Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Red face

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR@ASUS View Post
    We hope stock levels should improve by year end. Sorry it's not sooner, we are working closely with our partners to improve materials availability.
    So just a quick question for you good sir!

    What is the max cable length you can use with the ROG Swift? My computer is downstairs right now and hooked up to our 4k Sony tv and I run a 50 foot cord, I don't need 50 feet but 25 and maybe 15 could get me by but I heard the max Display port cable can be no longer then 10 feet to support 1440p@144mhz, is this true?

    If so do you know of any companies that offer a 15 or 25 foot DP cord, that would work or can at least recommend? I was so excited today that I got my ROG in time, that I spaced cable length, its gonna really suck though if I can't get a cord longer then 10 feet, pretty much means I'll have to sell the ROG or do a re-fund and that thought makes me a sad panda...=(

    I've been waiting for years for this monitor, the first time I saw 1440p all I could think about was how badass it would be if there was a panel out there that could do 1440p@120+ and my dreams were answered! Now I have this sick feeling that I might be SOL....I can't have my Comp in my room, my wife will flip ****....it has to be downstairs, that was our rule.

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by pennyboy View Post
    NICE!! you will love it! congrats on getting hold of one.
    Thanks brother! I can't wait for next Tuesday....hey quick question if you know, what is the max length the DP can be and still support 1440p@144?

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pennyboy PC Specs
    pennyboy PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb Trident Z RGB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA XC Ultra GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Sound CardAsus Supreme FX Onboard
    MonitorASUS PG278Q Swift 27" GSYNC
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 1 tb
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 500 gb
    CPU CoolerCoolerMaster 360ML RGB
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1200 AXi
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Chroma
    Mouse Pad Razer Scarab - Battlefield 3 theme
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-680
    OS Windows 10 x64 1809
    pennyboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    173

    Quote Originally Posted by TurboGuard View Post
    Would you mind taking the time to do the following tests?:

    Lastly, I would like anyone who claims that they are not having any of the pixel iversion problems to go to this website: http://www.techmind.org/lcd/ and open this test in your browser: http://www.techmind.org/lcd/greendot.html and post PROOF that your monitor is not displaying any of these problems.

    If yours indeed doesn't show these problems in a clear picture, it would give me more peace of mind with RMA'ing my monitor.
    Ok I have done the test and yes I can see those bars, but I never see it during normal use? so not a big deal for me but yes I can confirm those bars unfortunately

  4. #24
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Quote Originally Posted by Kickback View Post
    So just a quick question for you good sir!

    What is the max cable length you can use with the ROG Swift? My computer is downstairs right now and hooked up to our 4k Sony tv and I run a 50 foot cord, I don't need 50 feet but 25 and maybe 15 could get me by but I heard the max Display port cable can be no longer then 10 feet to support 1440p@144mhz, is this true?

    If so do you know of any companies that offer a 15 or 25 foot DP cord, that would work or can at least recommend? I was so excited today that I got my ROG in time, that I spaced cable length, its gonna really suck though if I can't get a cord longer then 10 feet, pretty much means I'll have to sell the ROG or do a re-fund and that thought makes me a sad panda...=(

    I've been waiting for years for this monitor, the first time I saw 1440p all I could think about was how badass it would be if there was a panel out there that could do 1440p@120+ and my dreams were answered! Now I have this sick feeling that I might be SOL....I can't have my Comp in my room, my wife will flip ****....it has to be downstairs, that was our rule.
    This is way out of my knowledge base. PC to monitor = 2M tops. Best consult the DP spec or the specialists who sell long DP cables for advice. I suspect if you introduce a repeater it will cause signal delay which will affect G-Sync operation. I would not advise it.

  5. #25
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by pennyboy View Post
    Ok I have done the test and yes I can see those bars, but I never see it during normal use? so not a big deal for me but yes I can confirm those bars unfortunately
    Thank you, I really appreciate you taking time to confirm this.

  6. #26
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by pennyboy View Post
    Ok I have done the test and yes I can see those bars, but I never see it during normal use? so not a big deal for me but yes I can confirm those bars unfortunately
    Yeah, some people are just simply less sensitive to it during game sessions. It also depends on the game and the colors in use during the game. Dota 2 is very noticeable.

  7. #27
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I would advise everyone to wait before handing $800 for this monitor at least until there is a confirmed fix for all the issues various owners are having (including myself).
    Last edited by nvrs; 11-15-2014 at 06:52 PM.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    79
    Posts
    914

    I cannot agree. I have 2 of these monitors and I'm very pleased with both. 144mhz G-Sync goodness at 1440 is just too enjoyable for me to worry about an "issue" that I need to run a test on to see. While gaming I just haven't been bothered...which is likely the case for the majority of users given the relatively small number of folks here discussing the issue. My wife enjoys her monitor as well. We have no back bleed or dead pixels so otherwise the monitors are doing everything they promised. I feel bad for the folks that are either sensitive to, or obsessed by, the pixel inversion issue that prevents them from enjoying the monitor. But based on my own experience, and that of many others around the net, I certainly wouldn't advise anyone to "stay away." For most folks, they'd just be missing out.

    Yeah, I know, I'm gettin' paid big bucks to say this

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skywalker311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    158

    I got mine pre-order. The email I got says (hopefully) 12-8-14. I hope so. I'm getting ready to get another 780 Ti DC2O and EK waterblock and I'll be good 2 go! lol
    Phanteks enthoo primo, i7-4770k, ASUS MVIF, 16GB G.Skill Trident X Ram, ASUS 780 Ti DC2O, Samsung 120GB and crucial M500 480gb SSD, 1TB Western Digital Hard Drive, NZXT 850W power supply
    EK Supremacy, EK ASUS MVIF Water Block, EK Monarch Series X4 Ram, EK ASUS 780 Ti DCII, EK 420 Cool Stream Rad, XPSC 240mm RAD,Monsoon Series Two Dual Bay Reservoir, Swiftech MCP655-PWM-Water Pump, Monsoon Compression Fittings & Tubbing, Mayhems Pastel Red with Mayhems ultra pure h20.

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Weird that demand in Germany, Switzerland and Austria is close to none. Pretty much any retailer around has them in Stock.

    BTW, I had to get 3 replacement monitors until I got one that was working halfway . which only lastef a few days, after that bluriness arrived and stayed. ASUS customer service is the worst I´ve seen so far and shelling out 800€ for a monitor that does not even offer an on-site repair or replacement (i knew that before but still thought that for 800€ I would receive a quality product) is something that I will not every do again.

    While it works this monitor is awesome. They question is how long it works. Talked to the 3 biggest retailers in germany and all of them confirm that they have a rather huge amount (compared to other manufacturers) of service claims with this monitor.
    Yet, not a single ASUS employee sees fit to at least drop a line here to acknowledge the existence of a problem in the lineup.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •