Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thumbs up Maximus VI Impact - How do i get Wake On Lan to work?

    Im about to give up on this otherwise simple thing.

    It has never been a problem before on other motherboards but this board seems to give me trouble. FIrst of all the LED's on the backpanel does not light up when the system is off, which i believe is required for WOL to work.

    I've just updated to the newest bios in case it was a bug that had gotten fixed or something, but it has not helped.

    I've followed what this guy has done but it has not worked either.

    Im running Windows 7 on the pc though.

    What am i missing!?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Looks like i should give up..

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,787

    hello djda91 and welcome to the ROG forum.

    Does this help?

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...-does-not-work

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I dont suppose you want me to update my Impact bios with a Gene bios right ?

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,787

    Well no I wouldn't want you to do that, if you are familiar with the bios update procedure by all means update to the latest version for your maximus vi impact, it may help. But try first disabling ErP in the bios if you have it enabled. Under Device Manager make sure you have "Allow this device to wake the system from standby" enabled. Do not turn off the psu switch.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Bios is updated, ErP disabled in bios and Settings in Device Manager is already set, but still not working ..

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hi,

    I am experiencing the same Probleme here.
    The strange thing is, that I had it working before following the instructions mentioned above.
    In between I had a RAID controller installed, which was interfering with the lan controller. So I removed the controller, but didn't get the WOL feature working again.
    do I have to setup my network for owl only? Do you have any further suggestions?

    Thanks in advance.

    Edit: maximus vi impact, win 10, fast boot disabled, allow device to wake up pc with magic packet only
    Last edited by Hammerziegel; 01-02-2016 at 06:45 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Veovis PC Specs
    Veovis PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Eluktronics N131WU
    MotherboardROG Stirx X570-I gaming
    ProcessorRyzen 3950X
    Memory (part number)CMK64GX4M2E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus strix 1080 A8G
    Graphics Card #2Radeon Navi FE edition
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster x7
    MonitorMassdrop VAST
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 1tb
    Storage #22 x Seagate Desktop SSHD ST4000DX001 4TB 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerArctic liquid Freezer II 120 Liquid Cooling System
    CaseGamerstorm Tristellar
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME titanium 650
    Keyboard Massdrop ALT keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G602 Mouse
    Headset Sennheiser HD58x Julibee
    Mouse Pad Laser megamat
    Headset/Speakers Creative SoundBlaster x7
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNighthawk 8x
    Accessory #1 Blue Mic
    Accessory #2 Logitech Brio
    Accessory #3 AVEGANT GLYPH
    Veovis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    159

    I had this issue at a LAN party about a month back. Turns out the stock LAN driver I had was outdated and not working with the board. Downloading and installing the latest Intel lan driver from the website fixed that issue.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    If you have W10 then:
    Uncheck the option "Turn on fast startup (recommended)" under Control Panel –> Hardware and Sound –> Power Options ->Choose what the power buttons do in windows, and it will work. This is because with the above options the windows do not actually shutdown but go into a hybrid state of hibernation/sleep and cut the power from all "external" components. This means that the ethernet card is not working at all (i checked it from my switch were the led from the specific port when i had this enabled was shut but when i change it the it remained opend).

    This state of shutdown is S5 (The system appears to be off. This state is comprised of a full shutdown and boot cycle.) but WOL is supported from sleep (S3) or hibernate (S4). It is not supported from fast startup or soft off (S5) shutdown states. NICs are not armed for wake in these states because users do not expect their systems to wake up on their own.
    Last edited by orionas1979; 03-04-2016 at 02:08 PM. Reason: more info

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •