed CPU in and if im not correct it seemed fine.
    The MOBO is bend a bit where the Graphic card is, dont know if thats the issue hmm.

    Do anyone have some thoughts whats wrong ?

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Arniebomba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    197

    Try using default settings in your bios. I have the same problem. If i start up in XMP, i get a black screen. When i start up in default, there's no problem. I hope this will get solved with a new bios update.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array sebbie PC Specs
    sebbie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS VII Impact
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX 16GB, 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Ares III
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerCustom cooling loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860I

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    Quote Originally Posted by Arniebomba View Post
    Try using default settings in your bios. I have the same problem. If i start up in XMP, i get a black screen. When i start up in default, there's no problem. I hope this will get solved with a new bios update.
    But i cant even get to the BIOS ? how should i then use default settings?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Arniebomba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    197

    Reset your bios.
    Though i have to say that even that doesnt work properly. I have to reset almost everytime before i can use my pc..

    Any tech staff that could help us out?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array sebbie PC Specs
    sebbie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS VII Impact
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX 16GB, 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Ares III
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerCustom cooling loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860I

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    I had a defect CPU, so now that issue is solved, i now have another issue so tired of this !

    When i start up PC it wont boot to windows log screen, i will have to go to BIOS and manually choose the SSD where i have installed windows.
    I also have another LED lid this time, now its the Bootdevice LED which is lid before i choose my SSD to boot to from BIOS then it disappears.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Arniebomba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    197

    Marshall? Raja? Anyone??

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array sebbie PC Specs
    sebbie PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS VII Impact
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX 16GB, 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Ares III
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerCustom cooling loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ITX
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860I

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    33

    I have found the solution !!

    Totally my fault.
    Since i have not installed a fan for the CPU header on my mobo, i keep getting the error when booting up, so i went to BIOS and disabled the CPU fan header since the rig is fully WC with a fancontroller and now it all WORKS ! so no defect Mobo so happy.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Arniebomba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    197

    Perfect!
    I'll open a thread for my problems later on.
    Enjoy your mobo!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •