cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to buy a G750JM but...

kirby2525
Level 7
I keep hearing about a horrific sounding constant BSOD issue with the JM model, Is the laptop even usable? Is it as bad as it sounds? Are there any fixes? Has anyone here not had the issue?

EDIT: Also increasing the scare factor is I've been buying ASUS products for 10 years now and have never had a single problem with one aside from an EeePC's hinge protector coming loose from a light drop, then suddenly when looking at this all I hear about is this BSOD thing.
15 REPLIES 15

CÃ_dric
Level 7
Hi,

JM's user here, yes the laptop is usable. the first dayz i used this laptop used to BSOD many many many time per day.
Since the lasts drivers have been release, i have 1 or maybe 2 BSOD in 2 weeks.
Some guys here said they dont BSOD with windows 7 but i did'nt try to instal it so i cant tell u if its true.

If i were u i would'nt buy it anyway, not beceause the laptop sucks, far from it but cuz there's new model since new weeks, like G751JM. i suggest u to make a quick research about it.

Arnas
Level 7
Hi, I want to ask a question about optimus. If I go to nvidia setings and enable high performance nvidia card. Does computer always run on a nvidia graphics card?

Yes, it should run with the nVidia card, from what I understand. However, it will still run in the Optimus mode, which means the nVidia card still has to send the image to the Intel card for being pushed out to the physical display, so all the same bandwidth limitations of the Optimus system will still apply.
I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee! 🙂
LINUX Users, we have a group!
http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

Arnas
Level 7