Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    58

    G75 VX Ram Replacement

    I have a G75 VX, and want to either add Ram to it, OR, replace the RAM already in it.
    I do a lot of 3d drawings, and am hoping by adding more Ram, it might help renderings speed up etc,
    Not sure if this will Improve by adding RAM??

    Currently, I have 3 RAM Sticks installed.
    ( My understanding is that the 4th slot is hard to reach, and that I can go as high as 32g of RAM, Correct?? )

    Hynix HMT35156CFR8C-PB
    DDR3-1600 / PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM SO-DIMM 1.5 v

    So either I would like to add additional 1 stick of RAM or replace originals, depends on money...sadly?

    2 brands that I prefer to purchase are either Kingston or Corsair!

    So, can someone give me appropriate info on exactly what is currently available for RAM, applied to both
    scenarios above.

    If I add 1 stick to my current RAM, which model # do I need from either Manufacturer, and can it be a 8g stick??

    If I replace all, which model # would I use From either manufacturer, and yes, in this case, 8g models only.

    Do I need to supply more info on this post ( Timings etc. ), and if so, what and how to I obtain it to add to it?
    Thanks
    Last edited by skidoo; 10-26-2014 at 10:25 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    105

    You can just add ram. I dont think you have to replace, and when you want to add more just replace smaller size sticks with w.e you want.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    58

    would this be a good set with the G75VX if I want to upgrade to 8 g x 4??

    Part#: KVR16S11/8
    Kingston KVR16S11/8 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL11 SODIMM

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    105

    I dont see why not, youll be going to 32gigs of ram.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    58

    so timings etc don't matter if I replace allwith new 8g sticks, or do they still have to be same as far as all specs, just 8g being the only difference??

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array toronto699 PC Specs
    toronto699 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752-VY-DH78K , G751-JYDH72X
    MotherboardRog Tytan G30AB
    Processori7-4770K
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Gold20th GTX980Ti
    Sound CardDell X-Fi Audigy SoundBlaster
    Monitor3 Acer K272HL
    Storage #1118 GB/OS
    Storage #22.72 TB
    CPU CoolerIntegrated Liquid-Cooled CPU
    CaseG30AB
    Power SupplyAsus 700 Watt
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Diamond Back
    Headset Sony Studio Professional , Razer Seiren Mic
    Mouse Pad Razer FireFly
    Headset/Speakers Logittech 5.1 Z-5500
    OS W 10
    Network RouterSagemon Fast 5250 Hub 2000

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    74
    Posts
    2,425

    Last edited by toronto699; 10-29-2014 at 04:15 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    58

    ok...thank you...
    Any opinions on purchasing Crucial for a manufacturer for RAM say compared to Kingston or Corsair??
    Just thought I read on another thread that Corsair Vengeance?? does not work in G75.
    I have always been partial to Corsair and especially Kingston in my PC's when having them made up.
    Want to replace RAM myself for the G75, but want some headsup if needed by people more experienced than me.
    Crucial Good???
    or go with Kingston / Corsair...which one in the 8g series??

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •