Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    [HOW TO] Turning off All motherboar lights when shut down. Keep ROG LED when PC is on

    I like my room dark when I sleep. So when I build my new ASUS Maximus VII Hero computer and powered off for the first time and noticed all these lights still on! the very next thing I did was google how to turn them OFF! It took me weeks to figure out what to do and I have not seen (using Google) any one posting the complete answer. So I'll try to explain.

    The ROG and SupremeFX and mobo On button LEDs can be turned off in the BIOS using the Advanced>ROG Effects options. The problem for people is if you disable them the LEDs are off ALWAYS. People would like to have them off while powered down but on while powered on.

    I left them disabled, as this was the only fix I could find and I did not want them on while powered down. The problem I still had was that my bright green LED on my ASUS GTX760 was still on! even when powered off and all the mobo lights were off. Also my WD MyBook would stay on in sleep mode and slowly blink the LED since there is no actual power off button on the MyBook like my External enclosure and Lacie HHD has.

    SO THE FIX!!!!!

    In the BIOS under ADVANCED>APM there is a ErP/EuP setting.
    ErP Support determines whether to let the system consume less than 1W of power in S5 (shutdown) state. When the setting is enabled, the following four functions will become unavailable: PME Event Wake Up, Power On By Mouse, Power On By Keyboard, and Wake On LAN.
    redduc900 @overclockers.com

    This is the answer. When I enabled ErP S5 and powered off ALL LEDs were off. Motherboard, GPU, External HHD were all OFF!
    So I re-enabled ROG Effects on the motherboard then powered off again. ALL LEDs were still OFF!

    So this ErP enabled S5 will allow you to keep your fancy ROG lights on when the computer is on as well as turn OFF everything so you can get a good nights sleep.

  2. #2
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    Enabling ErP if using a ErP compatible power supply has been the solution we have suggested multiple times here at ROG. Glad this worked for you.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    Enabling ErP if using a ErP compatible power supply has been the solution we have suggested multiple times here at ROG. Glad this worked for you.
    Hi,
    I have an Asus Z97 PRO-GAMER motherboard and the red lights on there stay on after shutdown.
    I have an ErP ready psu and have tried enabling it in the BIOS.
    Still hasn't worked...

    Any ideas on where to look next?

    I realize this is not a ROG board and after googling this is the only thread that mentions my exact problem.

    Cheers!

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hello,

    I had the same problem with my Z170 Board and that finally helped me:

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4...dows-10-a.html

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array ghostfox PC Specs
    ghostfox PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX X99 GAMING
    ProcessorIntel 5820K 4.3ghz
    Memory (part number)64GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 2400mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980Ti Superclocked + (With custom White Backplate)
    Sound CardASUS SUPREME FX
    MonitorLG 29" EA93 2560x1080 IPS LED
    Storage #1SSD M.2 Samsung SM951 512GB "OS WIN10PRO X64"
    Storage #2SSD Crucial MX200 960GB "GAMES"
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR GTX H110 Liquid Cooler 2X Thermaltake Riing 140mm
    CaseNZXT H440 V2
    Power SupplyEVGA SUPERNOVA 850 P2
    Keyboard CORSAIR K65 RGB
    Mouse CORSAIR VENGEANCE M65 White Ed.
    Headset CORSAIR VOID 7.1 WIRELESS
    Mouse Pad GLORIOUS PC GAMING RACE 1mt. White
    Headset/Speakers CORSAIR VOID 7.1 WIRELESS White Ed.
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 HOME STREAMING NAS QNAP TS-112P
    Accessory #2 Mule ASUS VIVO PC VM40 8GB - SSD512gb
    Accessory #3 WD ELEMENTS 5TB EXT. BACKUP

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    for solving that "problem" enable ErP (S5) status and save.
    after restart > return on BIOS and re-enable ROG LED options with your preferred color scheme/effect.
    save and exit and GG.

    Ghostfox

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I tried enable S4 & S5 as well as just S5 and my machine wouldn't reboot

    Quote Originally Posted by ghostfox View Post
    for solving that "problem" enable ErP (S5) status and save.
    after restart > return on BIOS and re-enable ROG LED options with your preferred color scheme/effect.
    save and exit and GG.

    Ghostfox
    I tried both the (enable S4 & S5) as well as just (enable S5) options and my machine wouldn't reboot. I had to do a power cycle from the master switch on the PSU and then hold down the computer's power button until it reset the BIOS and allowed me to disable ERP altogether. My PSU is not ERP ready. Would any of you know where I could find a PSU that is?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •