Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array neyuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    91

    Cannot update BIOS on RIVE

    It's been like a year since I was trying to update the BIOS ending with the same results: The motherboard takes about 7 hours to "update" iROG-1 and when complete, it cycles over this very same process over an over again.

    The MOBO has BIOS 4102 (the latest on which Ivy Bridge was not supported, I have a SB I7-3820) and tried the update with BIOS'es 4701, 4802 and 4901. Tried both the BIOS flashback method and from within the BIOS. I've dowloaded the BIOS'es from two different computers and saved them to 2 different USB's. They are formatted to FAT32.

    Trust me, I've upgraded succesfully the BIOS 2 times since the MB was shipped, but found this wall for BIOS'es newer than 4206.

    I want to upgrade to an Ivy-Bridge but, I cannot even upgrade to BIOS'es officialy supporting IB! So, here's hte question I havn't seen answered in the posts I've seen:

    Do I have to install an IB CPU for the BIOS upgrade to work?

    if this is not necesary, what can I do? Please help!


    Rampage IV Extreme BIOS 4206
    Intel I7-3820
    32 GB Quad Channel Kingston Hyper X Genesis
    2 x Nvidia GTX 690
    2 x WD Velociraptor 250 GB RAID0
    Intel 120GB 320 SSD
    Noctua NH-D14 SE2011
    CM Silent Pro Hybrid - 1300W
    CM HAFx

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Try this clean method on the USB pendrive and try to flash both BIOS chips. Clear CMOS before and after switching BIOS chip and before and after attempting to flash BIOS.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...l=1#post398383

    If still no joy maybe the pragmatic thing to do would be to buy new BIOS chips with latest BIOS and install those http://www.bios-chip24.com/epages/63...ectID=15827782

    You would have to upgrade the BIOS before installing an IB-E chip...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array neyuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    91

    Thanks Arne,

    How do I flash both chips? As I understand it, I can only flash one BIOS at a time... Or did you mean to flash one BIOS and then the other? (but this will not help as one chip will not flash correctly) Or did you mean to try to flash to both chips? (I indeed tried to flash both chips, both are functional, but none of them respond well to the post 4102 flashback)


    Rampage IV Extreme BIOS 4206
    Intel I7-3820
    32 GB Quad Channel Kingston Hyper X Genesis
    2 x Nvidia GTX 690
    2 x WD Velociraptor 250 GB RAID0
    Intel 120GB 320 SSD
    Noctua NH-D14 SE2011
    CM Silent Pro Hybrid - 1300W
    CM HAFx

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Sorry not being clear

    I just meant to try both chips...one after the other...there is no method to flash both

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array neyuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    91

    I went ahead and bought a chip from the suggested webpage (very nice selection by the way) and finally got some time to do the swap. Even with chips from 2 different sources (bios-chip42 and ASUS own support website) I got the same result: an "i-ROG1 is updating" message appears but it lasts 7 hours to complete and when the computer restarts, the updating process renews and restarts in an infinite cycle.

    If I can't find any help (maybe someone out there stumbled upon this very same error and knows how to tackle it) I will finally forfeit and declare myself in a loosing side in this battle of more than 3 years. It's a shame, because I built this system with the specific purpose of later adding an Ivy-Bridge processor, but heck, life is tough.


    Rampage IV Extreme BIOS 4206
    Intel I7-3820
    32 GB Quad Channel Kingston Hyper X Genesis
    2 x Nvidia GTX 690
    2 x WD Velociraptor 250 GB RAID0
    Intel 120GB 320 SSD
    Noctua NH-D14 SE2011
    CM Silent Pro Hybrid - 1300W
    CM HAFx

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,669

    Ufff....sorry to hear that neyuru. Bad luck indeed! Sounds like you might have to RMA that board in the end....probably best to contact ASUS support and see if they can sort you out...

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array jaggerwild PC Specs
    jaggerwild PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)NONE
    MotherboardMANY
    ProcessorMANY
    Memory (part number)MANY
    Graphics Card #1MANY
    Graphics Card #2MANY
    jaggerwild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    Quote Originally Posted by neyuru View Post
    I went ahead and bought a chip from the suggested webpage (very nice selection by the way) and finally got some time to do the swap. Even with chips from 2 different sources (bios-chip42 and ASUS own support website) I got the same result: an "i-ROG1 is updating" message appears but it lasts 7 hours to complete and when the computer restarts, the updating process renews and restarts in an infinite cycle.

    If I can't find any help (maybe someone out there stumbled upon this very same error and knows how to tackle it) I will finally forfeit and declare myself in a loosing side in this battle of more than 3 years. It's a shame, because I built this system with the specific purpose of later adding an Ivy-Bridge processor, but heck, life is tough.
    You can flash the bios with no CPU in the socket, link in my sig. Think you can do it with only the PSU and mainboard, might be the best for you as it seems something is stoping it from updating.
    as Arnie said use a USB with a converted bios file, the usb must be format(to boot from)and only the new bios file on it. I'll check back as your board is not dead!!!!
    Asus X79 DELUXE
    3930K WATER
    2X Intel 520 Raid o
    2X GTX 780ti DCII OC WATER
    16 GB G skill 2133
    Corsiar AX1200
    Acer 24" 1080
    Swiftech MCP655 Vari
    HWlabs 3/120
    Asus DVD

    BLIND BIOS FLASH LINK http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...BIOS-FlashBack

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •