Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    G751JY Does Not Have Optimus

    Hi,

    I received my G751JY today and while I like it but there are two problems:

    1) It does not support Optimus which has a negative effect on the battery life. This is a bigger problem for me as I'm away from the wall pretty regularly.

    2) While on battery, there seems to be no way to turn off the auto-dim or auto-contrast. I've tried the adaptive brightness settings in power options, uninstalling Splendid, disabling Sensor services.

    Any thoughts?

    N

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Nyceis View Post
    Hi,

    I received my G751JY today and while I like it but there are two problems:

    1) It does not support Optimus which has a negative effect on the battery life. This is a bigger problem for me as I'm away from the wall pretty regularly.

    2) While on battery, there seems to be no way to turn off the auto-dim or auto-contrast. I've tried the adaptive brightness settings in power options, uninstalling Splendid, disabling Sensor services.

    Any thoughts?

    N
    Nyceis, you know it's strange, I didn't want to read too much into it, but none of the official Asus releases or G751 product descriptions mention Optimus.

    Not having Optimus is a blessing.

    The G750's with Optimus have shown just how little battery benefit Optimus provides, the inconvenience for many, and for some the absolute unsuitability due to their main applications not being Optimus aware - only running on Intel, made many wish for no Optimus at all, and to restore the direct connection of the screen/HDMI/DisplayPort to the Nvidia GPU.

    Do you see a menu something akin to this when right clicking on an app in an Desktop Explorer window?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rightclick.jpg 
Views:	355 
Size:	50.6 KB 
ID:	42146

    Introducing the Optimus routing layer
    http://techreport.com/review/18443/n...to-notebooks/2

    Please double check

    Is the G751 battery removable?

    Thanks for the heads up on Optimus!
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-16-2014 at 11:25 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    As far as I'm aware the battery is integrated so.... your not gonna be able to pack 2 batteries or so ^.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by OldTimez View Post
    As far as I'm aware the battery is integrated so.... your not gonna be able to pack 2 batteries or so ^.
    Asus ROG G751JY-DH71 review - the 5th photo in the gallery
    http://www.digitaltrends.com/laptop-...h71-review/#/5

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	asus-rog-g751jy-dh71-review-bottom-640x426-c.jpg 
Views:	341 
Size:	79.0 KB 
ID:	42150

    Hard to tell from this shot...
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-16-2014 at 11:13 PM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    These are pictures of the G750 dude. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akjzKO4HfQQ

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by OldTimez View Post
    These are pictures of the G750 dude. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akjzKO4HfQQ
    OldTimez, fixed the post, found a G751JY-DH71 bottom shot. It's hard to tell from that photo if the battery is removable.

    I am watching the video, but can't find them saying there is no removable battery, and there is a comment asking about a removable battery.

    Tomasz Jasiński
    2 hours ago
    Thanks for the review. Can battery be detached? 

    What time point in the video did you see the "no removable battery" image / mention?

    The closest they get is starting at 12:30, they show the bottom, but don't mention whether the battery is removable or not.

    Can someone with a G751 please let us know if there is a removable battery?
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-17-2014 at 07:28 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I was reading the forums over at notebookcheck someone with a G751 said the battery wasn't removable.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    No, the battery is not easily removable (it is held in by covered screws).

    There is no intel graphics menu and no application power settings in the menus. I'm 100% Optimus is not on this one.

    Does anybody have any links to anything showing Optimus' battery difference?

    N

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Nyceis View Post
    No, the battery is not easily removable (it is held in by covered screws).
    There is no intel graphics menu and no application power settings in the menus. I'm 100% Optimus is not on this one.
    Does anybody have any links to anything showing Optimus' battery difference?
    N
    Nyceis, I get 3 hours and 20 minutes on my G750JH, and a G750JZ user did the same test and got 3 hours and 50 minutes. It's more, and to you it might matter, but to me - it doesn't. Sorry, I don't have the link handy.

    That is too bad that the battery isn't easily removable. I guess it won't matter to me either, but it doesn't look like it should have been a problem to make it removable. Have you tried to pull the back panel to see if when it is off the battery is easily replaceable?

    Apple only does it due to packaging issues in their sardine can design, but the Asus case clearly seems designed to make it removable.

    Maybe Asus wasn't selling enough removable batteries?

    Nyceis, the ROG laptop has never been a mobile device, so to speak, it has been at most a portable device, with battery power for those few times you need it.

    Maybe the lower power 970m/980m will get longer life than an 880m/780m?

    These days I use a 6.4" phone for mobile use, and occasionally have tried a large tablet, but still keep going back to the large phone for mobile use. I only crack open the laptop for support use on 4G, and that isn't the ROG laptop - too heavy to lug around for work use.

    You might consider pairing up one of the new 2 in 1 laptop/tablet convertibles - the new Core M one's just starting to ship. I am eyeing one for mobile Windows/Linux use.

    Gaming on the G750 with Optimus was just as bad as gaming on the non-Optimus - the Intel GPU just isn't strong enough to run the games that need the full Nvidia GPU to run well.

    I wish someone would come out with an external battery product with 2-3x the G750 capacity - then we could just plug that in when we are mobile with the G750/G751
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-17-2014 at 12:01 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Nyceis View Post
    ...
    2) While on battery, there seems to be no way to turn off the auto-dim or auto-contrast. I've tried the adaptive brightness settings in power options, uninstalling Splendid, disabling Sensor services.
    Any thoughts?
    N
    Cross-posted from Notebookreview, in case you don't see it there first.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nyceis View Post
    I did check the BIOS and nothing
    Honestly, I really wish I had known this as I think it is a deal breaker for me too...
    Going to play some more tonight and unless I can find a solution to either Optimus or the autobrightness problem, I'll setup the RMA tomorrow.
    N
    Nyceis, you might want to give yourself the full return time to figure this out, and not just turn it around so quickly.

    This is a new laptop and problems take time to solve. Once you work out the auto-brightness problem, maybe a few tests on battery will work well enough for you to keep the G750JY - it seems like a great laptop

    There was a problem with people that did a Microsoft install of Windows, they couldn't get rid of the auto-contrast / brightness, did you reload the OS from scratch?

    You should know there are people that still haven't gotten it working right on their G750, but fortunately I have. I can list the things I did, the 2 main ones are:

    Uninstall Power4Gear. It puts in it's own Power Plans over yours when you unplug and plug back in - switching from AC to battery triggers Power4Gear to put in it's own Power Plans. You can tune it's Power Plans too, but for some reason they revert back to their own settings later.

    You can verify this by looking at the settings before after removing power and re-connecting power. PC Settings in Windows 8.1 GUI => PC and Devices => Power and Sleep --> Adjust my display brightness automatically will be there if enabled, and won't be there if it isn't. I don't see that option, as I set it in my Power Plan Advanced Features.

    Set the Display settings as you did, but also take the precaution of setting the Display Brightness at the same value for all settings - that way if it switches it won't be perceptible

    My AUO screen is very bright, and I can only use it at 100% outdoors. 80% seems to be the best for indoor use.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	balanced power settings.JPG 
Views:	317 
Size:	44.2 KB 
ID:	42152

    There is also an Nvidia setting that can get enabled for Dynamic Contrast Enhancement, disable it, or do as I do and don't use the Nvidia settings - I only enabled it briefly to show the option, it is for video only, but some complained about it:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nvidia control panel auto contrast.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	82.1 KB 
ID:	42153

    There are lots of links for help, this one is nicely detailed:

    Adaptive Brightness - Turn On or Off in Windows 8
    http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials...ndows-8-a.html

    Good thing you don't have Optimus, then you would also need to do the Intel settings

    Please let us know if this fixes it, otherwise if those aren't enough, and they should be, we can still try other things in the registry. Rebooting, maybe even powering off, in between helps too.
    Last edited by hmscott; 10-17-2014 at 01:36 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •