Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    ASUS gpu tweak tool

    So i opened this rog tweak tool and i noticed that my gpu overclock is turned on. Should i disable it or just let it be like that? Is it safe for the card?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Doesn't really matter, GPU Tweak will not harm your nVidia card.(GPU Tweak only O/C the card by 5%)
    GPU Tweak will only run when the application is opened, and running.
    Your NB has "nVidia Optimus" enabled, your system will only use the nVidia GTX card when running games, or any other applications that are set by default to run the GTX card.
    You should notice at the bottom of the GPU Tweak this statement "NVIDIA Optimus enabled: currently on Intel GPU".
    When running everyday tasks your NB will use the "Intel HD-4600" graphics.
    So don't worry about if the setting is set to on, but for peace of mind, you can turn off if you like.

    Check this link below.
    NVIDIA Optimus Technology
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    So you have a G750JZ?
    Are you happy with you choice?

    PS: Welcome to the Asus ROG Forum.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    Thanks for the info. I just bought my laptop and the gpu is overclocked since then. I read on some sites saying that overclocking your gc may harm its life so that concerns me. Yes i have the JZ and i absolutely love it. The only downside is both cpu and gpu are soldered. Other than that, everything is good.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by beatc View Post
    Thanks for the info. I just bought my laptop and the gpu is overclocked since then. I read on some sites saying that overclocking your gc may harm its life so that concerns me. Yes i have the JZ and i absolutely love it. The only downside is both cpu and gpu are soldered. Other than that, everything is good.
    Yeah, too bad Asus solders there CPU, and GPUs, no option upgrade there!
    I love my JZ also, the GPU is freaking fast!
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,651

    Quote Originally Posted by GottiBoi55 View Post
    Yeah, too bad Asus solders there CPU, and GPUs, no option upgrade there!
    I love my JZ also, the GPU is freaking fast!
    CPU is indeed soldered.

    GPU is not, it is however a custom shape it looks, and upgradability is possible, though very limited. JW's can upgrade to JX's. But not to the JH's size as X80m needs a bigger chassis.

    GPU's plugged into the motherboard like a giant ram stick.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    CPU is indeed soldered.

    GPU is not, it is however a custom shape it looks, and upgradability is possible, though very limited. JW's can upgrade to JX's. But not to the JH's size as X80m needs a bigger chassis.

    GPU's plugged into the motherboard like a giant ram stick.
    Thanks for the insight, I know you disassembled your NB so you should know
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    Speaking of upgrading gpu, can we use external graphic cards(egpu) with the g750 series? I know that JZ has a Thunderbolt port so that opens up possibility on using the Vidock http://www.villageinstruments.com/ti...hp?page=ViDock Someone has already tried using egpu with a g750 but without the vidock and the result is promising! lab501.net/egpu-connecting-external-video-card-notebook-diy-implementation/all/1/

    BTW, should I remove the fully charged battery when the A/C is plugged in? And can i remove the battery while it's charging? My other laptop's battery is busted due to constant charging.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array GottiBoi55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    22
    Posts
    1,117

    Oh yeah, that can be done, but not very cost effective.
    (You might as well build a high end gaming rig)
    Here's a web page on the subject Silverstone station 2 external GPU enclosure

    BTW, I keep my battery in, just in case the power goes out.
    Not a good idea to remove battery while on A/C, and still running.
    Just to be on the safe side, first shut down, and unplug your NB if you plan on doing so.


    Last edited by GottiBoi55; 10-26-2014 at 09:04 PM.
    GottiBoi55
    Asus
    G750JZ-DS71 Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Intel® Core™ i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz)
    Samsung
    24GB Memory DDR3 1600 MHz SDRAM
    SanDisk
    M.2 SSD 2x128GB in Raid 0 / WD-HGST-1TB HDD 7500-RPM
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M 4 GB GDDR5 VRAM
    Second Monitor: Shar
    p Aquos 32"

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    SOLUTION:
    don't disable optimus let it run all the time this is good for battery life and general component wear.

    OPEN NVIDIA CONTROL CENTRE AND CLICK MANAGE 3D SETTINGS
    ADD YOUR GAME OR CHOOSE IT FROM THE LIST
    SELECT THE OPTION OF '860M ONLY'
    HIT APPLY AND DONE.
    (oh, you could also select performance mode from the list where is says 'single monitor only')

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •