Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus Xonar Essence One

    First, let me apologize for posting this here, but I coudn't find a better place here for this post.

    I am intersted in the Asus Xonar Essence One DAC, but I can't find any answer to my question. Is it possible to use a microphone with this ? I have an Audio Technica ATH-ADG1 headset which has a built in microphone. This headset does not have two seperate connectors for the headphones and the mic, but instead a 3.5mm 4-conductor jack connection.

    I'm afraid this probably won't work, but I haven't found any help so far, so I'm asking here.

    Thanks in advance for your help.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    303

    You would need a TRRS adapter, like this one.

    http://www.encoredataproducts.com/he...FaIF7AodlC4AmA
    -Desktop-
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme / I7 3960x @ 4.5 ghz / 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 (CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11R) / 1x Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / WD 500GB drive / 3x 7970 MSI @ 1175/1600 / Corsair AX1200 PSU / Thermaltake Level 10 GT case / H100 Cooler / Aerocool 2000 fan contoler / Win7 x64 Pro / Asus VE278Q(2) Ausu VK278Q(1) Monitors arranged 3x1 Eyefinity @ 6000x1080 Res.

    -Laptop-
    Asus G46vw I7-3740qm / 128GB Crucial mSATA boot drive / 720gb data drive / Windows 7 x64

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hi, thank you for your answer.

    But this is not what I need. I probably didn't explained my problem very well. Sorry, my bad.

    The Asus Xonar Essence One only has one jack 6.35mm connector on the front. (http://www.asus.com/fr/Sound_Cards_a...r_Essence_One/). It doesn't have a dedicated microphone connector.

    My question is, if I'm using headset with a built in microphone (considering that the headset uses one connector for both audio & microphone), is the microphone going to work ?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hey guys, apparently no one seems to be able to give me an answer.

    I sent a message to the website from which I usually order my products, and they told me that a headset with a built in microphone won't work with the Asus Xonar Essence One (the microphone that is, the headset will be fine).

    So there you go, if somebody was in the same situation, you have your answer now.

    That's a bit disappointing cause I really liked it, it seemed very practical to use. Anyway, of the very few chances that somebody answers me, if anybody know a good DAC/Heaphone amplifier that would work with a microphone, I'd love to know about it.
    Last edited by antoine5555; 10-29-2014 at 02:48 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •